We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
Ranked #76 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We loved the location. It's near to Brunswick St and Fortitude Valley, where you can experience Brisbane night life and foods. Chinatown is there as well. The only thing we don't like about the room is the thin wall. We can hear the people walking outside our room so expect to be woken up when people starts to move in and out of the place in the morning. No free WiFi so a bit of inconvenient for us to plan our itinerary.

Room Tip: ask for room away from main entrance or busy walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    71
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
55
77
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I didnt think id find anywhere more peaceful then this place. They have managed to hide out the rest of the world very well and give the place a beautiful relaxed feeling. I cannot waait to go there again. The people were friendly and of all ages and nationalities. i stayed by myself in a double on the lower floor and too be honest preferred to stay down there most of the time not to say the upstairs wasnt beautiful. however if you go id request an upstairs bedroom if youvlike having lots of natural light.. Really close to all the clubbing hotspots and just down the road are some beautiful resteraunts and bars.
Its also handy having the 24 hour convenience store on the corner for a little midnight feasting!

only negative was it took about an hour to cook anything on the stove or in the often in the shared kitchen :/
All in all i loved staying there and will definately be going back there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overpackedagainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Excellent communication before, during and after visit. Airport bus stops right outside and good value. Clean and tidy. I don't normally stay at backpackers or rooms with shared facilities, but this was fine, good value and I'd stay here again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you'd prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balanced_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This place is fantastic! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. It's in a nice area and is easy to access Brisbane CBD. What more can you ask for? My partner and I only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed for weeks.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaches0016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Nice friendly place to stay. Good location for restaurants and walking the river esplanade. Easy stroll to the city. From the airport catch a Coachtrans bus door to door, will drop you off outside. I often stay here when in Brisbane on short stays.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stayed at Bowen Terrace twice during my visit to Australia. I spent my trip staying at hostels so to have a private room was sheer bliss. Admittedly, the property is older and the walls are literally paper thin. The first time I stayed there, I had a single room that was not on the street side of the property. I thought it was relatively noisy but it was much worse on the other side of the hall. For me, I was not looking for a hotel room and for the price I was more than willing to put up with it, especially in comparison to the price of a hotel. Each room has a fridge, extra pillow/sheets, kettle and fridge.

New Farm is a great place to be! It is literally a 5-10 minute bus ride into the city/close to two City Cat Ferry stops. It is a vibrant section of Brisbane with lots of little shops and boutiques. Plus, it's close to New Farm Park which is beautiful!

My only complaint is how expense the internet is! If you are looking to connect with friends/family while travelling, there are upload limits on the internet usage. Meaning, if you want to use Skype or upload photos to Facebook you will pay dearly for it! I highly suggest checking out the FREE internet access at the Brisbane Powerhouse (beside New Farm Park).

Overall, minus the internet Bowen Terrace is in a great location. It's close to all the things Brisbane has to offer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

In its price range Bowen terrace is great value, decent location, easy to get around, and friendly staff. However rooms do vary in quality, ranging from very nice to average. We have stayed here before and enjoyed it enough to come back. Maybe wont return a third time though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simmy_Halo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.8 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#106 of 159 in Brisbane
144 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
#97 of 159 in Brisbane
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Snooze Inn
Snooze Inn
#137 of 159 in Brisbane
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#47 of 159 in Brisbane
773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#72 of 159 in Brisbane
1,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen Terrace International Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen Terrace International Accommodation

Property: Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
Address: 365 Bowen Tce | New Farm, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen Terrace International Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bowen Terrace Accommodation provides affordable and friendly accommodation for travellers and visitors from all over the world. Family owned and operated, Bowen Terrace Accommodation will provide you with that "home away from home" feel in a welcoming and hospitable atmosphere. The style of the house is known as a 'Queenslander' and reflects unique Australian heritage. It features elevated structure with comfortable bedrooms off the long hallway, front and back veranda's, and traditional architecture that allows to experience a part of the typical Queensland lifestyle. When you're relaxing out on the back deck on a warm summer's evening, listening to the mangos drop from the tree onto the roof, you'll see just how laid-back this city can be. Yet you are just minutes from the city lights that illuminate the beautiful Brisbane skyline as well the vibrant Fortitude Valley entertainment area and a host of some of Brisbane's best cafes are along nearby Brunswick Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bowen Terrace International Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen Terrace International Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing