We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #31 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Stayed here for just one night. Great hotel in a great location, 10 minute walk from Queen St in City Centre, and in the middle of the South Bank area. The shops, pubs and restaurants here are great. Great price for a great hotel, would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    627
    207
    64
    31
See reviews for
268
497
66
542
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Gold Coast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

One of my previous reviews for inexpensive hotels in Brisbane has mentioned this property in regretful tones - the hotel had become too expensive for me to stay here any longer, despite my fondness for it.

So I was very pleased to find that lately their rates have really come down (maybe because of the fairly new hotel on the corner across from it), and since we were going to see a comedy show (French & Saunders) at South Bank, we thought we'd stay here again.

The room was nothing special...and we were admittedly a bit disappointed with the view (the rooms are always fairly standard, though nice and more than adequate, but the views usually are quite delightful). We weren't high enough to see over the buildings in front of us to the normal view of the South Bank parklands and river. Still, it was nice to have a balcony and a view at all.

I don't even remember check in, so obviously it went smoothly. lol.

We had lunch at one of the many VERY lovely and inviting cafes/restaurants along South Bank (in this case, Toscanis), and then had a wander through the Sunday parklands markets. I thoroughly enjoyed this.

We were very tired that afternoon and had a nap on the very comfortable bed, before choosing what restaurant to try that evening. I LOVE just being able to wander around, peruse the menus of the restaurants, and then choose my favourite. We chose a DELICIOUS Turkish restaurant (I can't remember its name, but it was seriously amazing), which was right at the end of the line/walk of restaurants and overlooked the parklands. Just beautiful.

Then we made our way over to see French & Saunders, which was a hilarious and fantastic show, before heading back "home" to our room again. We slept very well that night.

Everything about this hotel is nice. Just nice. Nothing spectacular. But it's quiet at night, neither too hot nor cold, the bed is comfy, the decor is nice, the bathroom is fine...

I am thinking of staying here again when we go to see Marianne Faithfull at the Tivoli in January. I do quite like this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevie_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

I spotted this hotel while I was staying in next door Rydges. The Mantra hotel looks very stylish, almost to the point of looking a bit cold. Lured by the lappool, which can be seen from the street, I booked two nights and had a great stay. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming.

Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. When we arrived by taxi, we were met by staff who helped us with our luggage (you can never take that for granted) and check-in was very smooth.

The room was beautiful, fresh and spotless. We were on the railwayside and yes, we would hear a train or two passing by, but that was a very dimmed sound, really no problem at all. Bathroom was ultra stylish, bed and linnen couldn't be better.

Location is unbeatable, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Brisbane. Right on beautiful South Bank, close to Queensland Museum, Art Galery, train station and only a 10 minutes walk from downtown.

The only let down was that there was no free internet. The internet that was available was expensive and practically useless because it was so slow, but that seemed to be a problem in all the Brisbane hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We reviewed about 10 hotels in Brisbane before we booked to stay here and have to say it was perfect. The location is right across the road from the Southbank main markets, cafes and the big draw card, the city beach. Its perfect. Forget using the pool that the Hotel had, just use the massive resort style lagoon across the road. We had two full days of fun.

Plus this, make sure you go to the Science Museum which is near the fieriest wheel. The Science Museum is soooo interactive we spent 2 hrs seeing all sorts of things and it cost $21 for a family of four. The fieriest wheel is around $40 and make sure you go on this just before sunset.

Make sure you request a room above level 6 that way you will get a view!!! And the rooms a dead quite.

The room service is cheep and very fresh food, this was something we both noticed. The Internet is too expensive but just go across the road as its 5 times less the price of the Hotel.

Over all we would HIGHLY recommend this place. Out kids were 5 and 3.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnymac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, MA USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This is an "apartment hotel" which means the rooms usually have a few extras including a washer or dryer in the singles and doubles. The rooms are fairly nice although the carpets are getting pretty worn. What you need to know is that the rooms on the back side are cheaper for a reason--the main train line runs under your windows. Very noisy. The front side is a little quieter although there's plenty of street noise from boyz on motorcycles showing off on the main date night street. The location is very good for tourism because you can walk out the door right into the river walk restaurants but its across the river from most business meetings. Staff is very helpful. Building is very industrial so don't expect any character. Wifi is $25 per day which is ridiculous.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I have stayed in this hotel before when it was the Saville South Bank and before I knew about Trip Advisor. When checking out accommodation for a recent trip to Brisbane I was pleased to see it rated near the top of the Brisbane hotels listed. This time we booked a City view studio over our five day stay. One of the benefits of this hotel is the convenient location to the Brisbane Airport Airtrain and the nearest station to the Mantra South Bank is South Brisbane. The check-in was efficient and the room we had was on the 7th floor with a great view over the Brisbane river. The room got the morning sun which would be good in Summertime. The room was very quiet, clean and tidy with a flat screen TV. There were a couple of chairs and a desk. The bathroom was well equipped with shampoo etc and a free room safe. There is a heated lap pool and spa pool with a good gym with a couple of sturdy treadmills. The hotel is located in Grey St opposite many restaurants located on the South Bank area including a good bakery and delicatessen -Poppies and a Turkish Restaurant -Ahmets. There was another restaurant Piafs which is highly rated on Trip Advisor but we could never get in because it was always booked. There is also a Chinese restaurant -Obsession as well as some Italian restaurants and large cinema complex. To get into the CBD is a five minute walk across a bridge which takes you to the Queen St mall in Brisbane. A better walk is over the Goodwill bridge which takes you into the Brisbane botanic gardens. The train also continues to the Gold Coast -about an hour trip. The Queensland Art Gallery is nearby with an exhibition of American Impressionists from the Met in New York on at present. July 2009. We booked direct with hotel as the rates were the same as Wotif.com, but we did notice the city view rooms went first; the cheaper rooms have a view over the suburbs of South Bribane inlcuding the railway line. The staff are all friendly and greet you when you come and go to/from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishkiwi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed in the Mantra Southbank as we were attending an event at the Convention Centre just around the corner. The rooms were immaculate, very comfortable and thoughfully designed. We had a great night's sleep, a lovely view and a great experience all round. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertha_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#35 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#115 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Property: Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms have been stylishly designed to offer guests maximum comfort and feature air-conditioning, mini-bar, plunger coffee & tea making facilities, direct-dial ISDN telephones, voice-mail, broadband internet access (fees apply), LCD televisions and DVD player, in-house movies and personal in-room safes. All Studio rooms have a kitchenette and all apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and private balconies, some with city views. The property offers guests an array of professional services and facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, 24 hour concierge, 24 hour room service, on site Stone Restaurant & Bar, gym, pool and spa. Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Combined with the close proximity to Brisbane's major attractions, Mantra South Bank is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for comfort and convenience. **THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOTEL** Business Facilities Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Mantra South Bank's Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Every guest room has Broadband internet connection and secretarial support can be arranged. Fax and copying services are also available for an additional fee. Check In Instructions: (hours of operation) Check in 1400hrs Check out 1000hrs Check in is from 2pm, if you do arrive earlier we can store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10am. You will be required to leave either a credit card imprint or a $250 refundable security deposit along with photo ID on check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing