We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position, some issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #32 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good position, some issues.”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a city view studio for three nights in March while attending a conference at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre (BCEC). Check in was smooth and efficient. However, on check in, my room had a couple of annoying maintenance issues (see below) which a good hotel should have identified and resolved through housekeeping and maintenance checks rather than by the guest. I have rated the hotel down based on this. To the hotels credit all issues were addressed promptly.

I was allocated room 607 on the sixth floor. Unfortunately, it was directly opposite two large airconditioning vents and the do not disturb/ make up room door hangers constantly flew off onto the floor. I had to wedge them under my door. The room was large, clean and modern.

The good:
Location - around the corner from BCEC, short walk to QPAC and the air train to Brisbane airport.
Excellent choice of local restaurants in the street the hotel is located on and the in front on the riverside.
Taxi rank at the front door.
Nice city and river view from 6th floor room.
Large room with a good sized desk.
Small kitchenette with well stocked mini bar, kettle, microwave etc.

The bad:
In room safe battery low on check in. Unable to set password on check in. Notified management and resolved next day.
Tv remote did not work on check in due to flat batteries. Contacted front desk and they came straight up and replaced it.
The king bed was very hard and was to singles joined together. As a result the bed edges running down the centre of the bed meant you had to stay to the sides. I left a note for housekeeping to resolve with a bed topper which they did the next day. After that it was fine.
The room smelt like burnt oil and there was a black sooty patch on the ceiling in front of the airconditioning outlet. There had been an attempt to clean it but it was still quite noticeable.
The hotel in room information mentions a spa located in the lobby of the hotel. When I called to book, reception told me it closed down six months earlier. You would think they would have updated the hotel information to reflect this.
5-10 minute wait to collect my stored luggage as the concierge was not at the counter and the front desk said they could not leave the desk unattended. Not much help when you have a flight to catch.

If I was attending another event at BCEC I would consider staying at the Mantra. However, based on this experience I might try Rydges which is directly across the road and backs onto the BCEC.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    688
    221
    67
    33
See reviews for
292
540
74
616
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This hotel is very well positioned for concerts at QPAC or the conservatorium, Southbank and its many restaurants, the art galleries and a walk over the bridge to the city. Valet parking made arrival quite effortless and the reception staff were professional and friendly. Unfortunately our room had a strong odour from the newly laid carpet, but we were promptly given another, also recently recarpeted and looking good. I think we enjoyed an upgrade moving to a small studio room on the front of the hotel with a perfect north aspect looking out on the well treed streetscape. I would recommend paying more for a front room as the first room at the back looked over the railway tracks and there is something inherently depressing about that kind of outlook. The rooms are modern and comfortable, not luxurious but pleasantly decorated and well serviced.

The building is modern and architecturally interesting with large, high ceilinged space for reception, bar and restaurant with plenty of marble finishes. The pool cantilevered above the footpath is a quirky touch. We were allowed to leave the car in the carpark a few extra hours after checkout, a nice touch. Overall, good value.

Room Tip: Just be aware that the building backs onto train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear GoldCoastDavid,

Thank you for your feedback and your commentary on the interesting architecture of our hotel - it is stylish and modern and sits perfectly within the arts district of South Bank.

We're very happy that you also noted some of our service touch points such as extending our guest parking to help you enjoy your stay even longer with little stress and we're pleased you found our hotel to be of good value.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here because it was near our office. If there's a next time I'll be looking for something else, even if it is farther away. My clothing felt damp...the stuff still in my suitcase that is, and the entire floor smelled musty. There were also no electrical outlets accessible near the bed which I always find really annoying as I use my phone as an alarm. I'd advise against staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHustad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear GHustad,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback and my apologies you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Unfortunately the Brisbane weather has been terrible over the last several weeks and everything is starting to feel damp everywhere. We have been advising our guests to keep their air-conditioning on and to not open their windows and this has stopped the feeling of dampness that you have mentioned.

I do hope you come back to stay with us again and hopefully next time Mother Nature takes it easy on Brisbane and lets the sun shine!

Please feel free to give me a call so that next time you do stay with us we can ensure everything is at its usual excellent standard.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed for the night to see a show at the Lyric Theatre. The position is perfect for this, and they have a pre theatre dinner menu as well. A short walk to the theatre and a nice stroll home. The room was a King room the bed was marvellous and the pillows were great. A nice view of the Southbank precinct and the goodies basket though we didn't eat any was lovely, so many nice little treats to indulge in if you choose to. The room was very spacious and the check in and out was no problem at all, in fact we were able to check in several hours early which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimkath61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Kimkath61,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our fantastic location!

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had a normal hotel room, not a studio or apartment, on the back of the hotel, so overlooking the rail lines and the 'bus chute'. Room is perfectly fine, comfy bed, excellent shower, desk is a bit small but does the job. Bit battered in places, but not much. Excellent spot near QPAC and the convention centre. close to a rivercat stop, there always seemed to be cabs waiting whenever we wanted one, and plenty of restaurants near by. Downside is the railway line. Whilst the window opens the noise from the trains and the buses will drown out the TV or talking on the phone. With the window closed you can hear the trains, but muted. A light sleeper may not be happy. One other odd thing: we were charged $3 for what seemed to be a fee to take the room service tray away!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front ... have no idea how noisy that may be on a weekend when the area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointyhead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
We had a normal hotel room, not a studio or apartment, on the back of the hotel, so overlooking the rail lines and the 'bus chute'. Room is perfectly fine, comfy bed, excellent shower, desk is a bit small but does the job. Bit battered in places, but not much. Excellent spot near QPAC and the convention centre. close to a rivercat stop, there always seemed to be cabs waiting whenever we wanted one, and plenty of restaurants near by. Downside is the railway line. Whilst the window opens the noise from the trains and the buses will drown out the TV or talking on the phone. With the window closed you can hear the trains, but muted. A light sleeper may not be happy. One other odd thing: we were charged $3 for what seemed to be a fee to take the room service tray away!

Dear Pointyhead_10,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Where do I start! Price - ok, so I get that you are in inner city Brisbane. But, as a hole the rooms are tiny (I would hate to large as I wouldn't fit in the bathroom to go to the toilet) , you are located right Next to the train line, so all you hear late at night and first thing is the train tracks (wouldn't have minded if I had've known, as I would have upgraded to a city view).

The moment arrived we were greeted by a rather rude young lady (probably the worst part of our stay). Not a great way to start your night. Then when asked if it was possible for a late check out, all we heard was 11 am. They weren't at capacity and she wasn't even willing to talk about options. Wouldn't have minded to have been offered a day room rate.

On checkout, bags were left at reception. I asked to borrow an umbrella unfortunately for me they were 'all out', so I returned later that afternoon absolutely drenched. There was no offer of a towel or a place to dry off, just left in the foyer with wet hair, wet clothes waiting (the same rude young lady at reception fobbed me off to the concierge).



  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripawayMikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear TripawayMikel,

Thank you for letting me know your feedback and I apologise you did not receive our usual friendly, warm and helpful standard of service which affected your entire stay with us.

We spend a great deal of time ensuring our guests are well looked after as you can see from our reviews however it seems on this occasion one of our team members let us all down.

If possible, can you please contact me so we can discuss further and I can get some further detail.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights beginning of February. We found the location very good as there was many restaurants within walking distance. It was about a 15 minute walk into the city centre. The room was very comfortable after a long day travelling out and about. Especially the kitchenette facilities in the room. On the downside the rooms haven't been maintained up to a great standard esp in the bathroom. However it didn't effect our stay and I would stay here again for its location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Kiwilass,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your stay with us recently. We agree we are in the best location in Brisbane and have a great product to back up our location.

We believe we have great rooms that are spacious and comfortable however just for your information we are in the process of completing a soft refurbishment of our guest rooms which will lift the overall look. Our restaurant is also about to undergo a makeover which we're very excited about.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#33 of 160 in Brisbane
2,052 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 160 in Brisbane
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#108 of 160 in Brisbane
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#54 of 160 in Brisbane
690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 160 in Brisbane
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Property: Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms have been stylishly designed to offer guests maximum comfort and feature air-conditioning, mini-bar, plunger coffee & tea making facilities, direct-dial ISDN telephones, voice-mail, broadband internet access (fees apply), LCD televisions and DVD player, in-house movies and personal in-room safes. All Studio rooms have a kitchenette and all apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and private balconies, some with city views. The property offers guests an array of professional services and facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, 24 hour concierge, 24 hour room service, on site Stone Restaurant & Bar, gym, pool and spa. Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Combined with the close proximity to Brisbane's major attractions, Mantra South Bank is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for comfort and convenience. **THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOTEL** Business Facilities Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Mantra South Bank's Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Every guest room has Broadband internet connection and secretarial support can be arranged. Fax and copying services are also available for an additional fee. Check In Instructions: (hours of operation) Check in 1400hrs Check out 1000hrs Check in is from 2pm, if you do arrive earlier we can store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10am. You will be required to leave either a credit card imprint or a $250 refundable security deposit along with photo ID on check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing