We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deservedly Brisbane's Top B&B”
Review of Number 12

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number 12
Ranked #4 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deservedly Brisbane's Top B&B”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Number 12 for our anniversary in the Victorian room. I was concerned that the canopy bed might be dusty, but I have never stayed anywhere that was so spotlessly fresh and clean. Kate is an excellent host and cook. She went the extra mile and cooked me gluten free banana bread. The area was quiet and the bed comfortable. The house is as lovely as the photos indicate. I agree with Brent (who had a similar experience to ours on a different day) that the jams and relish were exceptional. Excellent value for money. Consistent and flawless hosting by Kate, with lovely little hosting touches that made the visit special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
88
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for anniversary while we dined in Oxford street which is just up the road. The house is great and you really felt like you where visiting an old friend. I picked this spot due to its rating on trip advisor and it did not disappoint. Kate, the host, was just great and got the balance just right between having a chat and letting us do our own thing. And she can cook. Home made jams and relish where beautiful. No menus to pick from but we both got exactly what we wanted for breakfast while we sat on the back deck. Fresh limes of the tree for the Coronas in the fridge. We nearly didn't go out for dinner.

We stayed in the Victorian room which was very nice. As other people have said the mattress was so comfy and the quite street meant sleeping came very easy. Weather staying for a night or a few days you wont go far wrong if you choose Number 12.

Room Tip: Book early and you'll get your choice. It wont matter which one you get but
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Friends found this B and B for us as it was near to their Daughter's place and close by the River and the City Cat. We were attending their middle daughter's wedding at Tenneriffe, by the river. Staying here meant that we didn't need a car. But better still were the comfy beds, the beautiful afternoon tea, and the delicious cooked breakfasts and the Bircher Muesli. So good were the breakfasts that we didn't need lunch. Breaky on the verandah in the morning sun and cool breeze was a great way to start the day. The bathroom was equiped with toiletries, soft towels and even a bath if we needed a soak after spending the day checking out the various stops along the river. Close by is Oxford st. if you need a coffee fix after a walk. The deli/fruit shop at the end of the street has an amazing supply of condiments and fresh fruit. There are lovely parks with shady trees ,and picture theatres nearby at the end of the street and in Oxford street.
Kate and Neil were so welcoming that you felt like part of the family. They are a treasure trove of information. Kate is a great cook and there always seems to be some beautiul smells coming from her kitchen. She will cater for special dietary needs as well. If you need to hire a car , talk to Neil, as that is his sideline.
This is the first time I have stayed in a B and B because they don't come cheap, but I would have to say that Number 12 was well and truely worth the money, and if the need arose I would definitely stay again. Number 12 rounded off a lovely couple of days.

Room Tip: Three rooms with queen beds and ensuites, one room with 2 larger than king single beds and adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InNeedOfaRest50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just spent a lovely night at number 12, 8 friends travelled from Melbourne child free!! it was so nice to stay somewhere where you instantly felt welcome and also felt a little spoilt, the lovely afternoon tea on the deck was delightful and brekkie the next day was delicious. I would highly recommend and look forward to going back, Kate was a great host

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fenno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was a wonderful finish to our Queensland stay. Not far from the airport. Restaurants 5 minutes away. Charming old picture theatre at the end of the street,
Beautifully finished character home full of old world charm. The home baking that Kate provided for afternoon tea on arrival was a winner for me. The rooms and en suits were spotless and inviting. The hosts Kate and Neil were very friendly and helpful and cook a wonderful breakfast.
Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We normally don't stay in B&Bs but I doubt whether there could be any better one than Number 12. When we arrived, Kate served us tea and coffee and cake on the verandah and then proceeded to give us all the advice and information we needed.

The rooms are delightful and beautifully furnished. I normally don't sleep very well away from home but I slept like a log and didn't hear the thunderstorm overnight!

And then there was breakfast!. We were given a gorgeous fruit salad, lovely yoghurt and huge croissants. We didn't have any room for the cooked breakfast :-)

It was so easy to get into the CBD - just a walk down to the end of the street and then on to the ferry and an also easy walk to Oxford Street where there are plenty of restaurants and bars.

If I ever need accommodation in Brisbane again it would be at Number 12.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We LOVED staying here - especially our 4 year old daughter. The room was so comfortable with fantastic linen, and such a comfortable bed for our daughter that she wanted to bring it back home. The shower is immense as well.
The house is so beautiful internally and externally, and has been so sympathetically renovated and extended over the years. It is quite stunning and so well kept.
And then ........ to the breakfast. As with everything Kate does, it was perfect. Very high quality produce clearly prepared and cooked by an expect, and served on the veranda. The fruit salad was amazing btw Neil - thank you. Eggs, bacon, Croissant, Fruit juice, Cereals, coffee, tea etc etc. as good as any breakfast anywhere.
Access to town was v simple and quick via the boat, and the airport is 15 mins or so from the house.
We would stay here without hesitation whenever in Brisbane. It's a very different feel to a hotel - and in an extremely good way. It would be hard to better Number 12 - outstanding. Thank you

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#5 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 12? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 12

Property: Number 12
Address: 12 Malcolm St | Hawthorne, Brisbane, Queensland 4171, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 12 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away in the inner city suburb of Hawthorne, a timeless Bed and Breakfast awaits. Perfectly positioned, "Number 12" boasts easy access to the hustle and bustle of Brisbane city, a short walk to Oxford Street provides access to some of Brisbane's finest restaurants, cafes and boutiques. Recently restored to its full glory, it boasts a warm and homely ambience, taking you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Number 12 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing