We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traffic noise and smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brisbane International - Windsor
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Traffic noise and smell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Room probably was clean, but so smelly that it was hard to tell. Unpleasant smell maybe associated with unaired dark timber. Couldn't open up external door for airing as there was no security or fly screen. Way over priced for terrible road location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Windsor, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Marg K

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and I sincerely wish you had of advised us of your concerns during your stay so that we could have rectified the issues you have raised. Our reception is open 24 hours a day and available to assist guests with any concerns they may have.

Kind regards

Brent Christofferson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    159
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
112
101
46
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We recently stayed here and found the hotel very pleasant and comfortable as well as being good value and in a good location. The reception is actually a charming old house and it had a lovely feel to it as did the very comfortable, clean rooms. Free undercover parking, free continental breakfast and some free Internet were also great. The hotel is handy to the city and RBH and the staff are pleasant and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Windsor, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Glenda A

What a great review, thank you.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and the services we offer, especially the free parking and internet, something that is becoming scarce in many hotels these days.

I am especially pleased that our staff were pleasant and helpful, we pride ourselves on the quality of our staff as they are the first and last impression for any of our valued guests.

As you’ve stated our location is very handy especially to the city, Royal Brisbane Hospitals and many sporting venues around Brisbane, we hope to welcome you back to Brisbane International Windsor when next you are in Brisbane.

Kind regards

Brent Christofferson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Lovely hotel. Treey and surprisingly quiet for its location. Feels warm, private and spacey.
Was only there for 14 hours (8 of which were asleep!) but it was very comfortable and lovely. Only downside is the degree in IT needed to operate TVs (and I am pretty savvy), Other than that- highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmainite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Windsor, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Balmainite

Thank you for your lovely review, we get a lot of positive comments on our comfy beds and we’re glad you were able to get some great sleep.

I have noted your comments on the TV’s and we will investigate what we can do to make their operation easier for our guests.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Brent Christofferson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at the Brisbane International while visiting my Dad in the Royal Brisbane Hospital.
We found the rooms clean, neat & tidy with all the necessary things that you require. Great front office staff & dinner was nice in the restaurant.

Only one small hiccup room 109 is very close to the kitchen and you can hear every word that is said when the chefs were talking and some of the languauge was quite colourful. Also when they mop there flaws at night the sound of the mop bucket over the tiles is very annoying like a train going past.

Apart from that thank you very much for the stay.

Room Tip: 5 minute walk to the hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Windsor, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Tyrone70

Thank you for taking the time to review Brisbane International Windsor.

Your comments regarding the cleanliness and general upkeep of our facilities has been passed on to our Housekeeping department who work very hard to maintain our high standards and they appreciate your kind words.

We take all feedback seriously and we have taken your comments regarding the kitchen on board and have addressed it appropriately.

Should you require accommodation in Brisbane in the future we hope to welcome you back to Brisbane International Windsor.

Kind regards

Brent Christofferson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bundaberg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while attending the Royal Brisbane Hospital. We were pleasantly surprised to find that it was within walking distance to the hospital negating the need to find parking. The hotel itself was a real treat. The rooms were well appointed and very clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely hospitable and helpful. There is an excellent Italian restaurant at the hotel. The food was delicious and the helpings generous. There are buses at the door straight to the city. I will definitely be staying here the next time I go to Brisbane.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Windsor, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Authures

What a great review, thank you.

As you noted we are within walking distance from the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, or if this is not option, as you mentioned, we also have a bus stop right outside that is just a couple of minutes ride to the hospital.

We cater to many patients and families who require hospital care and we try very hard to create a home away from home experience and make our guests feel as comfortable as possible.

Your kind words about our staff have been passed on, as have your comments on the food in our Italian Restaurant Va Bene. We are making some changes to our menu in the very near future and adding pizzas to our mouth watering dishes.

Although we don’t wish for you to have to visit the hospital again any time soon we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Brent Christofferson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We found that hotel by accident and we did`nt expect such helpful staff there.We came in the midde of the night after knocking in dozens hotels in the area. Brian managed everything even veryfied if the taxi driver didn`t srew us. We felt great hospitality and lot of help from him.We spent 3 nights in this hotel. After spending 2 weeks on tour, driving from Sydney to Brisbane, this hotel without doubt was the best on this tour.I recommend this Hotel to everyone and hope you will have occasion to meet travelers best friend- Brian.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elfafikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Windsor, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Elfafikos

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Brisbane International Windsor, we’re so glad you found us even if by accident.

Your kind comments have been passed on to Brian, and the rest of our front office team. Our staff are our most important asset and we’re glad you received such wonderful customer service and great hospitality.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope that you may come back and visit us in the future,

Kind regards

Brent Christofferson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Great place to stay. Nice and Central to the City and airport. Staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help. Rooms are spacious, clean and tidy with comfortable beds. Onsite parking included free of charge

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50Debbs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Windsor, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear 50Debbs50

Thank you for you review.

We’re glad you found our location convenient, we are very close to the city but just far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle.

As well as our free onsite parking we hope that you were able to take advantage of our FREE internet access.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Brent Christofferson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
3.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
2.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
5.6 mi away
Brisbane International - Virginia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane International - Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane International - Windsor

Property: Brisbane International - Windsor
Address: Lutwyche Road & Bryden Street | Windsor, Brisbane, Queensland 4030, Australia (Formerly The Windsor International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisbane International - Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brisbane International - Windsor is a unique Hotel as it features a heritage listed building called "Skilmorlie" as its reception area. Situated minutes from the heart of Brisbane City, with easy access to transport, the Hotel is conveniently located to the Royal Brisbane Hospital, the Brisbane Exhibition grounds and many sporting venues. The Hotel has 60 accommodation rooms, two conference rooms, a boardroom, FREE WiFi, FREE undercover car parking, an authentic Italian restaurant, pool, sauna and much more. An entirely NON-SMOKING property! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane International - Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing