We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PJ's Steaks

PJ's Steaks
Ranked #365 of 4,294 Restaurants in Brisbane
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Nice little joint”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Very unique decor... The cheese steak was good but the place felt kind of deserted however this could be down to us getting there around 2pm.
Top nosh for the price!

Helpful?
Thank Lotzi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonably priced, will return & recommend to friends”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Invited by colleagues to go to PJ's for lunch. Didn't know what I was in for...

As I entered, I was quickly entertained by the interesting American-style decor with celebs frames on the wall, and American football playing on the big screen.

PJ's hot dog menus are surprisingly wide ranging; I picked the mushroom cheesesteak dogs with fries for $12.40 (lunch special). Came very quickly, the buns were soft, the mushrooms fresh and delicious. Love the fact that every table has BBQ, tomato and tobasco sauce bottles.

Will definitely come back :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hadikaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

All my friends had raved about this place. There is nothing inherently bad about the place. The staff were nice and it's in the West End near Archive and Cobblers. However, I was underwhelmed by the whole Philly cheese steak. The bread isn't particularly great and the filling lacks flavour in my opinion although I seem to be in the minority here. I did enjoy the sweet-potato fries.

I recommend heading across the road to the Archive Craft Beer bar after. They always have some nice brews on tap.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gaijinguyinjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistently Amazing Food!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have been here several times and all times the food has been amazing! The sweet potato fries and chilli cheese steak grilled dogs are my favorite! I can't praise this place enough!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best cheesesteak around”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Living in Philadelphia, Pa for 17 years, I can qualify this local gem as an authentic Cheesesteak in Brisbane. While difficult to reproduce the original Philly Cheesesteak outside of the US, this is a great place to catch a cold beer, awesome cheesesteak and watch people. Food is top notch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AsBPCZit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PJ's Steaks also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to PJ's Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing