We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and avg quality. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #32 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location and avg quality. ”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I usually like to stay high end hotel but this time, I was very busy to book any hotel at South Bank and I had no idea where to stay. I knew the location of Mantra so I booked this one at last min. Only 14 hours before I actually checked in. I just booked the cheapest one coz only one night and I and my niece were going to spend most of our time at Sputh Bank park.

Great location to explore around South Bank! Bellboys are awesome! They were very friendly and were super fast whatever they do!! Tip them pls! :)
Front desk was ok...not that really friendly but not that mean either. Brestfast buffet wasnt that good but compare to what I paid to the room it was ok... I think. I and my niece (4yrs old) only had a toast with strawberries.

Overall I was very surprised with good quality but you still have to deal with noise problem. I can clearly hear what other guests were talking abt.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelydaytoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear lovelydaytoyou,

Thank you for posting a review on our hotel and fantastic team. Mantra South Bank is a great place to visit and stay!

Although our buffet breakfast didnt meet your expectations on this occasion, I'm glad you had the time to relax in our resturant and have a bite to eat before starting the day with your niece. I'm disappointed you could hear other guests during your stay, this is not a regular occurence as our rooms are well sound proofed.

We are very happy that you experienced such great service form our concierge on arival and throughout your stay with us. No request is too big or too small for them.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    647
    213
    65
    32
See reviews for
274
510
71
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was there for work on a conference at the BCC. The location was excellent! Close to South Bank and short walk in to town centre. 1-2 minute walk to BCC. The room was really overpriced though (around $260 AUD) which was ridiculous and they didn't even have free WIFI in the room or breakfast with that price. The staff were really friendly so I can't fault the staff at all, and with the price, this may be around the norm for that area?? But considering I've stayed at much nicer hotels for less, it was disappointing. My room was facing the rear of the building and near a train track which made it a bit noisy although I didn't notice it during the night (maybe they don't run then?). The room was very clean, tidy and decorated nicely in a neutral type of decor. There was a great little coffee stand/cafe across the road which I would recommend for your morning fix. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the train tracks. Although not sure if people facing the road side had mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellebee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear ellebee1233,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you expereinced such great service from our team and that the cleanliness and facilities in the room you booked met your expectations. Mantra South Bank is definitely a great place to stay when attending a conference at the Convention Centre.

We offer many differnet room types with different outlooks to suit all budgets. Our rates are very competitive with the same star rated hotels in Brisbane. All our rooms are double glazed so although you may see the train lines, the rooms are still very quiet.

Give us a call next time you're in town to see what special deals we have and so we can book you into a room with a beautiful view of the river and city!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferntree Gully
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed on business, found the staff friendly and very helpful. Stones has limited seating and gets a bit crowded, however the meals are certainly above average and compete with the many outstanding restaurants in the area. Room was clean and well serviced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajhFerntreeGully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear rajhFerntreeGully,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are truly pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you so well. Our rooms are very well looked after and maintained to ensure all our guests are happy and comfortable.

Stone restaurant has a great menu and a very relaxing atmosphere for all to enjoy. We are glad you took the time to experience a great meal and brilliant service.

See you again next time you're in South Bank!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We got this hotel on a $160.00 wotif deal for a studio apartment with breakfast, for these purposes the stay was fine.
If it was my own money, I wouldn't be over the moon - particularly at a normal rate of around $260 I believe.
Wifi and valet parking ($35) is on top of the expensive rooms.
The location is great, walking distance to GOMA and every restaurant in the area, however I think the only reason people would stay here is that it is cheaper than the one other chain hotel in the area.
Room is okay, bed is pretty average and area is big and nothing in it.
Shame that they aren't providing anything above and beyond.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royce C, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Dear Madison B,
I am disappointed to read your review, at Mantra we try to exceed our guest expectations and it appears on this occasion we have failed. I will be sure to use comments made in your review to address any issues in the hotel to ensure we improve for the future. I hope you may return to stay again soon.
Kind Regards,
Royce Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Parking, parking. They don't have much on site, it is common that they remove your vehicle and park elsewhere at Southbank. If you need constant access to your vehicle, your buggered.
We had ours on site as I had to get my husbands mobility scooter and oxygen bottles from it.
It was expensive at over $30 a night.
On our leaving, I found under the windscreen, a notice of towing. They were going to tow my vehicle and charge me for the fees as the porter had not logged my rego details properly. To say, I was disgusted, is a bit under the scale. I need access to my vehicle as per above, and spoke to many people about it over the weekend yo ensure they didn't move it off site. This was a lack of communication, and I did question them, that if in fact, it was towed away, who was responsible? I did get a reply, but no answers to any of my questions.
Other than that, ensure you book a city view otherwise you will end up amongst all the other high rise apartments, where it's dark, cold and noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNDAV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I stayed here for 5 days attending a conference just down the road at the conference centre. It is just a 5 min walk. Surrounded by restaurants and other amenities - found it terrific.

Room was fantastic - spacious, very clean, well-appointed. Room service was good too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AusPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Great location, but the room is not really worth the price tag. One bedroom apartment is small, they only give you four sachets of coffee, no complimentary biscuits. Good mini bar selection but my apartment had no charge list for those items.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#34 of 157 in Brisbane
1,998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#110 of 157 in Brisbane
28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
929 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Property: Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms have been stylishly designed to offer guests maximum comfort and feature air-conditioning, mini-bar, plunger coffee & tea making facilities, direct-dial ISDN telephones, voice-mail, broadband internet access (fees apply), LCD televisions and DVD player, in-house movies and personal in-room safes. All Studio rooms have a kitchenette and all apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and private balconies, some with city views. The property offers guests an array of professional services and facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, 24 hour concierge, 24 hour room service, on site Stone Restaurant & Bar, gym, pool and spa. Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Combined with the close proximity to Brisbane's major attractions, Mantra South Bank is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for comfort and convenience. **THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOTEL** Business Facilities Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Mantra South Bank's Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Every guest room has Broadband internet connection and secretarial support can be arranged. Fax and copying services are also available for an additional fee. Check In Instructions: (hours of operation) Check in 1400hrs Check out 1000hrs Check in is from 2pm, if you do arrive earlier we can store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10am. You will be required to leave either a credit card imprint or a $250 refundable security deposit along with photo ID on check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing