We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day at North Stradbroke Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queensland Day Tours

Queensland Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.96*
and up
Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane
Ranked #27 of 115 Tours in Brisbane
Attraction details
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great day at North Stradbroke Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were keen to visit North Stradbroke, so we did a day trip with QDT. We were collected promptly from our apartment by our guide, Shane, who was excellent - friendly &knowledgeable. We saw dolphins & koalas in the wild; the kangaroos were presumably hiding in the shade. Plenty of time for a stroll around the cliffs, lunch & time on the beach. You get much better facilities & seating on board if you are on a Big Red Cat rather than a Stradbroke Ferries boat, although I think the 2 companies are merging.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HertsTimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, General Manager at Queensland Day Tours, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi,
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on our Stradbroke Island tour. We are so glad you enjoyed the tour.

Yes unfortunately these days kangaroos cannot be relied upon to turn up when they are meant to:).
And it is normally the dolphins we have trouble with!

We understand your comments on the ferries. Yes the Big Red Cat is more comfortable than the return ferry but unfortunately the ferry timetables mean we have to take the "blue ferry" home. Luckily it is only a 45 minute trip and the beautiful sights of the Bay should compensate for the older style ferry/ barge.

Again thank you for your review.

Regards
Queensland Day Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    0
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We went on a wine tour to Tamborine. Great day out. Picked up at hotel on time. Small group of only 6 in a small minibus. Great drive through the country and only took about an hour and we were there. Guide Tom started the day with a very nice walk down to a waterfalll that really bought the group together and he made it very interesting.

Then we were off to a winery. Lunch was at a "tourist strip" that was very igood woth lots odbart and craft and gift shops. we ate at Georges Restaurant which was also very good. after lunch it was to another winery and the Tamborine Distillery which was very good. All the tastings were very generous and we had more than enough with the 2 wineries and the distillery. Guide also took us to a couple of lookouts to take in the fantastic views of the area and told us all about the volcano etc. this was a great winery tour but also much more and would recommend it. You do get a bit sick of just going from winery to winery and everyone on our tour thought it was a great combination of activities.

Great day out if in Brisbane.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, General Manager at Queensland Day Tours, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your recent review. We are very glad you enjoyed your Wine and Spirits tour to Tamborine. We are constantly looking to improve our tour to meet the expectations of all guests. With Tamborine we try to balance the experience of tasting and seeing our wonderful Queensland wineries whilst visiting the rainforests and arts and craft this area is famous for.

We appreciate you taking the time to send in this review.

Regards
Queensland Day Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our family toke us to visit North Stradbroke Island on our holiday in Australia. Toke the ferry over avoiding sandbanks. Had a fantastic day there. Drove along the whole beach in a SUV ( you need a permit for this) and really felt how beautiful the area is. Picnic on the beach. Saw lots of dolphins from the walk around the bluff. Had a refreshing swim in the Brown Lake as well. The entire trip was one of the of our fondest memory's of Australia. Well worth the day trip if you can make it. You want be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonjamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Unique night time tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was a unique tour. We were picked up from our hotel and were the only two people on the tour. It was a neat and tidy mini bus. Whilst you could be apprehensive about being the only two, the driver (tour guide) put us at ease pretty soon. There was rain in Brisbane that night too, but Brisbane was still warm. He took us to see many sights around the town and then we had a picnic at Kangaroo point overlooking the city. This was well thought out and a great experience. The tour ended at Mt Coot-tha Lookout with an even higher up and better long distance look out over Brisbane. The driver did take us to an extra sight. The pub where the women chained themselves to a bar because women weren't allowed to drink in a bar some decades ago. Needless to say they got their own way after a public outcry and women were allowed to drink thereafter. The tour guides knowledge of the history of the town was really good. This is an ideal tour for business people visiting Brisbane because during the day you have conferences and business meetings and you don't have time to explore Brisbane. The only option you have is during the night and this enabled us to see the maximum amount of Brisbane possible, something we wouldn't have been able to do without someone with the knowledge of Brisbane. And really it would have probably been a lot more expensive to get a taxi around to see all these things and with an experienced tour guide and picnic thrown in, it was really good value for money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great tour from Brian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were taken to Tamborine to view the falls and rainforests there, as well as seeing glow worms in a cace, we had a wonderful day. Lunch was spent in Tamborine, good food and also a wonderful wine tasting place as recommend by Brian.

It was a small group, and Brian really knew his stuff about the local area. We were so impressed we were going to do the Gold Coast tour with him the next day but ran out of time as we had to fit in koala cuddling instead!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Godsownworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queensland Day Tours also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Queensland Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing