We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,009)
Filter reviews
2,009 results
Traveller rating
691
794
360
106
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
794
360
106
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskg barthe executive loungeroom servicebalcony roomcity hallaccor membervalet parkingcentral locationqueen street mallreception areaan upgradecomfortable roomsbuffet breakfastwould stay againrooftop barlocation is excellentbusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,716 - 1,721 of 2,009 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The hotel itself is fine, comfortable rooms and beds. Double glazing to prevent outside noise is great. However our problem concerned noise affecting our sleep and was twofold. We had to use the airconditioner (a warmish night) and it was soooo noisy - it did not have a sleep cycle and the fan only worked on high speed. Secondly, there seemed to be sewerage pipes within the internal walls of the building - everytime an upper floor or toilet was used during the night we could hear a rush of water. Both these issues were most detrimental to our sleeping - in fact my wife had no sleep at all. We did not complain as we had dined out that evening and as we were fairly late getting back to the room we just put up with it.

Room Tip: Make sure a room far away from the sewerage pipes is selected when checking in. Also ensure the air conditioner fan can be adjusted to slow.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane.

We were concerned to read your comments in regards to the noise from the air conditioner. We have passed your comments onto our chief engineer for their review and to ensure the units are being checked for maintenance. We understand the importance of a good night’s sleep and it would appear on this occasion that we have let you down.

I hope you found the other facilities in the hotel and overall service to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcome you back here at the hotel in the near future to ensure you get a better night’s sleep.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed in Citigate King George when we came to visit our relatives in Brisbane. It was really nice since the rate is affordable and offers pretty much all the facility a 4.5 star hotel could provide.

The best thing about this property is its location. It is situated right the opposite the Brisbane Town Hall and less than a minute walk to Queens Street.

However, it seems that the bathroom need some extra attention to detail and the shower box is kinda small.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liong-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We needed a city hotel for one night and this room was secured through Lastminute.com. The receptionist's attitude changed when I asked detailed questions about the security bond taken from my card.
There was no offer of help with our bags (even though we would have declined).
When we called room service for some ice and a cocktail shaker we were told that the shaker wasn't possible as the bar was 'very,very busy'. It did arrive an hour later (shaker with no lid). However in the interim we visited the bar where we spotted one customer!
The bathroom ceiling height was not legal (i.e. false ceiling) and as such the shower head was great for our shoulders but we had to squat to wash hair.
Requested newspaper was replaced with the local rag.

In view of the fact that there are many city hotels, we would not bother with this one again. There was nothing outstanding here to leave a positive impression.

Room Tip: Twin share (double beds) have larger space
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed in the Sebel "Deluxe" room and I was pretty disappointed by the quality of the rooms for the Sebel name (and considering the 'deluxe' term).

When booking, I paid a bit extra and chose the Sebel rooms rather than the Citigate rooms as I expected a much better standard of accommodation but would rate it as average at best. What is interesting is that my colleague had recently stayed in the Citigate rooms and he mentioned that these Sebel rooms were still much better than Citigate...

The rooms seem quite dated, dull, lacking good lighting, cold and in general not totally comfortable. It was quite dusty in some parts, a few pillows were marked and the carpet really showed its age with many stains.

The bathroom was of the same theme and when you close the shower curtain, you are almost in darkness as the unattractive curtains will cover pretty much all lighting. Just a note, the bathroom photo on tripadvisor: "Sebel Deluxe Bathroom (Aug 2012)Provided by management" is NOT as it shows. My colleague had the same bathroom as me with the shower curtains and lack of good lighting so I can be pretty sure of this (check out my actual photo).

The location is pretty good, just a few minutes walk to Queen St mall and a fair reasonable walk to Southbank. The service was also good hence I would otherwise of given the hotel a 2 star poor rating but these factors brought it back to a 3 star average rating (just though!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krazy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane.

I’m sorry that you were disappointed by the quality of our Sebel Deluxe rooms. At present we do have several refurbished floors, these rooms are known as our Sebel Premium rooms. The rest of the Sebel tower will be going through a full refurbishment later this year to early next year. We are looking forward to the continuation of the refurbishment and hope to welcome you again soon.

With regards to the bathroom photo, it is in fact a picture of our Sebel Premium Bathroom. The title of the picture has now been rectified. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through feedback such as yours, that we can improve our product to meet our guests needs. I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I found this hotel through wotif.com, and stayed for three nights.
It was in a nice location, within walking distance of everything. The lobby was impressive and the staff were very friendly (the front desk staff maybe not so much, they were very proper and polite though). Our room was clean, but fairly small. The bed was very comfy and the shower was great.
Two complaints I have, is our TV was terrible (1406). Half the time the sound wouldn't work, or the screen wouldn't, so I had to turn it off and back on! They definitely require an update!
Another one was that at one stage, we entered the elevator and attempted to swipe the card to access the choice of levels, and it wasn't working. The door closed behind us and we went for a ride up to the top floor, picking up passengers on the way. It was highly embarrassing, and once everyone got off, the card STILL wouldn't work. So we went down to the Ground floor and at the front desk we were informed our card had expired. She fixed it up quickly and matter factly for us.
Apart from these two things, it was a comfortable stay, which is what you want when you're away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane.

It is always great to receive any kind of feedback and I will ensure your comments about the TV and room key not working in the lift are passed onto our Engineering and Front Office teams.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews