We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there if you want to sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here recently for 3 nights and whilst the room was nice, clean, well decorated there was noise from the construction site below which began at 7.30am on the dot having been kept awake a lot of the night by slamming doors in the corridors and being able to hear every move next door made including plugging things into the wall. I do think guests should be made aware of the construction site when making a booking as if you were not there for business then I doubt you want to be woken by pneumatic drills at that time. The staff in the bar were great, very friendly and the reception staff were great when we asked for a room swap to have a twin instead of a double. Once the work is done I'm sure this hotel will be great. Also, in a modern hotel you should get more than 30 minutes free wifi when staying 3 nights.

Room Tip: One in the opposite side to the building work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ljo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Ljo87,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on your recent stay. I am thrilled that our modern, comfortable rooms were to your liking.

I was however disappointed to read that your stay was disturbed by noise and would like to apologise if it caused you to be inconvenienced. We are very excited to announce that we will be opening state-of-the-art conference centre due to be completed in May 2015 and the construction of this may create some noise. This should only fall between 9am and 4pm Monday-Friday to minimise the disruption to our guests. Thank you for your patience during this time, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have stayed a couple of times now for work. Check in is fast and efficient, rooms are modern and clean with free wifi. Restaurant and room service is good. Also if you want a great walk go through the Roma Street Gardens which are next door which are fantastic.

Room Tip: Both rooms I have had have had lovely views over Brisbane
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Peter D,

Thank you for this kind review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane. It is wonderful to hear from a return guest, especially when it is such positive feedback.

Thank you also for sharing your tip about the picturesque Roma Street Gardens – I am sure other travellers will appreciate this too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I had stayed here before in one of the refurbished rooms and was very impressed. Unfortunately this stay wasnt upto standard. We booked under a "wine and dine" package which claimed a bottle of wine and a free breakfast. We never received the wine (which i was looking forward to after a horrific day) and they tried to charge us for breakfast, false advertising. The staff at check in very helpful and we appreciated the free weekend parking.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith0669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Faith0669,

Thank you very much for your feedback as it gives us a great opportunity to see where we are doing a fine job, and where we can make improvements.

I was disappointed to read that you did not receive the wine. In future I would urge you to bring this to the attention of our staff so that we have the chance to rectify this for you. I would also like to apologise about the breakfast charge and will be bringing your feedback up with staff to ensure we are always offering our usual high level of service.

I do apologise for the inconveniences felt during your stay with us, and we would love to welcome you back to our hotel in the future to prove that your experience was not the norm for us.

Best Regards,
Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight for a quick anniversary break over Easter. The rate was exceptional and included a 2 for 1 breakfast deal. The room we were allocated was fabulous, it had a magnificent view of the Roma St Parklands and surrounds, and onto the river and Mt Coot-ha. The room itself was refurbished and just beautiful. Everything was clean and well cared for. The only problem was the television. I'm not sure if it was still on analogue (hasn't that been switched off??) but every channel and even the pay per view movies were ridiculously fuzzy. Pretty much unwatchable. Unacceptable for being in the middle of a world class city with the TV towers in full view. Anyway, that helped make our decision not to order room service and watch a movie but to venture in the city, have dinner in the Mall and go to the cinema. Overall though, the hotel is beautiful, professional and clean. The breakfast was very nice and I liked that the car park was left open during the day so we didn't have to stuff about with keys for entry etc. The car parking spaces were adequate and roomy. Will definitely stay again - as long as the TV's have reception!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Cathie D,

Greetings and thank you for writing this post about your recent visit.

It is wonderful to hear how pleased you were with your stay and how highly you regard the hotel's value for money. I was saddened to hear that you experienced difficulties with the reception and would urge you to bring this to our attention in future should this occur again. We would love the chance to rectify this for you to ensure that you have the best possible experience.

Thank you once more, we look forward to welcoming you back for yet another pleasant stay with us in in the near future.

Best Regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple nights last week. Rooms were great, love the see thru windows through shower into bathroom. We had a fantastic view of city and parklands, 10 mins walk into city. Overall above average

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DentcurePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear DentcurePerth,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on your stay. I am thrilled that you had a positive experience at the hotel and that you enjoyed the special view provided by our comfortable rooms.

As we are currently in the process of constructing a state-of-the-art conference centre, due to be completed in May 2015, there will be some noise however this should only fall between 9am and 4pm Monday-Friday to minimise the disruption to our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Parts of this hotel is currently under major renovations, fortunately the demolition work doesn't start too early and besides a 9am wake-up, had no impact on my stay.
The staff are quite helpful and friendly and the food seems good although much cheaper fare is available a short walk along Leichardt st or in the nearby CBD (about 10 minutes walk).

It is a quieter location across from parklands (which can be locked at night) and not immediately in the CBD but most rooms have great views from the hotel's high location.

The bathroom was nicely renovated and everything else seemed quite adequate.
Car parking is paid and entry at night is by a press-button and then a parking ticket.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tropicalpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear tropicalpenguin,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

Thank you for sharing your review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the views, and found our staff to be so pleasant.

Parts of the hotel are currently under construction, making way for a state-of-the-art conference centre due to be completed in May 2015.This will create some noise, however this should only fall between 9am and 4pm Monday-Friday to minimise the disruption to our guests. I was very pleased that this did not affect you.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I normally stay here for business but this time I stayed with my wife for a couple of days on holiday. We were not disappointed. We had a great dinner in the restaurant and room service was very good too. Staff were very helpful and added to the enjoyment of our holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are away from traffic and trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear DMCC3

Greetings from the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

Thank you for taking the time to write this 5 five star review of your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the delicious dinner and room service.

Thank you as well for your very kind mention of our staff, I am so glad that you found them helpful. Again, we appreciate your comments as well as your glowing recommendation and hope that you continue to choose Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane for any future stays.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.2 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#33 of 169 in Brisbane
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 169 in Brisbane
1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#60 of 169 in Brisbane
1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#14 of 169 in Brisbane
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £64 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing