We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
caloundra
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice hotel good value”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here recently for just one night, as I had to make a last minute booking. The hotel room was small but nice, clean and a lovely shower. The balcony had no chairs to sit on but a great view nonetheless. The parking was free and easy to access. It was about a 10 minute walk to the city centre. The price I paid for the room was very reasonable as I booked on my mobile phone so no complaints from me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear chillybin,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

Thank you for your kind review of your recent visit to the hotel. I am so pleased that you found the hotel to be such good value for money.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    618
    218
    87
    39
See reviews for
264
592
151
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Crescent, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived early in the morning on our first trip to Australia. The reception staff was very helpful and friendly. We were able to get into our room right away and get settled after a long flight. The room was clean. The bathroom was small but looked like it had been redone nicely.
We had a little balcony We overlooking the neighboring Roma Street Parkland. This is a beautiful park to explore!
We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast buffet and a dinner at the hotel restaurant. This hotel is located in a quieter area near in Brisbane. Not too far a walk from the city. The pool and hot tub were on the rooftop. It was a decent area but the pool and spa were cold. This area could be improved by cleaning the windows so the beautiful city views could be enjoyed. The carpeting in the hallways needs to be replaced. We had trouble making international calls that wasn't resolved. I would recommend this hotel. It was a great place to stay in a wonderful and friendly city!
Thanks to the staff at the front desk for being so helpful in helping us navigate our way in Brisbane!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Lilac59,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane. I am thrilled that you chose Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane for your first stay in Australia.

It was so great to read your glowing review and find out about your recent experience at the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your room, views, and the hotel’s friendly staff.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Australia.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a hens weekend and ended up getting 2 nights at an incredible price.

The rooms are newly refurbished with modern decor and furnishings. The carpet didn't really suit the room but everything else worked. The room was cleaned to a 5 star standard I couldn't fault it. The pillows were lush and there were plenty in the room with extras.

All facilities were in good working order, the gym was well equipped and the views up there and on the rooftop pool are spectacular.

The service was great both with room service and at reception on check in and out, we politely asked if the occupancy was low on the Sunday night for a late checkout and we got a 12pm checkout free of charge.

I would definately stay here again and recommend to others. It's perfectly located for a night out in the valley and it was only a 10-15 minute walk to queen street shops

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Brooke M,

Thank you for this rave review!

I am thrilled that Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane ticked so many boxes for you and you were pleased with everything from our location to our modern décor.

Thank you again for your kind words and glowing recommendation – we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have stayed at the Grand Chancellor many times over the last few years and each time it has been pleasant and easy-going. We usually stay for 2 nights just as a weekend getaway. The staff are always friendly and nothing is a problem. It is quite central to the Brisbane CBD with the parklands across the road. You can walk to Queen St Mall which is the main shopping area in about 10-15 mins and it is all downhill. Coming back up the hill to the hotel is an OK walk but probably not good if you are elderly. A taxi fare from the shopping area back is about $10. Overall it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lee R,

Thank you very much for posting this great review of your stay. It is wonderful to hear from one of our return guests as it gives us a great opportunity to see where we are doing a great job, and where we can make improvements.

I am so glad you found that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay from our friendly staff to our great location.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here before & finding the Gold Coast booked out I chose the Grand Chancellor.
The room was very clean & renovated with great views over Brisbane.
The only thing that let it down was the peeling paint on the balcony railing which let it down.
Overall though a lovely hotel in a great location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Eric J,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

I was thrilled to read that you had a good experience while at the hotel and that you made the most of the spectacular view on offer.

I also appreciate your mention of the paint and have forwarded your feedback onto our Engineering Department to look into.

Thank you once more, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

On the upside: Comfortable and quiet. Modern bathroom and great bed, with good view over Brisbane City. Friendly staff, free parking. One negative: Breakfast overpriced for what it was. Bacon was cold and beans looked like they'd been sitting for ages plus mushrooms were deep fried? Yuck. Extra charge for a latte. Certainly wouldn't recommend eating there.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ricki19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Ricki19,

Thank you for this review of your visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.
I am so glad you enjoyed our comfortable, modern rooms and that you most of our impressive views.

I was however disappointed that your breakfast experience was not up to your expectations. This is surprising as we consistently receive positive feedback regarding our buffet breakfast and the service provided in Frescos Restaurant so I truly apologise that this was not your experience. We provide unlimited filtered coffee with the buffet breakfast package, or we charge an extra $2 to include a barista perfect coffee. This has been received very positively amongst our regular guests. Once again, we apologise for your experience and we truly hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great room, mini bar, restaurant, 24 hour room service, close to the heart of the city,very affordable in all aspects.The staff were beautiful, smiling and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant staff were amazing. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends, thankyou very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear P M ,

What an all-round fantastic review – thank you!

I am so pleased that we were able to make your stay so wonderful. Thank you for your glowing recommendation – we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 160 in Brisbane
617 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 160 in Brisbane
1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 160 in Brisbane
1,556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#30 of 160 in Brisbane
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#40 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing