We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butts on the balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest River Park Central
Ranked #12 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Butts on the balcony”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were part of a 15 member team on a sponsored program and had to stay two weeks in this hotel which is badly in need of refurbishment. But the location was very good and handy for shops.

One could put up with faded rooms but hygiene and cleanliness - that another issue. Overall cleaning was very very perfunctory. We stepped on to the balcony to find cigarette butts in corners. Obviously the cleaning crew had never stepped in there.

We understood that cleaning would be done daily .but only for some rooms. Others suffered with the three days a week cleaning. Complaints to the staff did not work , one had the feeling they had all heard it all before.

Some of the staff ( the men mostly ) were very helpful. Not so the others. At least one lady should not be in the service sector at all as she does not know the meaning of the word.

Room Tip: If you do need a room and there is no other option do try to avoid the road side as the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmkaySriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    132
    32
    16
    13
See reviews for
112
38
9
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the quest after a return flight from nadi, We were looking forward to having a nice hot shower and climbing into comfortable and clean beds. We arrived after reception had closed so we had to buzz in and collect our keys via a mail box. We headed to the elevator, but there was some confusion, we thought we were on the wrong floor,but it turns out our room was situated next to the car park! Nothing bets waking up to the smell of petrol.
We switched on the lights and had a look at our surroundings, not too bad. We then went to the balcony to look at our street view. A construction site! Not happy. But we both understand its something they cannot help. I decided to have that shower I was looking forward to, but I couldn't find the towels, not in the bathroom or on the bed, maybe the wardrobe? Bingo. I proceed to the bathroom and step into the shower, MOULD black mould all over the tiles.
I go to set up the sofa lounge but there were no sheets, I had to throw the stained duvet on as a "sheet". I always check my aircons as I have fallen victim to dusty filters, and to no surprise my aircon was filled with dust! I'm appalled that I paid $240 for this room for one night. It was a disaster. Dirty room, and being woken up at 5 am by construction. I won't be booking with quest again when you can get a fantastic room at the oaks ect for the same price and the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bribri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here a little while ago as the location of the building was what we wanted and we have friends living in the building, we were amazed at the unfriendly and unprofessional behaviour of some reception staff, the one most unfriendly was an English middle aged woman.
The pool area is ugly and pool was very dirty, so was the gym, it could all do with a bit of a scrub and clean. One lift was not operational so there was only one lift working for the whole building that meant long waiting times as they also needed the lift for servicing the apartments. The noise from the building site opposite was horrendous and didn't even stop on the weekend. There are far better places to stay in the city so don't choose this one

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sk172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a weekend away in Brisbane in room 2201. Had requested a two bed apartment with river views as we were having pre dinner drinks with friends at the apartment before heading out. Was unable to confirm a river view apartment on booking but managed to secure one on check in. Room was spacious but the fixtures and fittings were tired and some in need of repair demonstrating poor maintenance. The view is not 180 degrees as per their website, it has a couple of building smack bang in the middle of it. Also we read other reviews about the noise but thought we would be ok on a Sunday morning, nope they were working from very early on the building site! On the positive the staff were friendly and helpful and the overall location was good. Other options would probably provide a better experience at a better rate.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MTWED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife was checking hotels around Brisbane for a surprise birthday treat for me and our 2 boys and she came across this apartment. We stayed in Room 305, a quiet 2 bedroom apartment which was on the same floor as the gym, sauna and swimming pool. We loved it as we didn’t have to travel far to get to the pool or for us to use the sauna and gym. The apartment was very spacious and modern. Although we only stayed for one night, we had a very enjoyable stay. This apartment was a short walk to the Queen St Mall, Botanic Gardens and Southbank.

Room Tip: We recommend Room 305 if you want to be close to the pool, sauna and gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We booked accommodation for the ashes in November, obviously a busy time. We booked months in advance at the quest and were called just the other day letting us know that the room we had booked has been sold, and they cannot help us. The event being a lot closer now accommodation in the city is getting more expensive and we had to rebook somewhere else at a much higher rate. Completely unprofessional.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After spending much time researching suitable 2 bedroom apartment for a work colleague and myself to share whilst in Brisbane for a course, I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the chosen accommodation for a one week stay. The apartment was roomy, exceptionally clean and immaculately furnished, and conviniently well positioned in the heart of the city of Brisbane - only a short walk to the central shopping district including the Queen Street Mallto, botanic gardens, Queensland University of Technology (QUT) and the SouthBank parklands.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 159 in Brisbane
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 159 in Brisbane
987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#8 of 159 in Brisbane
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 159 in Brisbane
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest River Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest River Park Central

Property: Quest River Park Central
Address: 120 Mary St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest River Park Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest River Park Central is now Under New Management and offers FREE WIFI and the perfect location for business and leisure travellers offering spacious and modern serviced apartments. Located in the heart of Brisbane CBD, Quest River Park Central is within walking distance to the iconic Queen Street Mall, Brisbane River, Southbank and the famous restaurant precinct on Eagle Street Pier. All apartments provide the comfort of air conditioning, direct dial telephones, internet access and Foxtel.We take great pride in offering you a personalised service, quality accommodation and making sure you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest River Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest River Park Central Hotel Brisbane
Quest River Park Central Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing