We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed at this nice and comfort hotel during my conference in Brisbane. Stayed there with my colleagues, and going to the BCEC everyday to attend the conference. After the tiring meetings, going back to the hotel was a refreshing rest. Though the location of this hotel was a somewhat far from BCEC. Luckily we have our own coach that brought us to and from the conference venue. Breakfast was standard, but still enjoyable. Room was clean and tidy that allow us to refresh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Paulus S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay.

I am pleased that Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane provided a clean, restful base from which you could attend your conference.

We looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    553
    197
    82
    35
See reviews for
222
522
137
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

If all you are after is a standard room without the bells and whistles then this establishment will meet your needs. The only thing I found hard to comprehend was no chairs on the balcony... Beautiful view though you can't even sit back and enjoy it which is a waste.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timgoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear timgoul,

Greetings from the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, I was happy to read that the hotel meet your needs and that you had the chance to marvel at our lovely views. I also appreciate your mention of the chairs and will bring this up for discussion in our next Manager’s meeting.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The BAD:

Checked in and checked out within 3 hours.

Room had a smell, smelt of cleaning products or vomit?

Bed cover was disgusting, looked very old and dirty.

Carpet was stained.

Bed was really uncomfortable with a mattress that collapsed and springs that you could feel.

Elevators to access floor were slow and there are only 2 so to get in/out is more painful that it should be.

The Air-con unit rattled.

This is an old hotel that should be retired. I felt insulted that my work chose to send me here. It really is terrible.

The OK

Room had a new bathroom that looked ok.

The good

The staff apologised.

Room Tip: Do not book a room here, if you want to sleep / relax book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Matto Travel,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read your review as the issues that you raised are not a regular occurrence here at the hotel.

We pride ourselves on our long term relationship we hold with your company and we have several of your colleagues stay with us on a regular basis. As we have not received such feedback regarding our quality or service, I was very surprised to hear that you left the hotel within a short period and I am sincerely apologetic that we could not meet or exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Friendly helpful staff, good food, clean comfortable rooms, very comfy beds. Nice outlook over park.agree seats on the balcony would be nice. Breakfast was great. We arrived late, but were able to obtain an excellent meal through the bar.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Anne B,

What an all-round lovely review – thank you.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed everything from our friendly staff, comfy beds and wondrous views over Roma Street Parklands.

I also appreciate your suggestion regarding the seats on the balcony and will raise this for discussion in the next Manager’s meeting.

I hope you had a pleasant trip home and we hope to see you back at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Nice Hotel for a very competitive price. Brand new bathrooms are really nice and large shower. Rooms are average size with all the essentials. Would be nice if the balcony had table and chairs. Breakfast was delicious and good value. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Naza W,

Thank you for your time in writing this great review of your stay with us at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane. Your feedback gives us the important opportunity to see what areas we excel in and those that need more focus.

I am thrilled to read that you were impressed with the facets of the Hotel and that you found it to be such good value for money.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexleyheath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

hotel is around 25 mins walk to south bank where all the best restaurants are. there's a small pool area on the top floor in a quiet location not too far from the city centre. staff are brilliant, very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: if you can afford it take a superior room. if you want a balcony ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexBexleyheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear alexBexleyheath,

Reading your review has made my day!

I am so pleased to read that you had such a positive experience while staying with us. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff – they do work hard to ensure our guests are well looked after so it is wonderful to see that reflected in your comments.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation – we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisabne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight at Grand Chancellor. Got a very good rate on line from Hotel Club, approx $100 including parking. Rooms smallish but all newly and freshly renovated. Great views from balconies. Food from room service was excellent. Definately recommend!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RussellBrisbane428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear RussellBrisbane428,

Thank you for sharing this glowing review!

It is just lovely to read about our guests having had a great experience at the Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our renovated rooms, great views and the lovely food we have to offer.

Thank you again for your very kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#41 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#40 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Property: Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#40 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing