We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in a top location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #55 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good stay in a top location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed overnight here on a recent trip to Brisbane. Although clearly an old hotel which shows it's age just below the surface, it has been modernised to a satisfactory degree. We had a comfortable stay and found the service very good. Staff were helpful and eager to please. Beds were very comfortable. Kids were disappointed there were no kids channels available on Foxtel though! We would stay here again for a short visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    368
    194
    59
    38
See reviews for
227
216
63
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just had one night at this hotel. Very well situated in the middle of the city, close to lots of cafes and restaurants. My room, although small, had everything you need for one night. Best bed in a long time, room very clean and a good shower.
The one negative are the costs - $230 for a small room, $35 for parking, $36 for buffet breakfast or $28 for continental.

Room Tip: Don't eat there, plenty of local cafes where they won't rip you off for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear PierroSydney,

I would like to thank you for your recent review of the hotel. It sounds as though room suited your needs for the night and please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs even with regards to costs.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanthorpe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very poor facility. Did not feel clean. Had an awful smell in the hallway. Bathroom was ok. Location was good. The rooms look old. Paintwork is not good. Bed was quite comfortable, however rooms need to be refurbished

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Lyn,

It would seem as though we have let you down when you stayed with us. Please do accept my apologies and I will let the relevant departments know. On a side note we are looking towards a slight refurbishment of our Mercure rooms in the coming future. Thankyou for taking the time to let us know.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I spent a week in the Mercure and can say the staff were all polite and professional and the breakfast was very good. I find it poor that hotels do not offer free or reasonably priced internet even backpackers now do this!!! The showers were cold every morning and the pool and sauna were poorly maintained. An update is needed as the location of the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear adrebnalinangel,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the staff to be polite and professional and enjoyed breakfast. We do get comments about the internet and it is something that Accor is always reviewing for our guests, at the hotel we do offer half an hour free to guests within the lobby. My apologies with regards to the shower and sauna, something that I will bring to our Chief Engineers attention.

Thankyou again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This stay was complementary as part of my Accor Advantage membership. Not sure if this is why I was placed opposite the lifts and had to put up with loud voices and carrying on throughout the night. Not as if they were fully booked. All clients should receive good preferences whether paying or complimentary

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BernDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Chose this hotel as I wanted a relatively inexpensive option within walking distance of Southbank. The room was fine, certainly nothing to write home about but adequate and met our expectations. Bathroom was poky but as we were only staying one night the room didn't need to be particularly great. The buffet breakfast was very good. There was also a small but nice-looking pool on the rooftop - we didn't use it but plenty of people were & seemed to be enjoying it. More staff needed on reception both at check-in and check-out times. Very close to train stop & shopping mall, comfortable walking distance to Southbank.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegetarian_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, Front Office Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear catnip_redroses,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I’m pleased the room suited your needs and enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant. We would be happy to welcome you again another time and hope be have the opportunity to do so.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Property: Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Address: Cnr Ann & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane King George Square 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Hotels.com, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing