We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Salisbury Hotel(Brisbane)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moorooka Motel(Brisbane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Carindale(Brisbane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
47
63
27
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
63
27
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadsmall shoppingbedroom townhouseroad noiseroom was cleanbus stopgarden city shopping centrefoxtel channelslovely poolvending machinesuited our needsclose to shopseasy accesswonderful staygood sizepublic transportwould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed two nights in a two-storey apartment styled room. When we arrived the people on the front desk were very friendly, and helpful, but when we got to our room things went downhill.
Firstly, it smelled musty and dank. And it was dirty. Fingerprints over everything. Dirty hand marks on doors, walls. A nice handprint right above the toilet (which sill had brown scum in the S-bend from what looks like last year)! The fridge had marks on the shelves from the bottles the last people stored in it, and breadcrumbs, and grated cheese in the bottom of it. All of the dishes and utensils were poorly washed, and the frypan had grease all over it. Even the handle!!! The cutting board was stained and still had some old food remains on it that came right off with a proper wash (fancy that!). The tiled floor was sticky, and both the couches were full of food crumbs (my wife had to vacuum it up before we let our kids use them). The bathroom sink had sludge around the taps. And the carpets in the kids room were stained, and just nasty. Cigarette buts littered the outside courtyard, and the son found an old butt on the floor inside.
The cupboards were pretty much on their last legs, with the ones in the vanity literally falling apart.

Cheap utensils (the tongs were like tin foil), and the sharp knife wouldn't even cut bread.

The water was hot, the sheets were clean, the beds fairly comfortable, though probably have had many, many people lying on them if the rest of the place was anything to go by.

We wouldn't stay there again, unless we had no alternative.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewSO3651HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charise M, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your feedback about BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel and Apartments.

We thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff.

My team and I work hard to provide a high standard of service to all our guests during their stay. We were disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not pleasant.

If we receive any complaints from guests, we will investigate and resolve this matter immediately unfortunately this matter was not brought to our attention for the duration of your stay. Our reception hours are 7:00am-9:00pm and after-hours caretakers on site 7 days a week. Here at BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel and Apartments we pride ourselves on ensuring that all guests have a lovely stay with us.

Lastly, we appericate your time and feedback.

Kind Regards,
Charise Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was a great place to stay and definitely value for money. Easy to get to the City or travel to the Gold Coast. So much on offer, bus stop just outside the gate, short bus ride to the nearest train station or shopping centre. Convenient place with eateries and grocery shop across the main road. I travelled alone on this occasion but it would be a perfect place to stay at with my young family. If you hire a car there is free parking. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TAMAINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked online direct with the Motel via Hotels Combined and obtained a better rate than on offer from other booking sites. The Motel is well located with several shopping centers withing a 5 kilometre radius and also a restaurant adjacent and also bakery, fruit market, coffee shop and other convenience stores across the road. I stayed two nights due to a family member being admitted to the Queen Elizabeth II Hospital and the Motel is only 5.5 kilometres from the hospital.

The facilities are well presented, roomy and there is a pool. Big bonus is free WiFi connection for guests during their stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vzrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Always find the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Room always clean and tidy and the location just could not be better. Right next to Michaels Oriental restaurant - a great place to enjoy Asian food and they even do take-away so you can enjoy it in your room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DybCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very comfortable beds. Great size bathroom. Road noise was minimal. Great cafe across the road :) Close to Logan hyperdome with good shopping and not a bad location to most things. Rooms are clean and have everything you need we stayed 4 nights and it was perfect!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews