We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Away” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    366
    190
    59
    38
See reviews for
224
214
61
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had a business meeting close by and was booked here for a short stay. I was delighted to find the accommodation was superior to the usual hotels I get booked into in Brisbane. Easy walk to everything; shops, restaurant, station and a taxi rank at the door. Quiet at night and staff were efficient and polite. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaHXZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear LeaHXZ,

I’m glad you found the accommodation superior at the hotel. We certainly are only a short walk to so much that Brisbane has to offer, making it a great benefit to our guests. Thankyou for telling us about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I traveled to Brisbane for business and wanted to be close to the venue. I was looking for accommodation in this area and chose the Mercure King George because it looked like the best rooms out of the 5 or so in the area (from pictures and reviews). It can't be argued, this hotel is in a great location. If you haven't been to Brisbane before and aren't sure in what location to stay - this is a good one!

I stayed in what they call a business room. From what I can tell, this just meant that it was on the top floor (level 15 if I'm remembering correctly) and came with a free bottle of water and little box of slice. While these perks were very nice I'm not convinced they were worth the price discrepancy from the normal rooms. The window was very small so it was hard to enjoy the view from the top floor. Although it was nice to take the water and treats to the conference every day as a snack. Of course, I could be wrong and there may be more perks but I was there for 4 nights and this is all I noticed.

The room was nice and neat, clean and fairly modern. It was pretty much perfect for 1 person. However, if you are travelling as a couple I would not stay here. Don't get me wrong, I love my partner, but I don't think I would want to share such a small space with him (or anyone else) for more than one night.

I found the service to be friendly and helpful. I ordered room service every night and it was all good and arrived in a perfectly timely manner. I had no complaints about service at all.

I would recommend this hotel to single and corporate travelers. I will be staying here again for business, however, I will reconsider spending the extra money on a business room. If I were to travel to Brisbane with my partner, or anyone else, I would look for a hotel that has larger rooms. This is hotel is a bit pricey but the location is great and was worth the money for the very short walk to where I needed to be and has perfectly nice, modern rooms.

Room Tip: Reconsider booking a business room unless you really want to be on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Emily,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I’m pleased you choose to stay here with us at the hotel and had no complaints about the service. There are a few additions to our Privilege rooms in the Mercure for example a robe and slippers and additional reading material as well as water and sweet amenity as you mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My friend booked this accommodation for us so I was very wary given my last Mercure experience. This place was actually really nice. The rooms were of a decent size, very clean and super quiet at night. It is located right in the middle of everything so an easy walk to shops, restaurants and a short walk over to the GOMA. It was so well priced for what you received so I would definitely consider this property again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nessams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location but is looking a little tired. The bed was comfortable. No free internet access. Had some problems with lighting, the safe and shower fittings and the mini bar included some expired items (nuts were 12 months out of date). A staff member took a long time (several hours) to come when called for assistance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hitspacebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear hitspacebar-facebook,

Thanykou for taking the time to review the hotel. I was disappointed to read about the maintenance issues you came across during your stay and the length of time it took for someone to come and assist you along with the expired nuts. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the relevant departments for follow-up.

Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed overnight here on a recent trip to Brisbane. Although clearly an old hotel which shows it's age just below the surface, it has been modernised to a satisfactory degree. We had a comfortable stay and found the service very good. Staff were helpful and eager to please. Beds were very comfortable. Kids were disappointed there were no kids channels available on Foxtel though! We would stay here again for a short visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just had one night at this hotel. Very well situated in the middle of the city, close to lots of cafes and restaurants. My room, although small, had everything you need for one night. Best bed in a long time, room very clean and a good shower.
The one negative are the costs - $230 for a small room, $35 for parking, $36 for buffet breakfast or $28 for continental.

Room Tip: Don't eat there, plenty of local cafes where they won't rip you off for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear PierroSydney,

I would like to thank you for your recent review of the hotel. It sounds as though room suited your needs for the night and please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs even with regards to costs.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#51 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#10 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#21 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#56 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Property: Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Address: Cnr Ann & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane King George Square 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Mercure Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing