We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50/50”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Ranked #86 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“50/50”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for 5 nights. The room itself was satisfactory for a budget room. The cleanliness of the room was dismal. The oven top doesn't look sanitary, the ignition switch didn't work and every dish we used had to be re washed because someone had put them away wet. The room could benefit from a chopping board. I was very offended when I asked for more sachets of coffee was given them and told that I would have to buy coffee from the shop across the road in future as it was only complimentary on arrival!!!!! I won't be staying here again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    58
    25
    16
    7
See reviews for
38
39
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a very positive experience at Best Western Sunnybank Star. We needed overnight accommodation near the airport as we were flying in from Johannesburg and going on to Bluesfest the next day. We made the booking while travelling in Africa with limited access to wifi but the managers were so helpful in their email correspondence that turned out to be a much easier process than we expected.
The room was large, clean and airy - we had a very comfortable night. We plan to stay there again next time we're in Brisbane. The location is excellent - so easy to get to from the airport while still having convenient shops nearby.
In the mist of our jetlag we left a phone charger behind which the manager offered to post back to us. Great service! We'll definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I found the managers very friendly and helpful, rooms were great, bed comfortable, well appointed and quiet, breakfast was on time and worth it. Very happy to stay there again. Close and handy to shopping centres.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Morna,

Thank you for your response and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments. The Motel has just completed a refurbishment program including new bedding, pool furniture as well as upgrading our free WIFI network.

We are just 3 kms from the expanding Westfield Garden City and guests can travel to the centre by catching the 150 bus which stops at the Motel every 15 minutes. Guests can also enjoy the gourmet delights across the road from the Motel at the Eight Mile Plains Shopping Centre or dine in at Michael's Oriental Restaurant which is located next door to the motel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the motel.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

High level of service stands out for this motel, managers who take an interest, remember your name and seem to enjoy what they do. The room was basic and clean, my room had tiles throughout and my floor felt damp from condensation in humid weather, but the same tiles in the shower were dangerously slippery. It was a two night work trip and some colleagues in other rooms at same place didnt notice the tile issues in their rooms. Local pizza place was in the room compendium and dinner was delivered on first night, then second night we went to the adjoining asian restaurant "Michaels", a little pricey but magnificent! Breakfast selection was quite good, although they took me by surprise to have an outside delivery hatch open up and my tray sliding into the room. The motel is just a few km's along from Qld Technology Park so the location was very handy for our conference, but the busy intersection at the motel location was fairly noisy during the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We employ staff who enjoy engaging with our guests and are committed to providing guests with friendly service.

The motel is conveniently located near the Brisbane Technology Park, just 800 metres to the front gate and makes for a leisurely walk or a quick taxi ride.

Our home style cooked breakfasts are delivered to each room via the Breakfast Hutch to enable guests to enjoy a quasi “breakfast in bed” service.

Although the Standard rooms are located roadside, there is a solid concrete wall to muffle sounds but for an extra $10 per night, we also offer rooms such as the Executive room type which are not roadside.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will come back and stay again.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

There are far better priced and quality places much closer to the city. We chose this place for location to our needs today but for goodness sake, it's in the suburbs. $170 for a budget family room. Then they tell me for $300 we have a new 2 bedroom apartment! $300 !! It's Sunnybank not surfers paradise
The room had a cracked PowerPoint a shower 1500mm high . Toilet paper like sandpaper . Breakfast. 2 pancakes smaller than a piece of toast for $11.50 you must be joking ??? one tiny croisant for $4.50 Staff however were excellent .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boracaybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Tony,

My team and are disappointed you didn’t enjoy your stay. The room you chose and booked via Wotif is a Budget Kitchenette Family room and the room rate is $159 per night for up to 4 guests. You incorrectly state the rate was $170 per night.

It is not clear as to why you would compare Sunnybank to Surfers Paradise, the Motel is located in Eight Mile Plains. Sunnybank, Mount Gravatt and Eight Mile Plains are a busy and growing commercial precinct with many motels and hotels in the area to meet the high demand for accommodation. You make mention of a $300 room which is 1 of our 60 rooms offered to meet the various accommodation requirements of our guests. The Executive 2 Bedroom Apartment is fully self-contained and boasts 42 inch and 32 inch flat screen TVs in every room and the $299 per night rate is inclusive of 5 guests which equates to $60 per person. It is ideal for families or groups and we have received excellent feedback from guests who have chosen to stay in the apartment. We also offer other room types such as the Standard Room with rates starting at $110 per night for 2 guests.

We have not received a complaint about our toilet paper before and it is a brand that is widely used in the accommodation industry. In regards to breakfast, we cook to order and all meals are delivered by staff to the guest’s room and where the prices are reasonable considering the home cooking style and personalised service involved.

We will address the cracked powerpoint and thank you for acknowledging the excellent service of our staff.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Was fortunate enough to have this motel respond to my online enquiry out of many... They were one of two to respond out of five so customer service means a lot to them obviously! Their service also extended into our telephone conversation, greeting upon arrival and overall stay. Mum and I were certainly happy with our room and service provided, no negatives! Even the busy road, staying on a corner unit near this was not a concern, rooms are very well sound proofed and provide all that is necessary for 1 or more nights. Thank you Paul and all staff, you made our not so happy visit to Brisbane much better and comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms gone through soft renovations and all are very clean and appealing. If you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KajeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear KajeAustralia,

My team and I are delighted you and your Mum enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in happier times.

Guests can book or inquire with us via email, our website or can call us on our free 1800 639 298 number. Our dedicated staff will respond promptly to enquiries received, 7 days a week.

Thank you for the tip about requesting a ground floor room. We offer rooms on the ground and first floor and encourage guests to advise us of any requirements at the time of making the booking so we can ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We needed budget-friendly overnight accomodation in the area, and this property adequately suited our needs. The motel is clearly an older building, but is neat and tidy, and our room - an Executive Motel Room, was clean and comfortable with simple yet tasteful decor. The queen bed was possibly one of the comfiest we've come across in a motel!
If you're looking for tranquility, this is not the property for you - you can expect road noise, and will hear the comings and goings of other guests.
We have no hesitations recommending this property based on its convenient location, proximity to facilities (restaurants etc) and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Syadiloh.

It sounds like you and your family had a great nights sleep when staying at the BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments. We have heavily invested in buying luxurious beds to ensure our guests enjoy a good nights sleep.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#65 of 159 in Brisbane
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Rocklea International Motel
Rocklea International Motel
#81 of 159 in Brisbane
140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Salisbury Hotel
Salisbury Hotel
#136 of 159 in Brisbane
13 reviews
4.8 mi away
Springwood Motor Inn
Springwood Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Springwood
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel

Property: Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Address: 223 Padstow Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4113, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wifi (unlimited download). FREE Foxtel. FREE Parking. Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments is ideally situated to offer the corporate and leisure traveller a convenient location in modern and value for money accommodation. Just 2 minutes from the M1 and Gateway freeways this is the perfect base to explore all Brisbane has to offer and the fabulous attractions of the Gold Coast. The Motel is 30 minutes to the Gold Coast Theme Parks, 30 minutes to the Brisbane Airport, 10 minutes to the ANZ stadium, 15 minutes to the Chandler Swimming Centre and 5 minutes to Westfield Garden City and Sunnybank Shopping Centres. We offer 60 room types, 21 which are 2 bedroom self contained town houses andd apartments which sleep up to 4 people. All rooms offer a minimum of coffee & tea making facilities plus, telephone, hair dryer, air conditioning, TV, Foxtel, ironing equipment and more. All rooms are non-smoking rooms with the town houses offering a secluded private courtyard which are smoking zones for guests staying in the town house. Across the road is a 7 day a week shopping centre. The Motel is next to the Brisbane bus service which travels to the Brisbane City and South Bank every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing