We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big difference depending on hotel sebel or citygate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #43 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“big difference depending on hotel sebel or citygate”
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Stayed in both the citygate and the sebel. The room was much larger in the sebel and hotel corridor and feel of the hotel more luxurious would recommend these rooms for the extra $20 dearer then the citygate. Found the location was great for driving into the city also valet parking for $25 cheap for brisbane area.
Located close to train station for airtrain. Good cetral location for city centre.

  • Liked — Location easlier found driving into the city
  • Disliked — small room in the citygate part
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swordstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    741
    324
    94
    53
See reviews for
286
648
118
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Stayed at this hotel because I needed to stay in town for a work project.

I have stayed here previously before they renamed it, used to be the Carlton Crest.

Service: The property is actually two hotels in one, one tower is the 4.5star side and the other is the 3.5/4 star side. Reception was quite busy and had a short wait to get served. Quite surprised that even though I filled out all my information online when booking I still had to fill out an old style form with all my contact details on it - not a major quibble though.

I was surprised that the doorstaff didn't offer to assist me with my luggage, which was quite considerable given I had almost 6 bags and various other things to do with work. Usually I wouldn't care but in this instance it would have been nice.

Parking: The attendant took the car and parked it for me so I didn't have to worry, but upon checking out I was told that I would have to get the car myself as it was a 60min wait for them to get it.

Room: We had a fairly small room on the city hall side of the hotel, overlooking city hall - which is quite nice at night.

Breakfast: Was the only low point in regards to service. We were told to just find a seat where we could. I had to walk around and ask a number of staff for some cutlery. And again I had to ask two staff for a cup of coffee. Otherwise it was fine enough, I am not the kind to complain.

Overall: the hotel is not bad at all, it is a fairly large hotel compared with others in the city, and honestly if you are coming to Brisbane for business or you are more interested in siteseeing this hotel is more than adequate.
I am not a harsh reviewer of hotels, and overall the stay was pleasent and comfortable.

  • Liked — Great Location, Central CBD location
  • Disliked — Service could be improved, little noisy outside room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaverickRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Very average hotel in an average city. Need to be careful in the area as quite close to train station. Room was quite nice, but not quite up to the website photos. Found the concierge staff quite unhelpful.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FcdVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I stayed here last weekend, and booked it through Last Minute.

They advertised a 4.5 star rating, but upon arrival- the concierges did not even offer to take my bags into my room.

The car park was out of the way, as I had to use two lifts and walk 50m to get to my hotel room. Also, the car park fills up pretty quickly, so it's pot luck getting a spot.

For a Hotel claiming 4.5 stars, Citigate did not provide complimentary toothbrushes, slippers or even a cheap shaver.

The room was small and crampy, with a very small window overlooking a road.

On the first night, I was scratching profusely and I suspect that the bedsheets were not washed.

Another bad point, is that they kept all their tourist brochures behind the unfriendly concierge desks. When I asked them for a look, they weren't really interested in talking about Brisbane's many tourist sites.

  • Liked — location to the city- althought it's not as central as they claim
  • Disliked — hotel seemed to go tight on toiletries
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pat0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

A comfortable hotel in a very central location - the room was fine and staff friendly helpful and courteous. Bistro restaurant good for evening meals and reasonable value. Relaxed stay with no problems

  • Liked — Comfortable accommodation in central location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonraker_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solomon Islands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Stayed for 3 nights while attending a conference. I was actually pleasantly surprised and it made me more optimistic about mid-range hotels.

All the staff I dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful (this is usually where mid-range hotels fall down). The room was very comfortable - good bed, new furniture and a new flat screen tv. The bathroom didn't look like it had been renovated with the rest of the hotel, but it was functional (tiles need to be re-grouted, though). I ordered room service twice and it was the quickest I've ever experienced - the longest wait was 20 mins and the food arrived piping hot and tasty. The pool and gym were ok - what I would expect for this standard of hotel (although I would be disappointed if I were staying in the more expensive Sebel, which uses the same facilities).

The one problem, and I think it's quite a bad one, was that there were a number of hairs in the shower when I arrived. This breaks a pretty big rule for me. The last thing you want in a bathroom is evidence of the previous guest. Also, on the following days there were hairs left behind after the bathroom had been cleaned (hopefully mine by this stage). I'm sure this was the result of one bad cleaner, so this is probably not going to be an issue for most guests. But still.....

I'm not overly attached to this hotel but if I were in Brisbane in the future for work with a limited budget I would definitely consider it.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, excellent room service
  • Disliked — The cleaner
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinAfrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Stayed at this hotel previously when it had a different name. Quite close to the main shopping area. Hotel is quite old, but decent enough for business travel.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Mullay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 159 in Brisbane
2,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#27 of 159 in Brisbane
4,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
2,791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#52 of 159 in Brisbane
1,704 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 159 in Brisbane
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Property: Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Address: Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#42 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Brisbane King George Square 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Brisbane accommodation located within walking distance of the Queen Street Mall shopping precinct offering guests a full range of services and facilities in relaxed yet sophisticated surroundings. Facilities include restaurant, cafe and bar, fully equipped gymnasium, rooftop swimming pool and Brisbane's largest hotel conference and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate King George Square Brisbane Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing