We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of the cocktail bar”
Review of Emporium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emporium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Ostersund, Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Review of the cocktail bar”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Went to the emporium for a hen's night with cocktails, bubbles and smiles. Everything was suberb, the tapas as well as the drinks and the interior, wow... Steaff catered for everything and accommodated us with bright smiles and good manors. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    220
    46
    14
    11
See reviews for
65
597
64
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
196 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Entrance area looks really retro and flashy, but couldn't help feel like I was staying in an apartment in this hotel. The room fixtures just didn't live up to the price, which at 280 AUD (no breakfast, no decent speed Internet- wasn't up to pay another 20 bucks beyond the slow free one) seemed like too much to pay.

To top it off, they add in the annoying 5.60 extra to pay by credit card. After you have just forked out 280, this seems excessive. But it's not just them, seems like this is latest trick in most of Australia. I guess it helps keep them in the top 4 most expensive countries in world.
If the quality in most occasions matched the price you might feel a little better about that fact.

On the positive side the staff were all very nice, and the barman was really knowledgeable and attentive to our group. Nice cocktail lounge...

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporiumManagement, Manager at Emporium Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Mark R,

Thank you for reviewing Emporium Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any disappointment you experienced with the facilities and services offered at the Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it is only through constructive comments such as these that we are able to monitor and fine tune services offered to our guests.

The speed of our complimentary internet service is managed however there is an unlimited data allowance which is suitable for email, and browsing the web. For guests requiring a faster connection speed we offer a variety of high speed services at differing costs to allow our guests to choose the right option for their needs.

Our 2% merchant service fee is well publicised on all relevant hotel information and is applicable only to credit card transactions. Other forms of payment such as EFTPOS, cash and bank transfer do not attract this fee.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Kind Regards,

Justin McConnell
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

For my money (and it is my money)this is with out a doubt the best Hotel in Brisbane and my favorite Australian capital city hotel (I'm from Sydney so its not included). Until I discovered the Emporium I avoided over-nighting in Brisbane, as exiting any CBD Hotel in the evening deposited me in a culinary and cultural waste land. The Emporium is in the heart of the new "Brisbane vibe", surrounded by a variety of restaurants, bars and cafes, all withing safe walking range. Great places to arrange to meet people or just hang out. Sure, its a short cab ride to the CBD, but if you stay in the CBD you will be cabbing to the Emporium for wining and dining anyway! Besides, there are lots of businesses located in the Valley so your meetings will probably take you there anyway.
Service is great, welcoming, flexible, happy to help you.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank DrEvil61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
445 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have been visiting Brisbane for the last 17 years and I have traditionally stayed in the main CBD but that is all about to change. The Emporium hotel has great staff, great room and is located 10 minutes out of the main CBD. You can catch a can for around $10 or hope on one of the many busses that stop, both way very close to the hotel. There are great restaurants all around it so you have a wide array of food to choose from. The rooms are very modern and fully outfitted - microwave, wine glasses, wifi etc etc. The windows are double glassed and you don't hear a thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Love the hotel, beautiful deco and modern outlook! It was recommended by friends and it is the best hotel in town. 10 dollar Cab fares to CBD and 20 minutes to the airport. The location is good as I need to go for a meeting early in the morning in Bowen Hill, it was literally 3 minutes walk to where I need to be. I had a big king room to myself and a beautifully finished bathroom that comes with washing machine. I must say, nothing beat a big slap of Calaccata Marble in the bathroom and make the room feel shmuc and luxurious. The only downside is the latex mattress and pillows keeping me awake as they get too hot during the night. I am personally not a big fan of latex because they can create a lot of heat.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A wonderful place for an over night stay whether it be business or pleasure. Huge bedroom, with his & her bathroom sinks. The pool is small, but enjoyable for adults. Friendly & professional staff greet you on arrival and as I arrived many hours before check in and was offer a room straight away for a little. I was so expecting to be waiting for hours. Right next door is this little café which makes you feel you are in France. There are many restaurants in the area, I'm sure you'll find something to your taste. If you find the hotel bar to up market (it's very nice) there's a pub across the main road. So easy to enjoy your stay. I stayed on a weekend night, so the traffic in the morning wasn't noticed.

Room Tip: The pool is on the roof top I couldn't say it has any great views. So to me all rooms are equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martir18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights on my own as a treat away from the family! The beds are incredible, pillow selection great and rooms really spacious. I stayed in one of the King Suites which was beautiful. The rooms are so well equipped for a hotel - fridge, microwave, wine glasses plates and cutlery so you could bring dinner back to your room from one of the many places located around the hotel plus even a washing machine - very well set up so you never felt like you were losing space. Cocktail bar downstairs well worth a visit and the pool on the roof is gorgeous! Only issues i had was that there was very noisy music being played on the first night although the second was really quiet and i had my best sleep ever in a hotel!! Also the quality of the room service food was not great - and certainly not at 5 star level, however there are plenty of restaurants within about 2 minutes walk so this is not a problem at all!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lewisfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#15 of 157 in Brisbane
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
1.4 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 157 in Brisbane
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Hotel

Property: Emporium Hotel
Address: 1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Emporium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Australia's Leading Boutique Hotel - World Travel Awards 2017, 2016, 2015. Emporium Hotel is Australia's most awarded boutique luxury hotel, presenting a tangible vision of contemporary elegance and highly personalised service. The hotel has 102 beautifully appointed studio suites, rooftop lap pool, sauna, gymnasium, conference centre, 24-hour in-suite dining, Concierge, spectacular award-winning Cocktail Bar and Belle Epoque Patisserie. All suites feature a state-of-the-art entertainment system, Bose stereo, movies-on-demand and 10 free cable TV channels. Guests will find a marble kitchenette and private laundry facilities in every suite. Each private bathroom has a glass-enclosed marble shower with luxury Molton Brown or Etro toiletries. Some suites include a spa bath and balcony. The hotel is located in the Emporium lifestyle precinct in Fortitude Valley –a haven for lovers of fashion and food – just minutes from Brisbane's city centre and chic Valley nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emporium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing