We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

From the moment we arrived it was service with a capital "S". The staff were friendly. We had booked only last minute and the hotel room we were expecting turned into a one bedroom apartment which was very roomy. It was on the 5th floor and overlooked the train tracks but surprisingly quiet. From the person who looked after the valet parking, receptionist, cleaners who we met in the lift, restaurant staff, they all offered excellent service and were made us feel welcome guests. We ate in the restaurant before attending a show and the meal also was beautiful. The rate we paid for the room also included a full buffet breakfast (an added bonus).
All up a fantastic weekend, and one I would like to repeat soon!

Room Tip: One bed apartment is quite roomy and we found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glamerous73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Glamerous73,

Thank you for your lovely and positive feedback about our team and our hotel. We love hearing from our guests and their experience staying with us and we're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back soon!

Until then, take care and happy travels!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,787 - 1,793 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in a 1 BR apartment while attending a convention. For the first 2 nights my wife and daughter joined me. The staff are very good and the location is excellent. Close to the BCC, but generally Southbank is a nice area to stay, with plenty of restaurants, TTD for kids, the arts precinct, and ferries close by.
The Mantra restaurant, bar etc are good, although I didn't pay $30 for the breakfast buffet. Most days we wandered a block away to 'Poppys" where $30 bought a nice breakfast for all three of us.
You need to understand that some of the cheaper rooms are cheaper for a reason. Our first room was directly above a railway line and it vibrated at least every 20 minutes as trains went by. The "city view" rooms are on higher floors facing the river, so we ended up paying for an upgrade and were very happy with the upgraded room. Not everyone will care so much about the noise I guess, but you should assume that if you get the cheapest price you may well be on low floor at the back with possible railway noise.

Room Tip: Higher floor and on the river side not above railway lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BozD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear BozD,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know your feedback about your stay with us. It's great to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us overall.

It's a shame you didn't try our breakfast buffet as it's pretty special and for $30 (only $25 if you pre-purchase on check-in) you get a vast array of hot and cold food and beverages to choose from - all in all by the time you buy that from a cafe you would be paying much more. Next time you stay with us try one of our Bed and Breakfast packages and enjoy a leisurely long breakfast with us.

Take care and thank you again.

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

If you have read any of my reviews you will have an idea that I am a light sleeper who lugs my high and firm pillow around the world, as these are almost impossible to find in any hotel. I was surprised and delighted with the Mantra Southbank having an unusually good sleep for a hotel. Nice beds, sheets and pillows.

The awkward bit was parking. I drove around the buildings block twice trying to find it, listening to my GPS before realizing it was right under my nose. There is no drive in/out entrance...they just use the street. It is a drop zone only.

If you want to use the hotel parking you have to use their Valet car park service and pay for it. We had two cars for our two bedroom unit making it quite expensive. having said that it was efficient on pick the cars up. Dropping them off meant we had to park around the back and buzz them to come and take the car. Quite a nuisance.....and of course there were no netter options around being Southbank!

The rest of the hotel was what you would expect for an expensive (Australian) hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SmithersinAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear SmithersinAU,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We think our beds, pillows and sheets are great too (as are our team) and we receive lots of good comments about them.

With regards to our parking we always ensure we're lower than the surrounding hotels in South Bank and the majority of hotels in the CBD and we park the car for you so we take the difficulty out of parking the car yourself and then lugging your luggage to reception. By parking at the front of our hotel at our drop off zone we can help unload your gear, take you into our hotel for your check-in and then park the car for you. We park all our guests cars so we have it down to a fine art. Next time you wish to stay with us, give us a call direct especially if you need parking for 2 cars and we can discuss the best deal for you.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at Southbank Mantra. The room was impeccably clean and of a good size. It is in a great location and the staff were efficient. It seems to have a bit of a problem deciding if it is a low key motel or quality apartment. It could easily be a top quality stay but the fridge was full of those tacky overpriced beers and chocolates and the bathroom didn't have a separate shower. The internet was extremely expensive as was the parking. I think we would would probably look for somewhere else next time we visit Brisbane only because of the parking, internet and expense. Also - the TVs were extremely tiny, and it didn't seem to have any digital channels? Maybe they want you to buy their expensive in-house movies.

Room Tip: Maybe check out Rydges next door for better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msdcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My current impression of the Mantra (South Bank) in Brisbane is rather disappointing.

You would believe that broadband internet access (as indicated on the website) comes with the room. No it does not. They charge 25$ per day for internet access.

WHEN DO HOTELS FINALLY REALIZE THAT BROADBAND INTERNET IS AS MUCH AN INFRASTRUCTURE TO BE PROVIDED AS A WATER TOILET - HOTELS HAVE REALIZED THAT THE LATTER IS AND DO NOT CHARGE FOR FLUSHING.

If you as an international traveller believe that the Mantra can provide adapters to fit your international plugs into the Australian sockets. Nope. The front desk refers you to the neighboring hotel Rydges where you can BUY an adapter.

NEXT TIME I'LL BOOK A ROOM THERE.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franz Josef K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Franz Josef K,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that we were not able to provide you with a better stay due to our Wi-Fi fees. Australia in general is lagging behind the rest of the world in regards to providing free internet however we don't think it will take too much longer for third party providers to supply hotels with a much better deal for themselves and their guests.

My apologies with regards to your experience with an international adaptor. I am concerned that we were unable to provide you with an international adaptor when you requested one as we have a very large supply of these for our guests and the option either to borrow one (with a deposit that is returned when you return the adaptor) or guests can buy an adaptor to keep for themselves.

Thanks again for your feedback and happy travels.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My Husband and I recently stayed at the Mantra in June 2012 for 5 nights. Great location situated along Brisbanes South Bank area. Great atmosphere for mixing with the locals while enjoying a fabulous dinner or afternoon drink. The hotel staff were fantastic. We arrived 7am and our rooom wasn't ready till 2pm. They looked after our bags and said they would call as soon as the room was ready. We took the opportunity to walk into the city about 15 minutes on foot.
The hotel is also in walking distant to the GABBA which was one of the reasons going to Brisbane to watch the footy. If you are a member to a club join the German Club across the road from GABBA friendly staff and a cold beer before the game. Also fab German food. Also if you go catch the river ferries to see the Brisbane sights.

Room Tip: These our self contained apartments which when I travel this is what I prefer. More spacious and lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knox-j-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Knox-j-s,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you found our hotel staff fantastic and you loved our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back again - maybe for another footy game at the GABBA!

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This would have to be the most souless, thoughtless hotel that I have ever stayed in. Sure as part of the transaction you get a room with a bed and door that locks, but otherwise the staff at Mantra lack any awareness that they are in the business of providing service/experience. It reeks of timeless/motionless (except for the passing trains)/uninspired Brisbane - mostly young, inexperienced, disengaged staff going about their routines without any thought for the customer. The good old, 'give us your money, now go get stuffed' blinkered vibe.

Imagine pulling into some remote roadside, plain brick motel with a flashing neon sign out front reading "Vacancy - $35 per night". In most cases, you would not expect much of anything by way of service or comity at such a place, would you? Well, do not let the inner-city location, the exorbitant nightly rates (many times more than $35) or oh-so-now corporate name ("Mantra") fool you. This place is nothing more than a provider of basic shelter from the elements - much like a roadside motel. Though, unlike a roadside motel, Mantra is probably even noiser given the rumbling trains that seem to pass at all hours of the night.

My advice - avoid Mantra mediocrity and go for a real brandname hotel and pay a bit or a lot more, or go downstream for shelter in a non-brandname hotel to get better value.

Room Tip: Before providing your credit card details, beg/plead with the receptionist for the bed type that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank piouscant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Piouscant,

Thank you for your feedback. It's a great shame that you did not enjoy your stay. We receive many positive guest comments via Trip Advisor, verbally and via our internal guest questionnaires so I am at a loss as to your feedback about our young, inexperienced staff amongst other points.

If you are available, please give me a call to discuss your feedback as I would welcome more information as to why you found your stay so underwhelming.

Kind regards
Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#36 of 170 in Brisbane
2,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#109 of 170 in Brisbane
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 170 in Brisbane
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 170 in Brisbane
1,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#56 of 170 in Brisbane
819 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £73 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing