We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE - CHOOSE SOMEWHERE ELSE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Ranked #91 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Stayed here on two separate nights while the rooms are clean and provide a comfortable enough stay the service leaves a lot do be desired. First I emailed with booking and never was contacted so I rang and made booking by phone and was promised a confirmation email, when I didn't receive it I rang again and was promised again in total I rang 3 times and as this was part of a larger trip I let it go. First night internet was not working but stay was fine, second night they "CHARGED US MORE" than booking amount however as I did not have confirmation email I could not prove how much they said, I believe this is a scheme they manage, not to send you confirmation email so they can later charge you whatever they want and since they have your credit card details there is very little you can do.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienJKelly, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Traveller1069,

Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to ensure our guests leave happy, however in this instance we have clearly not met your expectations.

Firstly, please allow me to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with our handling of your reservation. This is certainly not to the standards to which we strive. It is our policy, when asked, to provide a written confirmation of our guests reservations including tariffs and cancellation requirements via email at the time of booking. However, on this occasion it has clearly been overlooked. It is certainly not our intent to not send this confirmation through, as indicated in your feedback.

We appreciate you taking the time in bringing this issue to our attention, and I would like to assure you this is not to the standards of which we strive and we have taken your feedback on board to ensure a repeat of your experience is not forthcoming .

Kind Regards,

Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2010

stayed here because cricket tournament was going on in brisbane and hotel rates closer in were very very expensive. hotel is typical of 2 star accommodation. bath needs updating. minimal decor. well furnished with dishes, coffee maker, essentials. clean. there is considerable road construction going on just outside hotel. noisy first thing in morning and late in evening. all people at hotel very helpful

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienJKelly, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Hallemu,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your time taken to provide us with your thoughts is very much appreciated.

After quite a period of time, the road works being undertaken around the property has finally ended. Our guests are now able to enjoy a much quieter sleep in or an early night.

We are very sorry that this impacted your otherwise good stay, and we would look forward to welcoming you back now that these road works are finished.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Kind Regards,

Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at Sunnybank Star Motel when taking my ill father to Brisbane to see a doctor. Despite them being pretty full, with lots of guests in and out, our room was actually quiet. The staff was excellent, very attentive and went beyond the call of duty to make sure my father didn't have to wait long for anything.

We had to depart earlier than expected, but the change of booking was handled with no fuss and very professionaly.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Average motel, room had an average cleaning standard, bed was very comfortable. Located on very busy intersection and traffic noise was substantial and started very early in the morning. Intersection and part of the hotel perimeter currently under construction, noisy truck on premises at 6.30am and jackhammer at 6.45am. Would give this place a miss for the next couple of months until the workers are finised.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamerweaver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Friendly staff and very helpful. Clean and within walking distance to markets. One can buy any foods needed there and eat in room.
Pool is small and unheated. Located on busy intersection the noise is not heard in rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ravingcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
0.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#74 of 169 in Brisbane
99 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Waterford
Econo Lodge Waterford
#1 of 1 in Waterford
42 reviews
6.8 mi away
Johnson Road Motel
Johnson Road Motel
#1 of 2 in Hillcrest
142 reviews
4.8 mi away
Springwood Motor Inn
Springwood Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Springwood
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel

Address: 223 Padstow Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4113, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £57 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wifi (unlimited download). FREE Foxtel. FREE Parking. Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments is ideally situated to offer the corporate and leisure traveller a convenient location in modern and value for money accommodation. Just 2 minutes from the M1 and Gateway freeways this is the perfect base to explore all Brisbane has to offer and the fabulous attractions of the Gold Coast. The Motel is 30 minutes to the Gold Coast Theme Parks, 30 minutes to the Brisbane Airport, 10 minutes to the ANZ stadium, 15 minutes to the Chandler Swimming Centre and 5 minutes to Westfield Garden City and Sunnybank Shopping Centres. We offer 60 room types, 21 which are 2 bedroom self contained town houses andd apartments which sleep up to 4 people. All rooms offer a minimum of coffee & tea making facilities plus, telephone, hair dryer, air conditioning, TV, Foxtel, ironing equipment and more. All rooms are non-smoking rooms with the town houses offering a secluded private courtyard which are smoking zones for guests staying in the town house. Across the road is a 7 day a week shopping centre. The Motel is next to the Brisbane bus service which travels to the Brisbane City and South Bank every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing