We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great apartment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macarthur Chambers Apartment Hotel
Ranked #16 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great apartment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I recently stayed here for 3 nights with 2 work colleagues for a conference not far away and it was a great experience and I am looking forward to staying there again. The location was perfect right at the start of the mall and handy to shopping, restaurants and transport. We had booked earlier and arrived on a Sunday afternoon and communication was excellent with a text message earlier in the day notifying us of the procedure to access our room which was a big 2 bedroom apartment with enough privacy for our group and very comfortable. The office staff were great and very helpful. We didn't have a car and found the access to public transport very simple. We bought food for breakfast in the shopping centre right next door and ate out at night in the mall or South bank which is a 10 min. enjoyable walk away with heaps of restaurant choices. Overall great stay and we all agreed we would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rose_dxrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macarthur201, General Manager at Macarthur Chambers Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank-you for your feedback, we are glad that our staff were able to offer you such an enjoyable stay, and that your visit to Brisbane went so smoothly, we look forward to welcoming you back to the South East again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    68
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
89
39
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have stayed here several times in the past Location is fantastic & I like the historic charm & beautiful rooms. The only problem this time was I had requested a balcony as we always have booked rooms with an outside area but it was not to be on our arrival, the reason given that more owners are occupying their properties so our yearly trip to Brisbane may have to be elsewhere next year.

Room Tip: If you want an outside balcony ask for it but you may not get it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 737Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I frequently stay in Brisbane at the Macarthur it's my home away from home! Shopping is directing at your front door, whether it's a supermarket, transport or restaurants that you're after, they are literally at the front door.
Upon entering the premises you'll be treated to a painless check in, as friendly as they come. I've stayed in quiet a few different hotels before I found the Macarthur, now nothing comes close.
You will want to come back time and time again, I've been doing it for over 7 years now. And not once have I had a bad experience.
If you are looking for an apartment that is well appointed, spacious and has reliable friendly staff then you really can't look further than Macarthur Chambers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DeltaSanjula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Booked online for a 2 night stay to catch up with my daughter working in the city. The location was wonderful for shopping etc as its adjacent to the city mall. Our 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious. Booking in is difficult if you are driving much easier if ou have a passenger in the car that can run in a do it while you drive around the block.
Next time I will ask for a refurbished apartment as the carpet in our apartment was worn and had stains in some areas but it wouldn't stop me from staying again.
The location again is just wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 835Margie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This lovely building with such history has great character. The two bedroom apartment is very roomy, nicely furnished with very modern facilities for self catering. The staff were very welcoming and helpful with the extra assistance we required and requested.
An excellent central location in the city, with underground parking if needed. Good value for money.

Room Tip: I prefer a room on a higher floor with balcony and city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kazflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The building itself is beautiful although there was renovations going on so part of the exterior was boarded up. The staff were very polite and attentive. The room was huge and had all the facilities to cook your own meals etc. Overall a great choice for a place to stay in Brisbane.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Isa, Qld
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I was very impressed by the apartment. My husband and two teenage children and I spent two nights in a two bedroom apartment. At the top of the mall it was a very central location. We arrived via taxi from the airport and the hotel is located around the corner from the taxi rank. The apartments are located above a Woolworths supermarket so supplies are easy to obtain for a longer stay. There are some good eateries within easy walking distance from the apartment. Very quiet apartment with a large selection of kitchen items if you wish to self cater. Located very well if your prime purpose is shopping. Families are well catered for although younger children may not have enough room to move around in. An ideal location for those liking a retreat with an old world ambiance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMtIsa_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.1 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macarthur Chambers Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macarthur Chambers Apartment Hotel

Property: Macarthur Chambers Apartment Hotel
Address: 201 Edward St | Cnr Queen & Edward, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macarthur Chambers Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the bustling streets of Brisbane City to an executive apartment in our heritage building that offers a home away from home that fuses traditional charm with modern comfort. With spacious, furnished and fully self-contained apartments in a stunning sandstone building, constructed between 1931 and 1934, MacArthur Chambers offers the perfect location to conduct business, enjoy a stage show, splurge on a weekend of shopping, attend a wedding or simply enjoy a relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macarthur Chambers Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Chambers Apartment Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing