We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more but still good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #30 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expected more but still good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is a nice hotel. The bed is comfortable, room is a decent size and the staff are absolutely lovely. The location is great, although finding it and getting to the parking can be quite difficult if you aren't familiar with the area. The pool was alright, nothing to rave about, as was the gym and both were hard to find. The rooms aren't particularly well sound proofed from each other. It lacked the "x" factor that would make me want to stay there again, especially for the price they charge. Perhaps it was the bathroom which was adequate but not what I would expect from somewhere with so many stars. Perhaps it was the bog standard complimentary tea and coffee room offering. It may have been the extremely bland and boring room decor. It could be that despite the high price, you still have to pay for Wi Fi and in-room movies. Whatever the case, the Mantra on Southbank is a very nice hotel. But If you can afford to stay here, you can afford to stay somewhere that really pops.

Room Tip: I can't offer too much advice on choosing a room. I assume the standard varies across the standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinova B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JNordkamp, Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Cinova B,

Thanks for taking the time to comment about your recent trip to the island. I wanted to apologise that we have not quite met your expectations in a number of areas including - Lacking X Factor in the rooms - please know that we have been listening to feedback and have made some positive changes in this area; more are on the way.

We've also noted your comments regarding the gym area we are happy to let you know that we are just about to have new carpet laid and new Gym equipment installed very shortly.

Thank you for your feedback re: 'The staff are absolutely lovely' customer service is something that we take great pride in and we are chuffed that this was a standout for you.

Cinova B, thank you once again for your candid feedback, we encourage all feedback as it allows us to improve our product and ensure that we are always working to exceed our guests’ expectations.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
Executive Assistant Manager - Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    579
    191
    57
    28
See reviews for
233
449
60
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Booked two rooms - one for us, one for teanaged daughters. Got there very early (10am) and after a bit of confusion (they didn't have both rooms on the same booking) - they let us into our rooms then and there, which was great. Dumped our bags and went out to "shop" - Brisbane having much better shopping ops than Dunedin!!! Did the art gallery in the afternoon and had a fantastic dinner at a little french bistro up the block. The rooms were clean and decent value - but there is construction on the street and we had rooms overlooking the rail, rather than the river.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the river, not the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJKiwiMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JNordkamp, Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear NJKiwiMum,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us.

I am glad to hear that after a rocky start we were able to sort the confusion and have you checked in nice and early.

We are very lucky to have South Bank Parklands across the road with Gallery of Modern Art right on our door step. It sounds like that you might have eaten at PIAF which is a great little French inspired cafe.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope that it is not to cold in Dunedin at the moment.

Kind regards
Jeremy Nordkamp
Executive Assistant Manager - Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Adults weekend away from our wonderful little children was made all the better by the Mantra. Great rooms, nice views looking at the city and very central to all the Southbank restaurants and bars. NIce buffet breakfast in the restaurant. Stayed there over the weekend with some of our very best friends and had a fantastic time.
(Make sure you stay on the city side and not the railway side though!!!)

Thanks Mantra!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JNordkamp, Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us and that you will choose to stay with us in the future.

I will pass your feedback onto our Executive Chef regarding the great comments on the breakfast.

We will see you on your next adult’s weekend away from the kids and look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra South Bank - Brisbane.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Booked on line direct with hotel and paid a premium for one bed suite - the only option available. Arrived with rental car from airport, parked out the front had to summons concierge as front desk was preoccupied, had to request luggage be brought in. First room next to lift overlooking railway, requested a change. New room designed for disabled person with bathroom fitted out accordingly - with same outlook. Strike three better outlook towards the city for an extra $30 per night. Ordered room service breakfast next morning told long delay best to come to restaurant. Couldn't order al a carte only buffet $30 per person. Maid intruded into room both mornings. Very amateurish not sure it wants to be a hotel or serviced apartments. Overpriced and devoid of any charm.

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

While the rooms are large they are basic. My room overlooks the train line and so is noisy. Close to all the great cafes on South Bank

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millsy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Advantages: Contemporary hotel that would appeal to a lot of young travellers (I'm more into elegant decor); fantastic location - walk straight across the road to Southbank restaurants, museum, art gallery, theatres etc. High speed internet for work use, nice breakfast buffet - no waiting - ideal for getting to work appointments on time. Walking distance to city shops via bridge crossing.

Disadvantages: Found a big hair sitting on the cutlery in the cutlery drawer in my room, valet parking only - mandatory cost of $30, room rate wasn't cheap, but probably due to location. At breakfast, dirty plates were piled on our table and waitress kept ambling past just looking at them.

All in all, a pretty fuss free experience.

I stayed there with 10 other work colleagues.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Large bedrooms but those looking out the back look over railway line and bus road to university and conference centre.
Very comfortable, clean accommodation just a stone’s throw from the South Bank riverside with swimming lagoon, walkways, eateries and bars.
Breakfast was included with the room cost which provided a great start to the day.
For free unlimited wifi/computer access, the state library is only 5 minutes walk away.
Overall, the Mantra is in a great location, with spacious bedrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardfernbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#37 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Property: Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms have been stylishly designed to offer guests maximum comfort and feature air-conditioning, mini-bar, plunger coffee & tea making facilities, direct-dial ISDN telephones, voice-mail, broadband internet access (fees apply), LCD televisions and DVD player, in-house movies and personal in-room safes. All Studio rooms have a kitchenette and all apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and private balconies, some with city views. The property offers guests an array of professional services and facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, 24 hour concierge, 24 hour room service, on site Stone Restaurant & Bar, gym, pool and spa. Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Combined with the close proximity to Brisbane's major attractions, Mantra South Bank is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for comfort and convenience. **THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOTEL** Business Facilities Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Mantra South Bank's Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Every guest room has Broadband internet connection and secretarial support can be arranged. Fax and copying services are also available for an additional fee. Check In Instructions: (hours of operation) Check in 1400hrs Check out 1000hrs Check in is from 2pm, if you do arrive earlier we can store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10am. You will be required to leave either a credit card imprint or a $250 refundable security deposit along with photo ID on check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing