We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”
Review of Snooze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Snooze Inn
Ranked #137 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
Reviewed 1 November 2008

I stayed in the Snooze Inn in March 2 years ago. I'm going back to Brisbane soon and doing my research properly this time. When I saw it coming up on TA it brought back the most miserable memories of my otherwise great 6 week holiday to Australia. Firstly, and most importantly to me anyway, is that it is in a very unsafe area. To get to the city centre we had to walk past so many drunks on benches, saw a lot of aggro going on and felt very vulnerable and wary all the time. They seem to gather on a particular street, with some very dingy looking pubs, gambling places and a sex shop or two...lovely (!). The Inn itself is a dump. The room we were given was so dark and absolutely tiny, plus it was beside the kitchen and everyone coming back from the pubs throughout the night into the early morning carried on the party outside our door. Twice someone tried to get into our room. The reason the room was so dark was explained when we opened the curtain. There was an alleyway and a brick wall right outside. Oh, and it smelled of dirt and damp and other smelly things! I couldn't wait to get out of the place. Go to a decent hostel and do yourself a big favour.

  • Liked — Getting out of it
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mareso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    32
    22
    15
    15
See reviews for
2
35
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

For $140 per night I would expect something better. The room was Tiny, dirty and it smelt. The hotel is in a very unsafe area, amenities are not as marketed. It should be marketed as a Back Packers. I fully do not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything - inface I checked out on the same day knowing I wouldn't get a refund and had to pay for the night at another hotel.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

I stayed at Aucheflower apartments managed by Snooze Inn. The room was definitely dirty. There was no weekly cleaning service as advertised for long stay. Total absence of assistance, Requests of assistance ignored. The place looks abandoned. I will definitely not recommend it. It is probably better two spend a few dollar more but to have the services you pay for.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — all
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank reviwerNBFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redaeme, Guest Relations Manager at Snooze Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2010
Dear former guest, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Snooze Inn. As the new owners, since early 2010, we would like to inform you that we have made various improvements to the motel since your time of visit. Not only has the quality of customer serviced increased, so has the standards of our room, and the competitiveness of our rates. We would encourage you to stay with us again, and experience these changes first-hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queanbeyan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

i've stayed here twice now, and i can say that i have not been disappointed. the staff are friendly and helpful. the rooms are bright and clean (yes, they are compact, but they are certainly comfortable). the bathrooms are tight, but clean. the communal kitchen and internet computers is a nice area to use. the doonas are the best part of staying here - they are so cuddly!! on the downside, if you go to bed early, you will probably hear everyone else coming home late, the corridors creak a little, and you can hear people talking as they pass.. but that's hardly a problem when you consider the price and the location - which is very close to brunswick street train station(half a block), and a short walk (about a block) from fortitude valley mall where they have markets on the weekends and plenty of cafes to try out! i will stay here everytime i go to brisbane!!!

  • Liked — the doona!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurerAmyAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2007

The photos on their website looked much better than the dinginess of this "hotel". It is more like a backpackers' standard. There was no internet cable or hair dryer in the room like advertised and only one computer available for common internet access. The window has about a foot gap before a high brick wall and that was about the view. The room was extremely small. The staff were very friendly, though.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

I stayed here for a week and can recommend it heartily. The room was clean and the staff, well the two girls I had dealings with at any rate, were great.

As for the seediness of surrounding area mentioned in the some reviews, it's true to a certain extent but I never had any problems. And Brunswick Street Mall is around the corner and it's one of the centre's for nightlife - a bit young for me perhaps at weekends! - and has some great restaurants. Brisbane's china town is close by and the city isn't too far away.

Given the wide swing in the reviews about the place here, I wasn't sure if I was making the right decision when I booked. I can say now that I did!

  • Liked — shower
  • Disliked — viewless
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DGF69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

I do not know what it is with this hotel and either 1* or 5* reviews. Its clean but very average and although not that expensive I would class it as a top end back packer place rather than a hotel. I would have expected more for my money from a hotel in a very mixed location, close to the CBD but with some rough elements.

  • Liked — Free internet
  • Disliked — location and style of accomodation
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank johndw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.9 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
#97 of 159 in Brisbane
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#106 of 159 in Brisbane
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Metropolitan Motor Inn
#101 of 159 in Brisbane
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#47 of 159 in Brisbane
773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snooze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooze Inn

Property: Snooze Inn
Address: 383 St Pauls Tce | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooze Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Snooze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snooze Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing