We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Ranked #1 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Have had 2 stays recently- first was a perfect hotel experience but the 2nd just last week was an experience with several negative housekeeping issues - sanitary bin unemptied from last residents, late room cleaning e.g. 5.30pm and a personal hygiene lack in room staff. On the positive side, the location is great for train from airport and the bus station while the conference centre, art gallery and theatre are an easy walk over the pedestrian bridge crossing the river near the hotel. It's only a 10min stroll to city centre but can be a bit scary at night for a sole female as some areas have street dwellers. A great café operates in mornings next to the hotel and there are supermarkets in either direction - at the Myer Centre in the city centre and one a little closer at the Barracks shopping to the other side of the hotel where there are also restaurants, shops and a movie theatre centre. Some street dwellers that way also but Police and Fire Service centres en route make you feel safer. Hotel rooms are new and modern but my carpet was already lifting and one reading light not working. I think these may be teething issues as the rooms come on stream and I hope that I have another perfect experience when next there.

Room Tip: river views are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J9Do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear J9Do

Thank you for your post on your most recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Herschel Street Brisbane. I was delighted to read that overall you have been happy with your stays at our Hotel.

I am however disappointed to read of the issues you have raised in your post regarding our Housekeeping department. I would like to apologize regarding these issues and would like to reassure you that I will personally be raising these points with our Housekeeping Manager to ensure that this does not happen again as that certainly is not up to our normal standard. Thank you for your comments regarding the carpet and the reading light, I will also be looking into this further as well.

You are correct in saying that we are in a great location, with the train station literally across the road, and also within easy walking distance to the majority of attractions that the Brisbane CBD has to offer.

We would love to welcome you back when next your are staying in Brisbane.

Kind Regards

Scott N

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,120
    1,059
    157
    50
    37
See reviews for
1,119
2,173
445
855
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked a one bedroom apartment for two nights in April 2014 for a Saturday and Sunday. Good location and for the price would classify as very good value for money. Apartment has everything one needs. Clean and new. Would highly recommend. Check in was a little slow however there were a large group of people checking in at the same time. Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Ross M

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community regarding your stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Herschel Street.

I am pleased to read your review and find that you had a most enjoyable stay. You are correct we are in a fantastic location right in the heart of the CBD and close to may attractions that Brisbane has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Scott N

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice room with separate bedroom(very small but great view),full kitchen,washer dryer,small office workspace and living room with great view.close to shopping,brisbane rail station and very clean.id suggest it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alatina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear alatina99

Thank you for your post on your recent stay with Meriton Serviced Apartments. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious well equipped apartments and that we could provide everything to help your stay be a comfortable one.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back when next you stay in Brisbane.

Kind Regards

Shayne L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Coomera, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for three nights for the Easter Holiday Break. The room was beautifully appointed and extremely clean. The units are close enough to be able to walk to the CBD, South Bank, Botanical Gardens and West End. Parking is expensive but it is the same price give or take a few dollars as all the other accommodation in the area. We have recommended these apartments to friends and will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Shiree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Shiree R

Thank you for your post on your stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Herschel St. I was so thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay in our apartments and that our location to many of Brisbane's landmarks were within walkable reach.

We would love to welcome you back when next your are staying in Brisbane.

Kind Regards

Shayne L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed in 1 of the Hotels 3 bedroom apartments on the 68th floor out of 75. The apartment had great views of part of the city and the river. There was a tv in main bedroom and also the lounge. Full size fridge and microwave and dishwasher is available in the apartment. The lounges are comfortable with a small dining table for eating meals. The beds were very comfortable. The apartments are built so they can lock the separate bedrooms to change the figuration of the apartment from 2 bedrooms to 3 bedrooms as required by the guests. The apartment has an ensuite off the main bedroom which a good size shower and bath. The apartments were brand new at the time of our staying so everything was in working order and no damage was evident.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ozguyinqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ozguyinqld

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community regarding your stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Herschel St. It was great to hear we could provide accommodation with all the extras to allow you to sit back and relax and enjoy your time with us.

I was excited to read that as one our first guests to stay in our great new high rise apartments you found comfortable and met your needs. The views from the 68th floor are amazing.

We would love to welcome you back when next you stay in Brisbane and perhaps we will have opened apartments even higher up. As we open the tallest building in Brisbane.

Kind Regards

Shayne L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in March, 2014. The one bedroom apartment was huge, spotlessly clean and had everything that opens and shuts. We had no intention of cooking but actually were lured into it by the well equipped kitchen. Very comfortable bed, top shelf TV. Good location, Very close to railway station (airport link) and only about 4 blocks from downtown. Oh! and a good, inexpensive little pub over the road. All this for about $100 per night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nunthinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear nunthinee

Thank you for your post on your stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Herschel St. I was so thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay in our apartments and that our location to many of Brisbane's landmarks were within walkable reach. I agree the pub on the corner is a great night out.

We would love to welcome you back when next your are staying in Brisbane.

Kind Regards

Shayne L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for one night in a one bedroom apartment at the pencil thin large tower that contains the Meriton Serviced Apartments. It was great value for the space, facilities and location.

The flat was quite large and spacious with a separate bedroom and good sized kitchen. The bathroom was not huge, with shower only. I was impressed with the obsessive tidiness of the apartment when I first entered, including the useful extras like washing machine tablets carefully lined up on the kitchen bench.

I was on level 9 which did not have much of a view, but was very quiet. While new and clean, the decor is a bit grey and drab. I was impressed at the original photography in the hallways of my floor.

A few things of note:
- Extensive plates etc and cookware provided. You can easily cook a full meal.
- Full sized dishwasher and fridge, plus generous dryer and washing machine. Good quality iron.
- TV is both rooms, with some extra fox stations
- Large pool and good sized gym available
- Large bed, but as with most of the fit out, not super quality

It is a very short walk from the train to the airport (Roma Street), and many of the key sites of Brisbane.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz_Pete_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Oz_Pete_Travels

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community regarding your stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Herschel Street.

WOW!, it was great to read such a positive comment from a guests that enjoyed their stay, your comment sums up the property beautifully.

We would love to welcome you back when next you are in Brisbane.

Kind Regards

Shayne L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.9 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,062 reviews
1.6 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 159 in Brisbane
2,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 159 in Brisbane
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane

Property: Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Address: 43 Herschel Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving in Brisbane, you will find your destination in ease as you pursue in the direction of the city skyline's tallest building. Be amazed as you arrive at our front door, impressed by the never ending sky high tower that stands before you and be treated to five star luxury as you are welcomed in by a team of delightful porters and amazing guest services staff. Feel the anticipation as you soar to new, 74-storey heights in our high-tech lifts and be welcomed into one of our 260 stunning, beautifully appointed suites, fully equipped with the finest furnishing, modern facilities and the superior comforts of a gourmet kitchen, known to all Meriton Suites. Those staying in our 2 and 3 bedroom Altitude Suites will be subjected to unrivalled views of the beautiful city below and beyond, while our Infinity Penthouse treats guests to a phenomenal luxury living experience from the very top of Brisbane city. Sleep soundly on deluxe bedding and treat yourself to the soothing morning and afternoon sunshine that filters into the suite through floor to ceiling windows. Experience the immaculate daily cleaning services that our housekeeping team continuously endeavour to deliver and come home to watch the magical glimmer of the city lights illuminating below as day becomes night. Pamper yourself and refresh the body using the stylish bathroom amenities that comes equipped in all suites. Take advantage of our first class recreational facilities, including a fully equipped fitness centre and a heated indoor lap pool or unwind in a hot bubbling spa and steamy sauna, leaving you refreshed and energised to explore the brilliant attractions that await below. Search the web for things to do in Brisbane using our complimentary Wi-Fi connection or simply ask our 24 hour guest services team who will be more than happy to assist. The perfect base for exploring the south-eastern corner of Australia's Sunshine State, Brisbane parades a vibrant, youthful and laidback culture mixed in with the global and commercial aspects of a new-world city. Getting around will be made simple as we are conveniently nestled adjacent to Roma Street transit hub. Our prime location on Herschel Street positions us only moments away from the happening hub of South Bank, the city's premier lifestyle and cultural destination. Offering lush parklands, world class eateries, gorgeous views and a calendar of events to keep the city entertained throughout the year, South Bank is a must visit for all travellers. Boasting Australia's only inner-city, man-made beach, a sparkling lagoon surrounded by white sandy beaches and sub-tropical plants also makes South Bank the perfect location to soak up the year-round warm climate. For catching a live sports match, sport lovers will be glad to know that Suncorp Stadium and the GABBA are within easy walking distance while those looking to embrace arts and culture can find plenty in the Gallery of Modern Art and Queensland Museum, also only minutes away. A trip to Brisbane is not complete without a visit to the city's famous Queen Street Mall. Only a 10 minute walk away from the hotel, this fantastic retail hotspot is a shopaholic's dream. Discover the latest fashion, homewares, accessories and gifts from a choice of six major shopping centres that fall between George and Edward Streets in the city centre. Between the mix of stores are some of the city's most popular places to dine, so be spoilt for choice with an array of cafes and restaurants that will re-energise you to explore the sights. Choose not only to stay in luxury when you stay at Meriton Suites Herschel Street, but choose the best quality and better value accommodation option in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing