We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option, but not near public transport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Ranked #69 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Decent option, but not near public transport”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We went during the weekend of a big rugby match in Brisbane, and ended up putting up here due to a lack of budget accommodation options in the city. There seems to be a dearth of mid-tier options in the city. Wellington Apts is one of the few, good esp. if you drive.

We were allocated a spacious room at the back of the building which balcony oversees the tiny pool and has partial view of the city centre. It has a well-equipped kitchenette for those who want to cook. I wished they will replace the mama-bear bed (too soft) and its rusted electrical kettle. But overall it is a well-run and clean place, and decent value. The owners and reception desk are also very helpful and attentive. Note that the rooms are not maintained daily during stay, only when you request to.

Our main problem is with its proximity to public transport. There are restaurants and a good supermarket nearby. But sightseeing is troublesome if you don't feel like forking out A$5.20 per pax one-way to take a CityCat to zigzag into city on the river. The free CityHopper is quite a walk away (20min), and places of interest in Brisbane further. Bus service is almost non-existent.

But if proximity to the city is not an issue or if you are willing to fork out for taxi or ferry rides, Wellington Apartments is a well-run and decent value option in a quiet neighbourhood, esp. when prices at other places hike during busy traveller seasons.

Room Tip: Like others share, ask for a room at the back where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    73
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
74
11
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

We found our rooms to be clean and well arranged for our family needs. Great location. Close to the city, ferry, Gabba and Kangaroo Point. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We booked a table for breakfast and we were delighted with the five star breakfast served to us by welcoming staff who provided the many varieties requested by our family members. The underground car park was very convenient. We would certainly use these apartments on our next visit to Brisbane.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The location was excellent as we were close to good resturants and cafe's and only a cheap taxi ride away. The Gabba is just up the road which would be perfect if you were planning to attend a match. The hotel was tired and I thought the photos on the website were a bit misleading. It could do with a bit of a revamp. Staff were helpful and we really appreciated the free WiFi and parking but on the whole I was expecting more. Comfortable stay though.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

When we first entered the room i noticed that it hadnt been vacuumed properly and there was lint on the toilet seat from being wiped by a dusting cloth. The milk in the fridge was curdled. The use by date was for the day we checked in so i think that would have been a good indication to replace it.
The towels had stains on them which makes me question where they are laundered. I spilt water on the floor so sponged the wet patch with a towel and the amount of dirt that the towel absorbed was a good indication that the carpets were very dirty. The electric jug was not on a removeable base and had a short cord; the only plugs availble were under the table and on the other side of the room near the floor. So to make a coffee you would have to bend down to unplug the jug and walk to cupboard to make your drink. I booked a twin hotel room for one night. The room has an adjoining 1 bedroom apartment so the apartment can be configured as a two bedroom as well. Unfortunately the adjoining door was not soundproof, there was a 2 cm gap underneath the door and you could plainly hear what was being said in the adjoining room. The apartment doors also let in quite a bit of noise so we were hearing the neighboors through both doors. We awoke to the noise of the neighboors having breakfast and then the cleaners coming around. You wouldn't want to have a little sleep in.
On a positive note the check in process was quick and well organised and the staff were polite and friendly. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Dont book a hotel room as they have adjoining apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudiajg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at Wellington Apartment Hotel for a brief stay and were overcome with the enthusiasm of all staff. All staff members were "over friendly" but it worked, we have never stayed at an establishment where we felt so welcomed. The meals we consumed were of the highest standard both breakfast and dinner. I would honestly recommend a stay at Wellington Apartment Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Queen room stayed, with quite large room and kitchenette in it. Has a balcony (smokers take note). The bed was a bit average but the pillows were fantastic. Good 2 seater lounge to watch TV, but TV is way to small for the room. Great mini bar, inc fresh milk. They promoted there "excellent" restaurant but i found the 5 mains choices a bit light on and it took 2 glasses of red for my meal to be served. Other patrons had same issue. Pub across the road is quite lively and probably a better choice for a feed. The Shower will also be one of the worst you've ever had - due to our current drought conditions!

Room Tip: Definetly ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I've been traveling to and staying in Brisbane for over 30 years. And during that time I have stayed at quite a few hotels, motels and cabins. I first stayed at the Wellington a few years back on business and have stayed there several times since for both business and pleasure. If there is a better value place to stay in the heart of Brisbane then I've not heard of it.

The family owners of the Wellington go out of their way to make you feel part of the "Wellington" family and that's part of the charm of staying here. Everyone from the owners to the cleaners are friendly and helpful and it is obvious that the people working here enjoy what they do.

Needless to say the rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and with all modern facilities. Even though the Wellington is located on busy Wellington Street, the double windows on the front units reduce the traffic noise so as to be unnoticeable.

There is secure underground parking, a bar, intimate restaurant and all within 10 minutes by car or cab to the city. Or you can take a ferry, the terminal is close by.

The Wellington is what a boutique hotel should be without the outrageous prices. It is definitely our choice of accommodation when in Brisbane, for whatever reason, business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustOneThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.8 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#106 of 159 in Brisbane
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#100 of 159 in Brisbane
111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oaks Woolloongabba
Oaks Woolloongabba
#44 of 159 in Brisbane
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,063 reviews
1.5 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 159 in Brisbane
613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Apartment Hotel

Property: Wellington Apartment Hotel
Address: 192 Wellington Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellington Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellington Apartment Hotel is a self-rated 4 star Hotel located in Kangaroo Point, East Brisbane. With Public Transport just minutes away you can leave your car in our secure car park and explore our beautiful City easily. We even have our own tour we recommend using the City Cat. Traveling along the Brisbane River - what better way to take in the sights? No driving - just relaxing! Great for tourists, families and business travellers our spacious studios have all you need for a comfortable stay whether overnight, weekly or longer. Our Queen Studio Apartments offer a Queen Bed with optional use of a sofa bed, shower over bath, kitchenette with 2 stove cook-top, fridge, and microwave and all cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery. Our Hotel rooms offer King or Twin beds, tea and coffee making facilities and a walk-in shower. We also have 2 bedroom interconnecting rooms that can sleep up to 8 - perfect for families and groups. All apartments have free WiFi, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, fully stocked mini bar and access to guest laundry and the outdoor pool. Each room has reverse cycle air conditioning, ceiling fan and large sliding doors onto your own courtyard or balcony - some with beautiful views of the City (perfect for River fire and New Year). Relax in the Lounge Bar and dine in at our Restaurant 'Boots' for Breakfast and Dinner. Our freshly prepared meals will not disappoint! Our friendly, helpful staff are here for you and can't wait for you to make The Wellington Apartment Hotel your 'Home away from home' Call us direct for our best rates and package deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wellington Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing