We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Friendly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Ranked #74 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I was making an unplanned trip to Brisbane overnight and most of the city accommodation was full up (apart from very expensive suites!). I was able to get the last room or so at the Wellington and I was happy I did.

It is no stuffy 5 star resort hotel but a spacious comfortable room, kitchen, fridge and work desk and very friendly service from everyone you meet there. Nothing was too much trouble and the room service dinner was good quality also. A real bargain only a short taxi ride from the city (as well as other transport options) !

My only caution is that, as I got close to the last room, it was at the front and there was quite a bit of traffic noise. It didn't worry me, as the bed was comfortable and I will sleep through most things, but if some noise bothers you, you'll probably prefer one at the back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2010

We so enjoyed our time at this small boutique apartment hotel on the city fringe...
Our room was very comfortable, clean and well equiped with a fullsize fridge and ample utensils to prepare food, one could choose to dine on the patio...
We chose not to cook and enjoyed super breakfasts in the restaurant and excellent room service, Sarah makes the best coffee and always has a lovely smile.
Service overall is excellent, the property is well run and staff attitudes are great, we hope to stay again in the future.
Excellent value for money and free parking...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan_don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

A lowrise hotel in Brisbane is not easy to find. We were thrilled with all Wellington Apartment Hotel provided.
Our room was quiet, comfortable and convenient to the City Cat transport on the Brisbane River. We also enjoyed a view of the city skyline, swimming pool and nearby residences. The service from all staff was friendly and we were able to celebrate a special time for us with the wonderfully kind assistance from Paul & Maria. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open on Sunday night but we enjoyed a delicious light meal the following night. We would like to say thank you to everyone at the Wellington Apartment Hotel for making a special event so memorable!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We had to find accomadation on short notice for four people and we found this gem. Clean modern rooms, great staff, Fantastic breakfast dont go to neigbouring deli,s for breakfast. You wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the Wellington this year but the first time I have reviewed it. Thought I would do so in light of the previous report. Both times we have stayed in one of the many apartments at the rear where there is zero noise so a wise traveller would ask for such in advance. The first time we were on the 2nd floor and this time, the 1st floor. There are no screens on the doors but we slept with the doors open for the fresh air and had zero insect problems. If you want the room made up you simply hang the "please make up my Room now" tag on your doorknob. No, you cannot cook toast in your room but the Restaurant will cook it for you 'cheap as' and room service costs a measly $2. Dealing direct with the Hotel, I found they would beat any deal you were offered on similar accommodation nearby and was quite impressed with my discount. The staff are brilliant and I have no complaints at all. The secure car park has good sized spaces, the beds are huge and comfortable and the cleanliness is 'spot on'. I am prepared to forego cooking my own toast for the other benefits.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzyrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Most of the reviews I read for this hotel said that the staff were friendly. And that is certainly the case. People on the front desk were great. The accommodation was ok. The place was pretty clean and it is close to the citycat ferry which helps to get about. However, there a many warnings posted around the apartment about the perils of smoke and steam setting off the fire alarms which is a bit off-putting given that the point of me staying at the hotel was so that I could cook my own food. The alarms are so sensitive that toasters are not provided in the rooms so beware if you are a traveller who likes to just cook up a bit of toast for tea, a snack or brekkie. There are no flyscreens on the balcony door - didn't like that given the temperature and humidity: a bit of fresh air without mosquitoes would be nice! Blown light bulbs were not replaced during my stay and over the course of my 10 day stay the unit was not cleaned and towels replaced once. 2 small pots were provided and one deeper sort of electric frypan. This was ok for me but wondered how 2 or more people would go. And the telly is mounted near the ceiling so if you have neck pain, you won't appreciate the angle for a night on the couch. It is a bit noisy, too: wellington road is busy and the hotel is near a corner on to a major road into Brisbane city. Without double-glazed windows you hear the traffic. And finally, the thing that made me think 'it's the little things that count', when I went to complete the guest survey and found it completed! From some people who completed it in January! All in all I would say the accommodation was adequate but certainly not 4 star. Chances are for the price there is better about.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicsTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonBrisbane, Manager at Wellington Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Please allow me to apologise for your room not being serviced mid-stay. We have both a manual and computerised system to ensure housekeeping is done when expected by guests. We've not experienced your problem before and we wish you'd spoken to the friendly staff at reception so it could have been rectified immediately.
The fire alarms are for everyone's protection and the restaurant staff will happily toast your bread for you.
Many guests enjoy sleeping with wide-open doors insect-free even through summer but we are sorry your stay with us was not positive as we strive to make all our guests feel like they have a home-away-from-home. We try hard to ensure the little things we provide in our friendly helpful manner make a positive difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Paul and Maria made us very welcome. It would have to be the best service we have had and we have travel lots. Thanks Maria for make my stay and birthday special. Thank You again. Would recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariacraigieburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.8 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#117 of 169 in Brisbane
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
0.7 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#105 of 169 in Brisbane
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oaks Woolloongabba
Oaks Woolloongabba
#56 of 169 in Brisbane
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 169 in Brisbane
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Apartment Hotel

Address: 192 Wellington Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £60 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellington Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellington Apartment Hotel is a self-rated 4 star Hotel located in Kangaroo Point, East Brisbane. With Public Transport just minutes away you can leave your car in our secure car park and explore our beautiful City easily. We even have our own tour we recommend using the City Cat. Traveling along the Brisbane River - what better way to take in the sights? No driving - just relaxing! Great for tourists, families and business travellers our spacious studios have all you need for a comfortable stay whether overnight, weekly or longer. Our Queen Studio Apartments offer a Queen Bed with optional use of a sofa bed, shower over bath, kitchenette with 2 stove cook-top, fridge, and microwave and all cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery. Our Hotel rooms offer King or Twin beds, tea and coffee making facilities and a walk-in shower. We also have 2 bedroom interconnecting rooms that can sleep up to 8 - perfect for families and groups. All apartments have free WiFi, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, fully stocked mini bar and access to guest laundry and the outdoor pool. Each room has reverse cycle air conditioning, ceiling fan and large sliding doors onto your own courtyard or balcony - some with beautiful views of the City (perfect for River fire and New Year). Relax in the Lounge Bar and dine in at our Restaurant 'Boots' for Breakfast and Dinner. Our freshly prepared meals will not disappoint! Our friendly, helpful staff are here for you and can't wait for you to make The Wellington Apartment Hotel your 'Home away from home' Call us direct for our best rates and package deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wellington Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing