We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and over rated by a long way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Ranked #84 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Overpriced and over rated by a long way”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

There are far better priced and quality places much closer to the city. We chose this place for location to our needs today but for goodness sake, it's in the suburbs. $170 for a budget family room. Then they tell me for $300 we have a new 2 bedroom apartment! $300 !! It's Sunnybank not surfers paradise
The room had a cracked PowerPoint a shower 1500mm high . Toilet paper like sandpaper . Breakfast. 2 pancakes smaller than a piece of toast for $11.50 you must be joking ??? one tiny croisant for $4.50 Staff however were excellent .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boracaybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Tony,

My team and are disappointed you didn’t enjoy your stay. The room you chose and booked via Wotif is a Budget Kitchenette Family room and the room rate is $159 per night for up to 4 guests. You incorrectly state the rate was $170 per night.

It is not clear as to why you would compare Sunnybank to Surfers Paradise, the Motel is located in Eight Mile Plains. Sunnybank, Mount Gravatt and Eight Mile Plains are a busy and growing commercial precinct with many motels and hotels in the area to meet the high demand for accommodation. You make mention of a $300 room which is 1 of our 60 rooms offered to meet the various accommodation requirements of our guests. The Executive 2 Bedroom Apartment is fully self-contained and boasts 42 inch and 32 inch flat screen TVs in every room and the $299 per night rate is inclusive of 5 guests which equates to $60 per person. It is ideal for families or groups and we have received excellent feedback from guests who have chosen to stay in the apartment. We also offer other room types such as the Standard Room with rates starting at $110 per night for 2 guests.

We have not received a complaint about our toilet paper before and it is a brand that is widely used in the accommodation industry. In regards to breakfast, we cook to order and all meals are delivered by staff to the guest’s room and where the prices are reasonable considering the home cooking style and personalised service involved.

We will address the cracked powerpoint and thank you for acknowledging the excellent service of our staff.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    58
    23
    16
    7
See reviews for
38
37
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Was fortunate enough to have this motel respond to my online enquiry out of many... They were one of two to respond out of five so customer service means a lot to them obviously! Their service also extended into our telephone conversation, greeting upon arrival and overall stay. Mum and I were certainly happy with our room and service provided, no negatives! Even the busy road, staying on a corner unit near this was not a concern, rooms are very well sound proofed and provide all that is necessary for 1 or more nights. Thank you Paul and all staff, you made our not so happy visit to Brisbane much better and comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms gone through soft renovations and all are very clean and appealing. If you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KajeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear KajeAustralia,

My team and I are delighted you and your Mum enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in happier times.

Guests can book or inquire with us via email, our website or can call us on our free 1800 639 298 number. Our dedicated staff will respond promptly to enquiries received, 7 days a week.

Thank you for the tip about requesting a ground floor room. We offer rooms on the ground and first floor and encourage guests to advise us of any requirements at the time of making the booking so we can ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We needed budget-friendly overnight accomodation in the area, and this property adequately suited our needs. The motel is clearly an older building, but is neat and tidy, and our room - an Executive Motel Room, was clean and comfortable with simple yet tasteful decor. The queen bed was possibly one of the comfiest we've come across in a motel!
If you're looking for tranquility, this is not the property for you - you can expect road noise, and will hear the comings and goings of other guests.
We have no hesitations recommending this property based on its convenient location, proximity to facilities (restaurants etc) and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Syadiloh.

It sounds like you and your family had a great nights sleep when staying at the BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments. We have heavily invested in buying luxurious beds to ensure our guests enjoy a good nights sleep.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed to nights and it was a comfortable stop. Service was good. Room was comfortable and location for our drive was very important. We needed a room on the fist level and the hotel people were very helpful in making it possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Received a great welcome from a very helpful reception lady. Got put in this for 2 nights owing to a screw up with a booking during the cricket in November 2013 so difficult to judge its value for money as all the prices were inflated artificially. It is a bit far from town but if you're not looking for a late night out in brisbane it's ok because it's right on a bus stop (efficient buses) which run until 11pm. Standard motel facilities but decent standard. I'd be happy paying approx £50-70 for this place

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed here with my mum in a ground floor room to attend a wedding in Brisbane. The beds were quite comfortable. There was a single & a double bed, a kitchenette, large bathroom supplied with towels, shampoo, conditioner & a shower cap. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom & an iron & iroining board supplied.

It took around 15-20 minutes to get to Southbank & there's plenty of parking & shops are located right across the street. There's also a petrol station across the motel.

The air conditioner is very old & noisy. There's also a gap between the wall & curtains which lets light in & was very annoying since I was sleeping on the single bed near the window. So I couldn't sleep.

Overall the room was clean & was sufficient for what we needed for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Room was very nice but the aircon was noisy to the point we couldn't sleep or hear the TV over it. Fix that and this will be a great hotel. On main busy road which is a pain in the neck. Price needs to be looked at. It's a motel & prices should reflect that.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review. It is unfortunate you found the air-conditioner noisy and as we do not know your name and therefore do not know which one of the 60 rooms you stayed in, we are not able to log a maintenance job to investigate the air-conditioner.

Whilst we do recognise the value of feedback posted on Trip Advisor, we see more value in guests reporting any concern to the onsite managers. This will at least allow motel management to address the issue for you before you depart.

In regards to the value, our prices are very competitive and given we are a 4 star motel, many of our guests feel they receive excellent value for money.

In reference to the motel being next to a road, this is what motels are traditionally - roadside. Historically, the concept of motels came about as roads and highways were developed and where motorists required overnight accommodation - hence motels are usually located near a main road. That been said, there is an effective concrete sound barrier to ensure our guests receive a good night sleep.

Many thanks,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#63 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens
5.5 mi away
Lancaster Court Motel
Lancaster Court Motel
#64 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rocklea International Motel
Rocklea International Motel
#80 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel

Property: Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Address: 223 Padstow Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4113, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wifi (unlimited download). FREE Foxtel. FREE Parking. Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments is ideally situated to offer the corporate and leisure traveller a convenient location in modern and value for money accommodation. Just 2 minutes from the M1 and Gateway freeways this is the perfect base to explore all Brisbane has to offer and the fabulous attractions of the Gold Coast. The Motel is 30 minutes to the Gold Coast Theme Parks, 30 minutes to the Brisbane Airport, 10 minutes to the ANZ stadium, 15 minutes to the Chandler Swimming Centre and 5 minutes to Westfield Garden City and Sunnybank Shopping Centres. We offer 60 room types, 21 which are 2 bedroom self contained town houses andd apartments which sleep up to 4 people. All rooms offer a minimum of coffee & tea making facilities plus, telephone, hair dryer, air conditioning, TV, Foxtel, ironing equipment and more. All rooms are non-smoking rooms with the town houses offering a secluded private courtyard which are smoking zones for guests staying in the town house. Across the road is a 7 day a week shopping centre. The Motel is next to the Brisbane bus service which travels to the Brisbane City and South Bank every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing