We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
The Point Brisbane Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ibis Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
47
63
27
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
63
27
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadsmall shoppingbedroom townhouseroad noiseroom was cleanbus stopgarden city shopping centrefoxtel channelslovely poolvending machinesuited our needsclose to shopseasy accesswonderful staygood sizepublic transportwould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

There are far better priced and quality places much closer to the city. We chose this place for location to our needs today but for goodness sake, it's in the suburbs. $170 for a budget family room. Then they tell me for $300 we have a new 2 bedroom apartment! $300 !! It's Sunnybank not surfers paradise
The room had a cracked PowerPoint a shower 1500mm high . Toilet paper like sandpaper . Breakfast. 2 pancakes smaller than a piece of toast for $11.50 you must be joking ??? one tiny croisant for $4.50 Staff however were excellent .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boracaybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Tony,

My team and are disappointed you didn’t enjoy your stay. The room you chose and booked via Wotif is a Budget Kitchenette Family room and the room rate is $159 per night for up to 4 guests. You incorrectly state the rate was $170 per night.

It is not clear as to why you would compare Sunnybank to Surfers Paradise, the Motel is located in Eight Mile Plains. Sunnybank, Mount Gravatt and Eight Mile Plains are a busy and growing commercial precinct with many motels and hotels in the area to meet the high demand for accommodation. You make mention of a $300 room which is 1 of our 60 rooms offered to meet the various accommodation requirements of our guests. The Executive 2 Bedroom Apartment is fully self-contained and boasts 42 inch and 32 inch flat screen TVs in every room and the $299 per night rate is inclusive of 5 guests which equates to $60 per person. It is ideal for families or groups and we have received excellent feedback from guests who have chosen to stay in the apartment. We also offer other room types such as the Standard Room with rates starting at $110 per night for 2 guests.

We have not received a complaint about our toilet paper before and it is a brand that is widely used in the accommodation industry. In regards to breakfast, we cook to order and all meals are delivered by staff to the guest’s room and where the prices are reasonable considering the home cooking style and personalised service involved.

We will address the cracked powerpoint and thank you for acknowledging the excellent service of our staff.

Kind Regards,
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Was fortunate enough to have this motel respond to my online enquiry out of many... They were one of two to respond out of five so customer service means a lot to them obviously! Their service also extended into our telephone conversation, greeting upon arrival and overall stay. Mum and I were certainly happy with our room and service provided, no negatives! Even the busy road, staying on a corner unit near this was not a concern, rooms are very well sound proofed and provide all that is necessary for 1 or more nights. Thank you Paul and all staff, you made our not so happy visit to Brisbane much better and comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms gone through soft renovations and all are very clean and appealing. If you don't like stairs request a ground floor unit.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KajeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear KajeAustralia,

My team and I are delighted you and your Mum enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in happier times.

Guests can book or inquire with us via email, our website or can call us on our free 1800 639 298 number. Our dedicated staff will respond promptly to enquiries received, 7 days a week.

Thank you for the tip about requesting a ground floor room. We offer rooms on the ground and first floor and encourage guests to advise us of any requirements at the time of making the booking so we can ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We needed budget-friendly overnight accomodation in the area, and this property adequately suited our needs. The motel is clearly an older building, but is neat and tidy, and our room - an Executive Motel Room, was clean and comfortable with simple yet tasteful decor. The queen bed was possibly one of the comfiest we've come across in a motel!
If you're looking for tranquility, this is not the property for you - you can expect road noise, and will hear the comings and goings of other guests.
We have no hesitations recommending this property based on its convenient location, proximity to facilities (restaurants etc) and comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Syadiloh.

It sounds like you and your family had a great nights sleep when staying at the BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments. We have heavily invested in buying luxurious beds to ensure our guests enjoy a good nights sleep.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed to nights and it was a comfortable stop. Service was good. Room was comfortable and location for our drive was very important. We needed a room on the fist level and the hotel people were very helpful in making it possible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Received a great welcome from a very helpful reception lady. Got put in this for 2 nights owing to a screw up with a booking during the cricket in November 2013 so difficult to judge its value for money as all the prices were inflated artificially. It is a bit far from town but if you're not looking for a late night out in brisbane it's ok because it's right on a bus stop (efficient buses) which run until 11pm. Standard motel facilities but decent standard. I'd be happy paying approx £50-70 for this place

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews