We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #34 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We stayed at the Mantra South Bank for 5 nights at the beginning of March. It is very modern and in a great location close to everything that South Bank has to offer. Unfortunately, Queensland was experiencing its worse weather for 100 years and we only had one fine day for the duration of our trip.

Our room was located on level 3, at the front, so we didn't experience any train noise. The room was directly overlooking the lap pool and the main street, but the windows are double glazed so we weren't disturbed too much by traffic noise.

The room was spacious and modern but we were surprised at the lack of storage. The wardrobe was quite small and was so full of other items - ironing board, phone directories, safe, etc. that there was hardly any room to hang our clothes. In fact, my husband lived out of his suitcase for the duration of our stay!

The bathroom was nice and modern but again there was a lack of storage, with just a soap dish in the shower and nowhere to place shampoo and other products, apart from on the floor.

The buffet breakfast was nice, but we were quite surprised at the lack of service. My husband ordered poached eggs one morning, but it took 20 minutes for them to arrive at our table. We were also surprised that our plates weren't removed from the table after each course, considering that it was pretty quiet for the duration of our stay.

All that aside, this is a very nice hotel and close to everything. Reception staff were very efficient and friendly, and it was great to be greeted by a concierge holding an umbrella on our trips to and from our car.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed at Mantra South Bank overnight while on business. It's the second time I've stayed here, I love it for the location and it has a modern feel.

I had a 1 bed apartment which was very spacious, it had a kitchen and separate living room. Master bed room also had a TV and very nice quality bed, these beds are like sleeping on a cloud!

They have valet parking for $25 per night but you can get access to your car when you need it which is really handy for coming and going. Anywhere in the city you'll be up for a lot more.

There is a restaurant and a bar for a quick beer after a long day which is good, but you can easily spill across the road for a choice of about 30 restaurants at least.

Staff were very helpful, they even printed my boarding pass for me which was great. Very little you could point out as being negative about this hotel, however last time i stayed on the main road side of the hotel as apposed to the rear. There is a train line at the rear of the building, you can't really hear it, but as a tip i would suggest pick a room overlooking the street. Generally very quite though

Will definitely come back and would recommend it to all for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

On the south bank of the Brisbane River & close to numerous bars & restaurants including Turkish, Insian Italian etc etc. Decent rooms & pretty quite despite main railway line at the back of the hotel. A few minutes walk into the downtown area ot less on a river ferry. Good value for location.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bioSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

This was our second stop in Australia and a change of gear after 5 nights in Port Douglas.

We booked a studio apartment for 5 nights, which turned out to be spacious and nicely decorated. However, we feel it didn’t really qualify as an apartment with the random collection of utensils supplied. We had a toaster and kettle, but no cutlery and a couple of glasses and a mini bar. So it was more like a hotel than an apartment, which we didn’t mind but it’s worth noting as we were expecting more facilities.

The location is great for nightlife with an extensive collection of bars and restaurants right on your doorstep. South Bank has a great buzz with all the restaurants advertised as serving from 12.00 till late. Be advised, “late,” as it turns out is 9.30 PM and we were nearly caught out with this on our first night. We didn’t have a weekend in Brisbane so the restaurants might have stayed open a little later. We can thoroughly recommend Ahmets Turkish restaurant (http://www.ahmets.com/restaurant.html) literally over the road from the hotel. It was packed every night, which is always a fair sign of good food. We ate there twice and were very impressed. Lovely staff and a fun atmosphere!

The hotel is a 20/25 minute walk to the shopping centre of Brisbane, but it’s a pleasant walk along the river and over the bridge. You can always break it up by stopping off at the Brisbane Eye. I seem to remember a 12 minute ride costs about $15 AUD pp.

We arranged a tour to Australia Zoo through the hotel ($234 AUD for 2 people). This was handled quickly and efficiently by the Concierge (Cameron) and would have no hesitation in recommending this service.

We didn’t feel the bar in the hotel was that over priced and you’d be paying around $4 AUD for a large glass of beer and about $7 AUD for a glass of wine.

Towards the end of our holiday, we were going down to reception in the lift when in walked David Blunkett guided in by his partner. I didn’t get chance to ask if it was on expenses.

As I said I quite liked the hotel and location. As long as you are aware of a few things it’s a great place to stay if you’re in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinsNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Stayed here for just one night. Great hotel in a great location, 10 minute walk from Queen St in City Centre, and in the middle of the South Bank area. The shops, pubs and restaurants here are great. Great price for a great hotel, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

One of my previous reviews for inexpensive hotels in Brisbane has mentioned this property in regretful tones - the hotel had become too expensive for me to stay here any longer, despite my fondness for it.

So I was very pleased to find that lately their rates have really come down (maybe because of the fairly new hotel on the corner across from it), and since we were going to see a comedy show (French & Saunders) at South Bank, we thought we'd stay here again.

The room was nothing special...and we were admittedly a bit disappointed with the view (the rooms are always fairly standard, though nice and more than adequate, but the views usually are quite delightful). We weren't high enough to see over the buildings in front of us to the normal view of the South Bank parklands and river. Still, it was nice to have a balcony and a view at all.

I don't even remember check in, so obviously it went smoothly. lol.

We had lunch at one of the many VERY lovely and inviting cafes/restaurants along South Bank (in this case, Toscanis), and then had a wander through the Sunday parklands markets. I thoroughly enjoyed this.

We were very tired that afternoon and had a nap on the very comfortable bed, before choosing what restaurant to try that evening. I LOVE just being able to wander around, peruse the menus of the restaurants, and then choose my favourite. We chose a DELICIOUS Turkish restaurant (I can't remember its name, but it was seriously amazing), which was right at the end of the line/walk of restaurants and overlooked the parklands. Just beautiful.

Then we made our way over to see French & Saunders, which was a hilarious and fantastic show, before heading back "home" to our room again. We slept very well that night.

Everything about this hotel is nice. Just nice. Nothing spectacular. But it's quiet at night, neither too hot nor cold, the bed is comfy, the decor is nice, the bathroom is fine...

I am thinking of staying here again when we go to see Marianne Faithfull at the Tivoli in January. I do quite like this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevie_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

I spotted this hotel while I was staying in next door Rydges. The Mantra hotel looks very stylish, almost to the point of looking a bit cold. Lured by the lappool, which can be seen from the street, I booked two nights and had a great stay. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming.

Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. When we arrived by taxi, we were met by staff who helped us with our luggage (you can never take that for granted) and check-in was very smooth.

The room was beautiful, fresh and spotless. We were on the railwayside and yes, we would hear a train or two passing by, but that was a very dimmed sound, really no problem at all. Bathroom was ultra stylish, bed and linnen couldn't be better.

Location is unbeatable, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Brisbane. Right on beautiful South Bank, close to Queensland Museum, Art Galery, train station and only a 10 minutes walk from downtown.

The only let down was that there was no free internet. The internet that was available was expensive and practically useless because it was so slow, but that seemed to be a problem in all the Brisbane hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AccidentalTourist08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#36 of 169 in Brisbane
2,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#55 of 169 in Brisbane
772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 169 in Brisbane
2,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#114 of 169 in Brisbane
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £91 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing