We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Oaks Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Felix
Ranked #60 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2008

This is the second time I have stayed here and it was fantastic. Great location, clean large rooms in fact this time I was on the 18th floor with a spectacular view of the river and storey bridge.
One of my favourites in Australia.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank aus_gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    249
    78
    32
    25
See reviews for
123
178
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

W stayed at the Oaks in a 15th floor appartment and found the accomodation first rate all the facilities were above average, plenty of room to chill out and relax after a long day sight seeing and shopping etc, and if you so wished make some food and have a glass of wine beer etc before going out on the town again. Bathroom and bedroom were of a good size and were clean at all times(even had washing machine and dryer). We had an excelent city view from the balcony and sat out on numerous occsions watching the world go by. The location was excelent right in the centre of Brisbane near to all the shops restaurants and night life though if you wanted to get to bed early it could be a bit noisey with revellers and traffic late at night but that was only a minnor irritation to what was otherewise an excelent stay in great accomodation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Night time noise
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

It´s the best location, with magnificent views to the river, just in the city center. You have the riverside to have a walk, the park and the Queen Street Mall for shopping just 5 min. walk away.
The appartment is very nice furnished, with LCD TV, huge beds and little poor bathrooms.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank spgfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

We are living here for a 3 month period. It is a one bedroom apartment with the Story Bridge view. The apartment is grt, very good facilities ( far far better the Abbey that we stayed initially for a week). The best is the view from the balcony.. The apartment is quite big and atleast we dont have the problem of noise or anything. The reception is pretty .. i wudnt say extrodinary. Apartment is pretty new so u really feel grt!! We still have a month to go so hopefully it remains as nice as it is now.!!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Service can be better
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ooresutthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2007

Had an amazing apartment right in the centre of Brisbane. Great river views, right by the botanic gardens, 5 minutes walk to the quay with lots of restaurants and cafes.

The apartment could have been brand new, fully equipped spotless kitchen, flat screen TVs in lounge and main bedroom. We were lucky to get a 2 bed apt even though we booked a 1 bed.

Check in staff were friendly and professional, even though 'run off their feet' busy. Car parking is cheap for the city centre at $15 for 24 hours, but the multi-storey car park can be difficult to drive around (we do have a 4x4 though!!!)

Accommodation doesn't provide breakfast, but there is a cafe next door which provides this and you can charge it back to your room.

  • Liked — Location, quality
  • Disliked — Difficult to negotiate car parking
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DentistRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

I arrived at the hotel with a confirmed reservation number to be told by the woman on the front desk that they had no record of the booking and that my travel agent "must have made a mistake" and that she couldn’t help me. My travel agent is American Express Corporate Travel, who while not perfect, usually get the basics right.

I asked if she could help me with a room anyway and she responded "no". No apology, no explanation, just "no".

I called Amex and checked that the details were correct - I then put Amex on the phone to the check-in person who had a quick conversation with them, hung up my mobile, put it and my credit card back down on the counter and walked into the office behind the desk without saying anything or telling me what was happening.

Amex then called me back and said that the hotel check-in person had hung up on them and that I did definitely have a confirmed reservation. At this point her colleague on the front desk intervened and said that he would see what he could do - quickly located a hard copy of my booking from somewhere under the front desk and told the other person, who remained out of sight in the office behind him and then he told me that he was sorry but the hotel was fully booked for both nights and that there was nothing that he could do for me.

I called Amex again and they tried to get me another room but all hotels in Brisbane were booked out that night due to a convention. I then went back to the front desk - at this point the original check-in agent disappeared back into the back office again - and explained the situation and put myself at the mercy of the more helpful of the two who, after I had stood there asking for help for 20 minutes, finally located a room for me.

I understand that hotels overbook and that sometimes the numbers don’t balance out in which case they work to accommodate the guest in an alternative room or if necessary at another hotel. What they shouldn’t do is to lie about the overbooking and then try and assign blame on the guest for the problem.

On check-out I was once again lucky to have the same check-in person checking me out - she asked me how my stay had been and when I explained that the stay had been ruined by her attitude on check-in, her response was to smirk, hand me my account, wish me a nice day and walk away again.

For what it's worth the room, like most Oaks hotel rooms, was OK on the surface but various appliances didn’t work and there didn’t seem to be much attention to detail from housekeeping (dirty glasses and plates in cupboards, for example).

I wrote to the hotel's sales and marketing department describing my experience and received no response, which I think is indicative of the hotel's general approach to customer care.

I won’t be staying there again.

  • Disliked — Cusotmer service
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ITCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

I was a little nervous about going here, particularly as my wife and I had to call at least 3 times and finally send a formal email just to receive an email confirmation of our reservation (it was a busy time in Brisbane with the Riverfestival on). Anyway, that all worked out in the end.

The apartment hotel is in a great location and parking is very convenient and reasonably priced. Our room on the 11th floor had a fantastic view of the Story Bridge, which was good for parts of the air show that occurred while we were there. Price was roughly the same as shown on wotif, but we decided to use the 1800 number and book directly. I think the Entertainment Book rate worked out to be better than wotif.

The apartment we had was quite small and even though our reservation said it was a 2br 2bath, it was only 1 bath. For five of us (3 kids and parents) that was fairly tight squeeze (one child slept on an okay sofa bed). Still the flat had all the mod cons, and we weren't spending a lot of time there. The lap pool was adequate and popular, as was the spa next to it. Pool and gym were also in good condition. The Thai takeaway next door was also quite good, and we found some good sushi close by as well.

If you are looking for the city experience and want to be close to the river and the ferries, the Oaks is not a bad choice.

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — flat itself was quite small.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#57 of 159 in Brisbane
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#54 of 159 in Brisbane
682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#51 of 159 in Brisbane
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#75 of 159 in Brisbane
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 159 in Brisbane
1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#15 of 159 in Brisbane
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Felix

Property: Oaks Felix
Address: 26 Felix St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#50 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#56 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Felix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned to take full advantage of Brisbane's exciting and unique lifestyle, Oaks Felix is a winner with business and leisure travellers alike, promising deluxe, self-contained apartment accommodation in the heart of the city's CBD and a variety of resort-style leisure facilities, catering to the discerning needs of all types of guests. Our property stretches 40 storeys high and boasts a distinctive curved design, offering some of the most spectacular views of the Brisbane River, bustling city and Story Bridge in all of Brisbane. Adjacent to Eagle Street Pier, guests of Oaks Felix will enjoy the myriad tastes, sights and sounds that are on offer in this entertainment and dining precinct; featuring an abundance of casual and fine dining restaurants, cocktail bars, pubs and weekend Riverside Markets, there is something for everyone. Also within walking distance is the iconic Botanic Gardens, the shopping emporium that is Queen Street Mall and the CityCat Ferry Terminal where travellers can spend the day cruising the Brisbane River and hopping on and off at their desired landmarks, whether it be South Bank, the Queensland Museum or Newfarm to name just a few. Oaks Felix offers an impressive selection of one and two bedroom self-contained apartments, all featuring full kitchens, laundry facilities, Internet access, stunning floor-to-ceiling windows, private balconies and superb appointments. Leisure facilities include a 25m-heated lap pool surrounded by a modern sun deck and comfortable sun lounges, sauna, spa, gymnasium and barbeque area - perfect for entertaining and soaking in the cityscapes below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Felix Brisbane
Oaks On Felix Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing