We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #55 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 18 June 2014

although the hotel itself was very nice, and the location was great. i had a problem with being charged a very large amount of money for the holding fee for incidentals of the room...over double the price of the cost of the room, and was not advised AT ALL of the amount they were going to hold, when i queried this when i noticed so much gone out of my bank, they said they would follow up,as i was not impressed that they would not say the amount they were taking , and low and behold, i still have not had a return call and the money is still held up in my account. NOT HAPPY and will likely not stay here again due to the handling of this by the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank redsded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Rachael,

Thankyou for telling us about what happened during your stay and my apologies for the inconvenience. I would appreciate if you could please send me your contact details to my email grant.parnell@accor.com so that I can follow-up with you and the team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the time we arrived the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. This hotel is in a great location in the middle of tne CBD, Brisbane. The main shopping area is 1 minute walk, as is the Treasury casino. Southbank is a few minutes walk across the river to Qpac and restaurants. All in all I really found this a good place to stay, the restaurant is really good, didn't try the coffee so can/t comment but everything else was great. the only drawback for me is that you can't open a window but that is the only negative , the staff were all outstanding and went out of their way. On check in we were offered a free late checkout to 2pm which was convenient too. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Judy,

Thankyou for the great review of the hotel. We certainly are in a very central location, making it very easy for our guests to get around! I hope you enjoyed the sleep in and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The room was very good, although the air-conditioning was not adjustable to specific temperatures.
Bath robes would have been nice as per the Sebel.
The room service meal was very poor and not very tasty at all. There were no healthy choices on the room service menu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank NCHMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear NCHMelb,

Although you found the room good, I was disappointed you had some trouble with the air-conditioning and didn’t find your room service meal up to scratch. Your comments will be passed onto our maintenance and kitchen team as feedback for further follow-up. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guest’s needs.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was actually thinking I had booked another Mercure Hotel in Brisbane where I had stayed previously. However, not knowing I had made a mistake I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the hotel.

Very stylish reception area with the choice of either Mercure or Pullman towers. for a small fee you can upgrade from Mercure to Pullman standard. Receptions staff were very attentive and extremely polite. The hotel rooms were spacious, well appointed and clean. The hotel has a great bar area (KG Bar) on the ground floor which is quite large with plenty of room for guests.

The best feature of this hotel for me on this visit was it was basically over the road from the people I was there to visit for business.

Will definitely stay here again on future visits to Brisbane.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear John,

Thankyou for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I was pleased to read you were pleasantly surprised by your stay. The team will be encouraged by your kind comments about them and the hotel. I hope that we can welcome you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The check in staff were so helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate and spacious. The valet was fabulous. Room service was delicious and such generous servings. This hotel will be the only one we stay at every time we are in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank KSoproni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear KSoproni,

We do have a fantastic team at the hotel, so thankyou for feedback about them and of the other aspects of your stay. It is greatly appreciated and very welcome.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stay was made all the more enjoyable by the dedicated staff. They ensured that all my needs were taken care of. I would not hesitate staying again. The location was central to all my needs. Give it a gostsyat the Mercure St Georges Square Brisbane.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Kerry

What a great review you’ve left for us, the team will be pleased to read it. It was especially great to read we met all your needs and thankyou for the recommendation.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#58 of 168 in Brisbane
1,736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 168 in Brisbane
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#13 of 168 in Brisbane
3,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 168 in Brisbane
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#68 of 168 in Brisbane
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Address: Cnr Ann & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £64 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane King George Square 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing