We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation experience and hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #28 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great accommodation experience and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this great hotel, and found everything to be A1. Great customer service at reception , great room with an awesome view, great fast check in/out and lovely modern room. The rates for the room was exceptional too. A nice 10 min stroll into cbd to boot! Stay here if u don't want the noise of the cbd but still want to be close to the action.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnfromCaloundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear JohnfromCaloundra,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I was delighted to learn about how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you were happy with the level of service you received from our reception staff, the room facilities and the views from the balcony in your room, and the location of the hotel.

We would love to have you stay at the hotel again soon.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    525
    191
    81
    34
See reviews for
204
495
130
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Very pleasant hotel. Nice room. Reasonably quiet. I had no problems here at all. My only criticism is the room price was overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WDRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear WDRoberts,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I was pleased to read that you were happy with the hotel and the room you stayed in.

Our room prices have risen this year, however they are in line with the other 4.5 star hotels in Brisbane and the Brisbane hotel market.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed 1 night prior to a cruise, then 2 nights post cruise. Found the Hotle to be in a good location close to the CBD, staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. Rooms were comfortable, clean and well maintained. Rooms had a balcony with great views, although could use some outdoor chairs and small table to sit have a drink and enjoy the views. Restaurant had a good selection of meals with excellent service.
Roma Parklands accros the road was a great place to walk through and enjoy. Lizards everywhere, and are people friendly but not friendly enough to try and touch.
A Spring Hill Bus Loop which is free operates into the city and back, and the Bus Stop is approx 50 metres away. Only operates Monday to Friday. No public bus service operates to Spring Hill on Sundays.
A walk through the parkland will also take you into the CBD, just follow the signs, approx 20 minutes and all downhill/flat. Walking back will test the legs and knee's, but we did it.
There is a Hop On Hop Off Bus Stop just up the road and for a fee you can travel the bus and river cats all day, well worth it.
Would stay at this establishment again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanktank4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Hanktank4,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I was delighted to learn about how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us both prior to and after the cruise you went on. I am so glad that you were happy with the location of the hotel, the level of service you received from our staff, the quality of food and beverages on offer in the restaurant, the room facilities, and the views from the balcony in your room.

We would absolutely love to have you back at the hotel again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

we booked the city weekend getaway recently for $170/night + parking+ breakfast for two + complimentary newspaper, for one night only. firstly i love thier restaurant Frescoes so no compliants there- dinner service is good, have to wait a while ( everytime) to be seated. was very dissapointed with breakfast service, not bad food, but service is horrible. I mean its a sunday morning, staff your F&B outlets! Food at dinner is lovely!
Dinner and cocktails are yum!! there was no newspaper delivered the next morning, so we asked reception, when we had to ask for one, the lady at the reception was so rude," we havent got enough copies (low delivery or something) today, check the restaurant", as if I was begging for a paper! the manager at the restaurant was decent and let us take a copy.
the room: lower floor, cracked and chipping plaster in balcony, not a great view, just a bit of parklands. nice clean room, bathroom and good bed. But would I stay here again?
Perhaps not.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palls19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear palls19,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

I was so glad to read that you enjoyed the dinner and beverages in Frescos Restaurant, and the room facilities and cleanliness of the room.

I sincerely apologise that you were not happy with the standard of service you received at breakfast and that you did not receive the newspaper which was included in the package you booked.

We are currently in the process of our soft refurbishment bringing all rooms to meet the high standard in which we pride ourselves on. The refurbishment will be completed in a staggered stage throughout the year to ensure minimal disruption to our guests during this period.

We would look forward to having you stay at the hotel again in the near future so that we can exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Bathroom is very dated , mould on tiles and old style shower in bath , could surely be renovated , good location , as my husband was in st Andrews hospital . Also linen needs refreshing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Gcvlr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I was glad to read that you were happy with the location of the hotel.

In regards to your comments about the bathroom please be assured that we always strive to offer the best facilities for our guests. Please note that we are currently in the process of our soft refurbishment bringing all rooms to meet the high standard in which we pride ourselves on. The refurbishment will be completed in a staggered stage throughout the year to ensure minimal disruption to our guests during this time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed a night in a standard room and found it to be of a good standard, clean and not too poky with great views of the city off the balcony. We chose it due to a deal on lastminute.com.au for $150 which was great value....until we checked in and were informed that carparking in their basement is another $20 - this was not advertised anywhere on grand chancellor website or lastminute.com.au and previous reviews mention carparking free? If I had known would have been dropped off as we live locally. Therefore brings price back to usual before the deal which is bit annoying. When first going out on our balcony we were hit with the strong smell of cannibis from one of the balconies below - we thought it was amusing but stunk so went back inside and shut everything up. Also when first went to turn television on, couldn't find remote anywhere so had to call reception - then we found it had been kicked far under the bed! Then my partner went to iron his outfit for dinner and found the iron had a sticky surface from someone burning material, didn't want to risk it so called reception to ask for another one, waited 20mins but didn't arrive so we had to get to dinner reservation and left. He went in his casual gear as couldnt iron his shirt! When coming past reception we saw only one staff member working by herself so maybe she couldnt leave the desk. Anyway we found restaurant Frescos as part of Hotel lovely, nice views again and high standard of food. Overall would recommend, staff on desk were pleasant when asking questions and Hotel was clean and modern. Pool on the roof is impressive too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear mel M,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I was delighted to learn about how much you enjoyed your visit with us. I am so glad that you were happy with the views from the restaurant and the quality of food and beverages on offer, the level of service you received, the rooftop pool, the room facilities, and the views from the balcony in your room.

We often have special packages available at different times which can include complimentary extras such as car parking. Please note that the car parking charges are displayed on both of the websites you mentioned in your review.

I sincerely apologise that your iron was not replaced by our staff and that you were inconvenienced due to the actions of a fellow guest. Smoking is not permitted in any of our hotel rooms or balconies. I can assure you that had we been aware of this issue it would have been swiftly dealt with.

We would love to have you back at the hotel again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Chancellor Brisbane. The service was fantastic, the food in the restaurant was delicious and the room was pleasant with a great view. The room had a comfortable bed with a couch and a desk and tea and coffee making facilities. The room felt spacious and had a small balcony. The flat screen TV was well positioned and working as was the airconditioner.

The bathroom was rather small and the grout appeared dirty but on close inspection it was because it was old and probably impossible to clean. At the price we paid on a sizzler deal this did not seem bad. The value for what we paid was good and we had complimentary parking as well.

The location is great as it is close to the city and because it is set on a hill there are wonderful views in all directions.

There is a good lap pool on the roof, a gym and a spa. We had trouble getting the spa bubbles to work the first night and one of the reception staff came up and eventually got it going. Next morning it was not working again and the girl at reception was apologetic and did not feel she was able to get it working. It was a Sunday so that it was going to be out of order till Monday. Her helpful manner left me feeling that she was truly sorry and I was not left unhappy as these things can happen.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Rose G,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! It has made my day to read about how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you were happy with the level of service you received, the food and beverages in the restaurant, the views from the balcony in your room, the room facilities, and the hotel location.

Please accept my sincere apologies that the spa was not working properly during your stay and thank you for your understanding. This issue has since been rectified and the spa is now fully operational.

We would be delighted to have you return to the hotel again soon.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#27 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#39 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#15 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Property: Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#40 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing