We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airport Motel
Ranked #104 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth the stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this motel prior to our trip to Europe and on return.The motel is not too far from the airport and the staff and motel were excellent. We would recommend this motel for a short term stay. It is close to the Rivercat stop where a trip to the city is easy.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    64
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
48
44
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
189 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My family and I were very happy with location, price and the service from the check-in staff. We also had a good sized family room which easily fitted two double beds and still had plenty of room to spare. We found the room (on the second floor) to be nice and quite and allowed for a good night's sleep, especially considering that the motel is basically on a flight path.

We also ordered some meals up to our room for dinner and these worked out at about the same price when compared to some of the take away places that offered home delivery with an extra surcharge.

We used the pool facility and although not heated, it was appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascade, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
261 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We only had 2 days in Brisbane. The Airport Motel worked but is nothing special for the price. It was around 15-20 minutes by taxi from the airport. Then a 20 minute walk to the Cat Ferry. The room was very small for 3 of us. An optional breakfast was pricey. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donandbobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

A pleasant smile and good service are a great start on arrival at an accommodation place. This was the case at Airport Motel, Brisbane. Over and above the courteous and pleasant greeting, I was impressed with reception apologising to me for a slight delay while attending the needs of an elderly couple before me. That was fine. I'm well in my 70s, too, but have the advantage of remaining fit.
Unfortunately, comes the "Then…" aspect of the heading.
The unit in which I stayed was not up to commercial standard. I was too tired to mess about with changing rooms or, even, accommodation, so put up with the considerably less-than-clean surrounds. The bathroom was the area of total disappointment: dirty and unacceptable. A number of things - all easily attended! - were the cause of my unfortunately negative review. There were at least two hairs at the toilet (a matter of principle to a man but something more than that to most women!) The shower curtain hem was orange with soap mould and bacterial buildup. 'Top of the list' must go to the vanity. The accumulation of dust, dirt, hair, fluff, soap and other matter was at a level I have never before seen.
I won't carry on about it. All I suggest is the reader chaco out the attached photos.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Good proximity to airport.
Shuttle from the airport arranged by hotel staff (extra fee)
Breakfast in the room at your choice of hour (extra fee)
Efficient and friendly staff, willing to help.
Easy in - easy out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amnon_Romano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked a queen deluxe room. Unfortunately I could not see any deluxe fittings or features. I may be wrong about this, but I think the only difference between standard and deluxe is that there is lift access to the deluxe rooms.
The room could have been cleaner. I reached up into the cupboard for a plate and found there was white sticky dust all over the top of the plate. We had thought about eating at the motel that night but this put me right off.
It is a short walk to the Portside Wharf complex where there are many choices of restaurant.
I did not sleep at all well in this motel. When I looked outside our window in the morning, I saw there were 4 noisy airconditioning units right near our window. The on/off sound they all made through the night led to a very disturbed sleep for me.
Apart from the above, I found the staff pleasant and polite and the location was very handy for our cruise departure the next morning. I believe the motel even drops guests off free of charge at the port at certain times.
There was a tiny, rather cold swimming pool. My husband tried it, but I did not.

Room Tip: Might be better to try another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange
Level Contributor
301 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Clean, tidy, safe.......good airport location. We ended up here at a last minute because of a plane cancellation. It rated 4 stars on booking.com and so went with it without reading a single review. My view is that this is a 3 star with an extra half because the receptionist/owner was so very lovely, helpful and friendly. Good family sized room but the motel was not really a place you'd stay for a holiday. $159...... The motel was worth $100 but you pay the $59 for the location.. Bur the lady behind the counter was a true gem. Thanks :)

Room Tip: The family room was 3rd story. Lugging bags up there wasnt heaps of fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Airway Motel Brisbane
Airway Motel Brisbane
#92 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kingsford Brisbane Airport
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Northgate Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Airport Clayfield Motel
Airport Clayfield Motel
#75 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsford Smith Motel
Kingsford Smith Motel
#8 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport 85 Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Motel

Property: Airport Motel
Address: 638 Kingsford Smith Dr | Hamilton, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3.5 Star Motel. All rooms are air-conditioned and have tea/coffee facilities and complimentary Foxtel and Wifi. All rooms are non-smoking. Outdoor Saltwater pool and garden area. Dinner and breakfast available at reasonable rates. A shuttle service to the cruise terminal is free of charge, while a service to and from the airport can be arranged at small fee. Walking distance to numerous shops, cafes, restaurants and cinema. Walk to Citycat Ferry for easy access to the city. We look forward to welcoming you to The Airport Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Motel Hotel Brisbane
Airport Hotel Brisbane
Airport Motel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing