We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, helpful and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Clayfield Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Airport Clayfield Motel
Ranked #75 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Value for money, helpful and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in Brisbane, prior to flying out. Clean room, all facilities as expected; good noise insulation from road, unfortunately not from our very noisy neighbours ..., but that is not something the motel could help. Very helpful and friendly front desk staff who provided us with a toaster, essential for a good breakfast! Car can stay over, while we are away, for a minimal charge and airport transfers are swift and not too expensive. Easy trip into the city with train station just across the road. All in all, would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameronfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi. Thank you very much for writing a review about our motel. Although we are not a 5 star motel/hotel we do try to make up for this by going out of our way to make sure your stay with us is enjoyable in any case. I am very glad that you found this when you stayed with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    66
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
43
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here twice, night before an international flight and a night on our arrival back.
After researching nearly every motel/ hotel in Brisbane close to the airport The Clayfield was as close to perfect for what we were looking for. What sealed the deal was, we didn't need two rooms, we could leave our car there for a very small fee, a shuttle/transfer could pick us up and return us back for $10...no where else came close to this.
We had the same family room for our family of five, huge spacious room with queen and 3 singles.
Eating out was within a short walk of the motel, huge variety of restaurants to suit everyone.
So if you want an easy trouble free start to your holiday you really can't go past the Airport Clayfield.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ellietia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to write a review about the establishment. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on trying to make your stay and your transit to and from the airport (which is the majority of our customers) as convenient and seemless as possible. The $10 shuttle bus (total price for up to 4 people) is certainly a huge plus for people especially families when they otherwise would have had to pay for a maxi-taxi which can be expensive. The numerous restaurants, take-aways, bottle shops etc (all within 100m) are also very convenient for people. We are glad to hear when people take advantage of the super convenient location. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here twice on our recent holidays (on our way to and from our destination). We travelled with 2 adults and 2 children (aged 14 and 11).

It's a constant annoyance of ours that many hotels and motels don't offer family rooms and instead expect you to buy two rooms. This certainly was NOT the case here. We got one of their family rooms (a different room each time we stayed). The room was quite large with a queen and three singles (and a folded cot in the corner). Even with that layout of beds (plus the table and chairs and lounge), the room didn't feel cramped and there was still more than enough space to move about. We found the room (which was located to the back of the motel) to be comfortable and well kept, with a good stock of tea and coffee etc. The room was quiet and were not disturbed by street noise (and I am usually a light sleeper).

The motel is over three levels so the luggage lift certainly came in handy.

The other item I should mention is that the motel has an arrangement with a local business to provide a shuttle bus to and from the airport. At the time of writing the cost was $10 for up to 4 people, which is great value considering the cost of a taxi into town. Admittedly this is not in the CBD (but you can get to the CBD by public transport fairly easily from here) but it is a good alternative if you are overnighting in Brisbane and don't want to stay at the hotels right at the airport (we investigated one of the hotels at the airport and found that it didn't provide a family room and two rooms was way to expensive).

The motel is close to (ie 2 minutes walk) several restaurants, fast food places and a 7-Eleven and is about 10 mins walk to Toombul shopping centre.

The only problem I could note, and this is not the first motel to do this, was that the motel expected guests to was their used cups and saucers but didn't provide any dishwashing implements (eg brush, tea towel, dishwashing liquid), but that's a minor concern.

One more note, front office staff are friendly and helpful (much more so than when we stayed there several years ago).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4Macks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to give such an in-depth review. I am sure this will assist other potential customers to work out whether our establishment and specifically our family rooms are what they are after. We do find that people are very impressed with size of our rooms but even moreso our family rooms. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks again.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great location for the airport, easy walk to plenty of eating spots. We had a family room, very spacious and clean. We were surprised at how little traffic noise we heard (weeknight stay). Didnt get to use the pool (had a storm!). Although we didnt use them, there were complimentary DVDs available from reception, and umbrellas which i thought was a great touch!

Will definitely stay there again when we next go to Brisbane.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahP239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our motel. We are pleased when we hear that people find our services and location to their requirements and exceed their expectations. We certainly think they are great but is wonderful to receive this feedback also. All the best with your next trip and we look forward to the next time you choose to stay with us. Kind Regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We booked the 3 interconnecting rooms for our group of 6 adults and 1 baby. The rooms interconnect off each other . Air conditioner is in the first room only which makes closing bedroom doors impossible. One tiny shower for all three rooms. I assumed 3 interconnecting rooms were full hotel rooms which open with a door to connect. Not the case here! overpriced at $280 per night. Would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a group or large family, check what you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 800Shaz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi. I am disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. You stayed in perhaps our most popular room. At $250 a night for sleeping 6 Adults/Children, most people comment that it is wonderful value. I do not agree with your 'deceiving description of room'. The information states that it is 3 interconnecting rooms with one shower and two toilets (which is what it is). It does not say that it is 3 separate motel rooms as you stated you had assumed it was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Good spot close to the airport with good value shuttle service (Alpha - only $10/room & also good service) Easy, helpful check in, nice big King room, no road noise at all even though on road side of building.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are glad to hear that you made good use of the $10 (in total for a group of up to 4 people) shuttle service. The guys from Alpha (Car Hire and Car Parking) that run the shuttle service are always very helpful and accommodating and we are glad to have them as a business partner.

Also I am glad to hear that you had a good night sleep!!! Recent improvements have meant that we can nearly guarantee you will get a good nights sleep. Obviously very important!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Good sleep near the Airport (if you have a car!). Some noise, but nice pool with a guest-BBQ. Rooms a bit overpriced, as the room-rate does NOT include WIFI. So be prepared to pay exrra for the internet-access.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrondelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we do charge a minimal fee for Wi-Fi. The comment we most often get is that our rates for this are very very reasonable. $5 for 2 hrs access or $10 unlimited (for the duration of your stay). In comparing ourselves with other small establishments we thought that this was very reasonable also. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in town. All the best. Regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Northgate Airport
1.5 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#37 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
1.3 mi away
Airway Motel Brisbane
Airway Motel Brisbane
#95 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport
Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport
#138 of 162 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport 85 Motel
1.2 mi away
Albion Manor Apartments & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Clayfield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Clayfield Motel

Property: Airport Clayfield Motel
Address: 772 Sandgate Rd | Clayfield, Brisbane, Queensland 4011, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Clayfield Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Clayfield Motel is located within a 5 min drive from Brisbane Airport and 10 mins from the city centre. We are conveniently located within a 2 minute walk to many award winning restaurants, fast food outlets and takeaways, (approximately 25 establishments to choose from), not to mention the Clayfield Tavern. Buses and Trains depart from our doorstep, linking us with the city centre, the Entertainment Centre, Showgrounds, Suncorp Stadium, Southbank, and Race Tracks, all being within 10-15 mins. The DFO and Toombul shopping centre are less than a 5 mins drive, and are conveniently located between the motel and the airport, perfect for a quick shop before your flight. A free shuttle bus runs from the DFO complex to the domestic and international terminals making it even easier to get around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Airport Clayfield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Clayfield Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing