We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Hotel!”
Review of Shangri la Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri la Gardens
Ranked #92 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Impressive Hotel!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We found this hotel to be clean, spacious and close to a shopping centre with numreous cafes and supermarkets. Price was also good compared to those within the Brisbane cbd.

The staff were atatnetive, polite and reponsive to anything we asked.

You would need a car if staying here though.

Highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Sylvia's Restaurant and Wine Bar at Shangri-La Gardens, highly recommended. Top food & wine. It is hard to choose between the chocolate desert and the blood orange cake. Order both and share, they are to die for.

Room Tip: Stay in for dinner - best value in Brisbane
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tingalpa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
272 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are 4 star quality. Breakfast is very high quality as is the service. The motel like feel lets put chairs outside your room to enjoy a breeze.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shekhar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I recently hosted a significant Birthday at Shangri-La. The party went of with a bang in a beautifully appointed function room filled with fresh flowers, plenty of room for the band, and the most attentive service imaginable. My guests were suitably impressed by the delectable morsels washed down with French bubbly. But I was particularly delighted to be shown to the Honeymoon suite for our overnight stay! Quite a number of my friends had also booked in and no one was disappointed.
Last week we returned again to our favourite Bayside dining experience - and the new menu is truly sensational. My lover hasn't stopped raving over his Lamb Rack with middle eastern spices, orange-infused hummus and rocket salad tossed with goats cheese and pine nuts. My entrée of Porc Rillettes was the perfect melt-in-the-mouth moment. Loved the beetroot-infused risotto with Persian fetta and candied pecans. Drooled over quince poached in spiced sugar syrup. His chocolate ganache was served with shortbread crumble and a frozen berry rock. It rocked!!! Fine Dining/Good Company/Best of Service - forget the CBD - head EAST!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very nice place of accommodation. Modest, not modern but well appointed. Restaurant was the main feature with lovely meals on offer from breakfast to dinner served by really friendly staff who were always keen to assist in any way they could. Conveniently located not far from shopping centres. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Expect all rooms to be of a similar standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharky_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very average "tarted up" hotel in the suburbs of Brisbane, ok for business but not for seeing what south of the city of Brisbane has to offer.

The hotel has been updated at some stage and looks and feels like many other motels (drive-up style). The use of glass brick windows and uniform grey paint is reminiscent of a detention centre or aged care home. Bathroom is a bit more interesting with white tiles and glass shelves, but this is something to beware of. The idea of a clear glass shelf just above a sink was probably a good idea on paper, but in all practicality it is lethal at the point you bend over to brush your teeth, shave or wash your face.

The Queen sized bed is two singles joined together which is a bit old fashioned. The room I was in didn't look as if it had been configured as a twin for some time, yet one side of the bed was ultra soft and used, while the other side was hard and unyielding. The dividing crack/edge reinforcing was solid, and this made for a very sub-standard nights sleep.

Good marks for TV size, position and age. The hotel is also right next to a medium sized shopping centre and several places to get a club style or fast food meal.

Room Tip: rooms away from Wynham road are clearly quieter. Rooms at the back of the property also have more l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hop3fullyL0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A clean, comfortable and more importantly quiet motel. The check in staff were very friendly and professional. The room itself was spacious. Some of the space could have been better utilized in having a larger bathroom. A little annoying having nowhere to place toiletries. But not a choice breaker.

Room Tip: I had a room near the front and it was quiet. If staying a weekend, I would suggest the further away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
#32 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#63 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.3 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#36 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#5 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manly Marina Cove Motel
Manly Marina Cove Motel
#68 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wynnum Anchor Motel
Wynnum Anchor Motel
#82 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri la Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri la Gardens

Property: Shangri la Gardens
Address: 1969 Wynnum Rd | Wynnum West, Brisbane, Queensland 4178, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri la Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to Brisbane's Moreton Bay, Shangri La Gardens is a Motel, Fine Dining Restaurant, Wine Bar, fully catered & licensed Function Venue and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shangri la Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing