We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good stay in a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a good stay in a great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was by accident that we ended up staying here for a night. We were part of a large group of people who were put up in this hotel for the night due to a cancelled flight with Virgin Australia.

Upon arrival the staff at the hotel reception were very friendly. Our room although a smaller one was very modern. The Bathroom was chic with a black-tiled shower and big shower head. The beds were comfortable and the view of Brisbane City from our room was spectacular. The bar downstairs was busy considering all the other passengers had the same idea as us which was to unwind with a drink yet the lady at the bar was very professional and friendly. Why she even showed us how she made a Pina Colada (as we were curious!)
The Hotel Restaurant brought out the most wonderful and comforting food and the wait staff very friendly. The Restaurant and meal for us was the highlight of our stay here.

The only niggle we had was the assistant manager who was in charge of reception on the morning we were leaving was a little snarly when he rang our room to tell us the bus was here and was going to leave for the airport. When we said we were told it was at a later time than this he replied 'well he probably wont wait for you'. there was no 'well i can have a word and see if he'll wait a couple of minutes' or anything of the sort. This was uncalled for. Luckily we rushed and got downstairs in the nick of time.

Other than the mishap with the airport transport we were very pleased with our stay here.

Room Tip: Try requesting a room with a city view- it's a wonderful outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Brenna W,

Thank you for creating a review of your recent visit. I am pleased that even though your stay was unexpected, it was a pleasant one.

It is warming to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, particularly our bar staff. I hope you can put your new found cocktail making skill to use!

I was however disappointed to hear of your experience with our Reception staff. I will be sure to bring your feedback up with the Manager to ensure that our staff are always offering our usual high level of service.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    554
    197
    82
    35
See reviews for
223
523
138
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Walking in to the Grand Chancellor, I was definately surprised! The outside is a little grim and plain looking, but the inside is anything but. I was warmly welcomed at reception and made to feel at home right away. I found the staff were friendly and helpful and genuinely wanted you to enjoy your stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a balcony.The restaurant boasted a delicious and varied menu, including an impressive breakfast buffet. There is a pleasant enough pool and spa on the top level for those water-inclined! Would definitely recommend for someone looking for a comfortable stay in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allycat03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear allycat03,

Thank you for taking the time to create this great review of your stay with us. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit.

It was also wonderful to find that your experience with the room, food and our staff was so memorable.

Thank you again for this glowing recommendation, we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a working weekend and found this hotel very good.
Is nice and bright inside as you enter and the staff are friendly and attentive.
Rooms were fresh, modern and clean which really should be the standard everywhere.

It is out of the CBD and so is a taxi ride for work and or meals/entertainment but that is the case in most trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room as it's nice and quiet with regards to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Richneet,

Thank you for your recommendation of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane. It is always wonderful to hear from satisfied guests and I am delighted that the hotel hit the mark for you.

Thank you again for your feedback, I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was one of a party of 5 people who stayed aat this hotel from24/4/2014 until28/4/2014.We enjoyed every naspect of our stay.The rooms were excellent,service first class,food tasty and reasonably priced.Special mention needs to be made of the staff on the reception desk.Thanks to Audrey for her help with the luggage on checkout and Kate for booking our Qtour trip to Eumundi markets.We would love to return.Aub Mattner Loxton S.A. 5333

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aubrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear aubrey m,

What a glowing review – thank you so much! I was so immensely pleased to read that you had such an all-round positive experience while at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane. I am especially appreciative of your mention of our friendly staff and will be sure to commend them for a job well done.

It is wonderful to hear that you would love to return, so we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I checked into this hotel because it is opposite St Andrews hospital where he was having day surgery. We requested a quiet room on a high floor on the parkland side. When we opened the door it reeked of mould and we could hear people walking on the floor above. No problems with the staff as we were immediately moved to the top floor. In this room the phone constantly flashed we had a message. Phone was replaced and the new one did the same. The air conditioning noise was extremely loud so we were moved to another room on the same floor. In this room the shower handle came off in my hand and after we turned off the TV there was a horrendous skull penetrating frequency roar which continued all night. Neither of us had a wink of sleep and the following morning we moved rooms AGAIN. In our final room the shower had no seal on it and the bathroom floor quickly became a lake. Obviously all of these rooms needed maintenance. The air conditioning vents were filthy. I discovered on the roof above this floor is a fitness centre, swimming pool, hot tub and of course the cooling towers for the air conditioning, all of these motors running constantly and the noise coming through the ceiling to the underneath floor. The staff are obliging and doing their best to cope with very inadequate maintenance.

Room Tip: Possibly a room on the city side on th 10th floor but it they haven't been maintained forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great hotel in a great location. Within walking distance of train stations and city centre, only thing that wasn't within walking distance is some nice restaurants/pubs. The room itself exceed my expectation considering the price I paid, newly renovated bathroom and clean room. The staff were wonderful and always said hello when you walked past. Highly recommended it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Leanne D,

Thank you for sharing your kind review. I was so thrilled to read that your room exceeded your expectations and that you were impressed with our value for money. I also appreciate your mention of our friendly staff and will be sure to share your feedback in our next staff meeting.

Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed at this nice and comfort hotel during my conference in Brisbane. Stayed there with my colleagues, and going to the BCEC everyday to attend the conference. After the tiring meetings, going back to the hotel was a refreshing rest. Though the location of this hotel was a somewhat far from BCEC. Luckily we have our own coach that brought us to and from the conference venue. Breakfast was standard, but still enjoyable. Room was clean and tidy that allow us to refresh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Paulus S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay.

I am pleased that Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane provided a clean, restful base from which you could attend your conference.

We looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#41 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#39 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Property: Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#40 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing