We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience at the Grand Chancellor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Hervey Bay, Queensland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience at the Grand Chancellor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night due to a wedding in Brisbane. Breakfast was excellent, not as huge as some places but fresh and a good variety. Staff were very attentive and eager to help, service at breakfast time rivalled some five star restaurants and we were looked after very well. We liked the free bottled sparkling water and complimentary nuts which was a nice touch. Driving to the hotel was a breeze when we followed the directions given on their website. We will stay here again next time we come to Brisbane....a great experience.

Room Tip: We purchased a city break package which included breakfast, parking and a newspaper as well as a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamtraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear dreamtraveller39,

Thank you very much for your kind review! I was delighted to learn about how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us while attending a wedding in Brisbane. I am glad that you were happy with the level of service you received from our staff during breakfast, the selection of food and beverages on offer for breakfast, the complimentary extras in the Superior rooms, and the easily accessible location of the hotel.

We would very much love to have you back at the hotel again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    553
    197
    82
    35
See reviews for
223
522
137
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed at the HGC Brisbane a couple of times. Service is impecable.
My room was very comfortable, good space and had everything I need for my work.
I strongly recommend staying at the Hotel for either a business trip or for leisure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear maurorisch,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I was so pleased to learn about how much you enjoyed your recent stays here with us.

I am so glad that you were impressed by the level of service you received and the room facilities catered to your business needs.

We would love to have you visit the hotel again soon.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We recently stayed at Grand Chancellor Brisbane for 1 night as a short stay. We got a really good deal with breakfast and parking included. When we checked we got an upgrade instantly. The room was on 10th floor with balcony. The refurbishment at this hotel certaintly made a huge difference! The room was very clean. Toiletries was impressive! It was Peter Morissey inspired! We were surprised to even get a complimentary bottle of sparkling water and nibbles, it was a very nice touch! Bed and pillows so comfortable, the only comment I have is the bed being a tad low than usual. The room fittings was modern, led lights, see through mini bar fridge, good coffee/tea supplies. Breakfast the following day did not disappoint at all! Hot food buffet was nicely presented, was hot and topped up everytime! We were only here for 1 night as we arrived to Brisbane airport at midnight, and wanted to sleep and rest before we drive to the Gold Coast. We were so glad we found this hotel last minute!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinlyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear livinlyf,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I was so pleased to learn about how much you enjoyed your recent stay here with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us before your drive to the Gold Coast. I am so glad that you were happy with the complimentary upgrade you received, the room facilities and amenities, and the food and beverages on offer for our Buffet Breakfast in Frescos Restaurant.

We would absolutely love to have you visit the hotel again soon.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am sad to say that this hotel wasnt to standard. The staff were great the food was also good but we had no one to greet us and trying to get valet parking was hard. The hotel itself was nice but the rooms were that small you could hardly move and the beds were like sleeping on the floor. Its a shame as it would be a nice place to stay if the rooms were fixed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Lynne F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent visit.

I was pleased to learn that you were impressed by the food and beverages in the restaurant and the level of service you received from our staff throughout your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you were not adequately greeted upon arrival and that you found it difficult to arrange valet parking. Normally, we receive very positive comments regarding the level of service provided by our reception staff. I am sorry that this was not the case on this occasion and please be assured that I have addressed the issues with the Front Office Manager to ensure this problem does not occur in future.

We are currently in the process of our soft refurbishment bringing all of the guest rooms to meet the high standard in which we pride ourselves on. The refurbishment will be completed in a staggered stage throughout the year to ensure minimal disruption to our guests during this period.

We would look forward to having you stay at the hotel again in the near future so that we can exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, QLD.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Recently stayed just overnight whilst visiting the Brisbane City. Found the Hotel fantastic with facilities and staff at the Front Desk very accommodating (particularly Nicola). Rooms were great, with a nice outlook. Beds were very comfortable! Furniture on the balcony would have been a bonus. Overall a great stopover, would definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyCoast06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear SunnyCoast06,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review! I was delighted to learn about how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Brisbane. I am glad that you were happy with the hotel facilities, the room facilities, and level of service you received from our staff during your stay. I will be sure to commend Nicola on her exceptional customer service efforts.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the need for furniture on the balcony. Please note that we have taken on board your comments for our future refurbishment initiatives.

We would love to have you back at the hotel again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowestoft
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed for one night before picking up a campervan for a trip to Cairns.

Arrived early but room was available. Lovely view at the top of a hill - pity no chairs to sit on on the balcony.

Enjoyed our stay and found the hotel very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Rosine,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I was so pleased to learn about how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us before your trip to Cairns. I am glad we were able to accommodate your early arrival at the hotel and that you thought the view from the balcony in your room was a lovely view.

We would love to have you visit the hotel again soon.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Myself and two friends stayed at the Grand Chancellor for 2 nights after 3 nights at the Oaks Aurora with a couple of other friends (we decided to move hotels when we were booking to save). If you're training or moving within the city, be careful of the hill leading up from Central as it was a bit of a trek with luggage in the Summer heat. Upon arriving, we were greeted by several lovely front desk staff members who were more than happy to give us directions/recommendations of what to do for the day. Apparently there is a shuttle bus running between the Chancellor and CBD but being a Sunday it wasn't running. Later when we checked into our room, we were surprised by the space, room for almost a third double bed!
A few small things we noticed in our room during our stay:
-curtain didn't quite cover the deck door which brought in a fair bit of light early morning
-bathroom light was outside the bathroom
-there was a difference in floor levels between main room/bathroom which resulted in a few stubbed toes.
Despite the walk to the city, there were plenty of eating options around the hotel (including the pub down one of the side roads opposite which had 2 for 1 mains our first night there) all at a good price. We did try the hotel bar and some of the snacks and all were delicious and a reasonable price. The beds were incredibly comfortable and despite being next to what seemed like a relatively busy road, we heard very little noise. The gentleman at the front desk on our last night was very helpful in booking us a taxi to leave early the next morning, rang us to let us know it had arrived and was just as polite at 5.30am on our way out.
Even with the walk to the CBD, considering the value of the Grand Chancellor we would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear rekah21,

Thank you very much for your kind review! I was delighted to learn about how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us during your trip to Brisbane. I am glad that you were happy with the level of service you received from our staff throughout your stay, the spacious and quiet room, the room facilities, and the food and beverages on offer in the hotel bar.

You mentioned the free bus providing transport from the hotel to the city centre. On your next visit to Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane please feel free to make use of the free Spring Hill Loop Bus Service. This service currently runs at 6:52am, 7:18am, 7:44am, 8:10am, and 8:25am then approximately every 10 minutes until 6:05pm Monday to Friday. This service provides free and convenient transportation between the hotel and the City.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the room layout. Please note that we have taken on board your comments for our future refurbishment initiatives.

We would love to have you back at the hotel again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#41 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#40 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Property: Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#40 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing