We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Number 12

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 12
Ranked #4 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just spent a lovely night at number 12, 8 friends travelled from Melbourne child free!! it was so nice to stay somewhere where you instantly felt welcome and also felt a little spoilt, the lovely afternoon tea on the deck was delightful and brekkie the next day was delicious. I would highly recommend and look forward to going back, Kate was a great host

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fenno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was a wonderful finish to our Queensland stay. Not far from the airport. Restaurants 5 minutes away. Charming old picture theatre at the end of the street,
Beautifully finished character home full of old world charm. The home baking that Kate provided for afternoon tea on arrival was a winner for me. The rooms and en suits were spotless and inviting. The hosts Kate and Neil were very friendly and helpful and cook a wonderful breakfast.
Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We normally don't stay in B&Bs but I doubt whether there could be any better one than Number 12. When we arrived, Kate served us tea and coffee and cake on the verandah and then proceeded to give us all the advice and information we needed.

The rooms are delightful and beautifully furnished. I normally don't sleep very well away from home but I slept like a log and didn't hear the thunderstorm overnight!

And then there was breakfast!. We were given a gorgeous fruit salad, lovely yoghurt and huge croissants. We didn't have any room for the cooked breakfast :-)

It was so easy to get into the CBD - just a walk down to the end of the street and then on to the ferry and an also easy walk to Oxford Street where there are plenty of restaurants and bars.

If I ever need accommodation in Brisbane again it would be at Number 12.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We LOVED staying here - especially our 4 year old daughter. The room was so comfortable with fantastic linen, and such a comfortable bed for our daughter that she wanted to bring it back home. The shower is immense as well.
The house is so beautiful internally and externally, and has been so sympathetically renovated and extended over the years. It is quite stunning and so well kept.
And then ........ to the breakfast. As with everything Kate does, it was perfect. Very high quality produce clearly prepared and cooked by an expect, and served on the veranda. The fruit salad was amazing btw Neil - thank you. Eggs, bacon, Croissant, Fruit juice, Cereals, coffee, tea etc etc. as good as any breakfast anywhere.
Access to town was v simple and quick via the boat, and the airport is 15 mins or so from the house.
We would stay here without hesitation whenever in Brisbane. It's a very different feel to a hotel - and in an extremely good way. It would be hard to better Number 12 - outstanding. Thank you

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Mercedes1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This would have to be the most wonderful experience we have had the hosts Kate & Neil are so helpful they really go out of there way to help with everything as my wife came out of surgery the host did help everything to help you could not ask for anything better it is a very beautiful surroundings it is a ideal haven for a couple retreat we will be helping to let other people and friends know about this place ( And the BREAKFAST is to die for you get enough to last the whole day )
We will be back no two ways about it
Kate & Neil well done From Ko & Maria. Thanks again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ko G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Finding a superb B&B is usually tough, but one which has been lovingly restored (1907) and where you get a fantastic breakfast means this will be our future stop over when in Brisbane. The owners are lovely people, who simply want to share their enthusiasm for their house and their City.

Room Tip: get the city cat into Brisbane
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pdandlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

An incredible stay with 2 delightful hosts Kate & Neil who made us feel so at home. Kate even went the extra mile leaving chocolates on our bed for our anniversary celebrations. What a lovely thoughtful surprise! Now that wasn't in their package deal!
A delish homemade breakfast eaten out on the deck was to perfection!!!
A late night cuppa out on the front veranda eating the homemade melting moments left in our room, that sure did melt in your mouth!
This is the perfect location, short walk to the city cat, 10 min walk to Bulimba for restaurants in Oxford Street. We did not use our motorbike until it was time to leave.
We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the Edwardian room, no-one next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leelee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
1.7 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,128 reviews
2.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
1.6 mi away
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
#43 of 168 in Brisbane
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#6 of 168 in Brisbane
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 12? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 12

Address: 12 Malcolm St | Hawthorne, Brisbane, Queensland 4171, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range: £95 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 12 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away in the inner city suburb of Hawthorne, a timeless Bed and Breakfast awaits. Perfectly positioned, "Number 12" boasts easy access to the hustle and bustle of Brisbane city, a short walk to Oxford Street provides access to some of Brisbane's finest restaurants, cafes and boutiques. Recently restored to its full glory, it boasts a warm and homely ambience, taking you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Number 12 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing