We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concierge”
Review of Emporium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Emporium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Brad sorted me out a rental of a mustang convertible on a sunday... Wasn't easy but he made it patience and good nature. Thanks and kudos for the entire hotel. Excellent stay

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabien77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2010

This is a hotel we have returned to time and time again since it was built in 2007 We look forward to returning and it is almost an excuse in itself to visit Brisbane. The location offers a superb selection of shops and restaurants, it is near the exciting James Street Precinct, and close to icons like Coco Republic and Robertson's,
The memorable foyer has style, class and a certain edgy elegance and is sparkling. Our favourite Concierge is Chris on Sunday although they are all very, very good. The rooms are spacious and extremely well appointed with latest design detail. We have stayed in the King Spa Room and the Emporium Suite and both are outstanding. The response from staff is actually quite incredible if there is a guest request or something needs to be rectified. A rarity in these days of near enough is good enough! A most unusual and beautiful place to stay. Cannot think of another hotel in Brisbane that comes close.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonshadowvillas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Amazing hotel wouldn't stay anywhere else if i went back to Brisbane.
Located in a small outdoor mall area with coffee shops and eateries. (The fishmonger makes AMAZING fish and chips!)
Room so comfortable, maids friendly, lots of cushions in room, bathroom trendy (although no bath in standard room).
Huge tv in room, very trendy room.
Pool and sundeck nice.
Small gym but lovely.
Did not try the room service but the smell was soooo good when someone else had had it!
Charged internet was $20 for 24 hours wiht our laptop and the hotel offered us a complimentary voucher so we could check into our flight - great service.
Had a small problem with the laundry but was fixed in no time.
Bar was lovely and tapas delicious.

Loved the emporium and would be back in a shot.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel overnight as the finale to our month travelling around QLD. We are a family with two kids 8 and 9. We were warmly welcomed and given all the info in relation to breakfast which was included in our rate. The hotel offers room service breakfast or an a la carte breakfast in the French Bistro next door. I asked at check in if we could arrange a late check out as our flight home was a late afternoon flight and late check out was granted till12 . We were then personally taken to our two interconnecting king spa suites. The rooms we were given were definitely not suites just normal sized hotel rooms. I am unsure if the hotel refers to all it's rooms as suites or on reflection whether we didn't get the right rooms? Anyway we didn't question our allocation. The rooms were nice and thoughtfully designed throughout.

There were a couple of things that made our stay average. We were pretty tired at the end of the day and decided it was easier to order room service. We looked at the in room menu and noticed there was no childrens menu? When my husband phoned room service they confirmed this was the case and said they would talk to the kitchen and call us back if they could help with some childrens alternatives. 20 minutes later we had to call them back and unfortunately they were unable to provide any menu alternatives or even do a kids portions as the kitchen was too busy. My husband then rang the front desk explained our problem and asked if they knew of any restaurants that deliver. Reception said they didn't know any restaurants that did deliveries to the hotel but there are some restaurants in the block that we could eat in at. There was no offer to research and no mention that the hotel had a concierge desk. Left scratching our heads we were already in our PJs and the kids were hungry we called reception back again and my husband got a different person who offered to leave a message for concierge who was busy looking after another guest. Some 15 minutes later - we had already spent the best part of an hour on this - concierge called back and said they would look for some menus and send them up to us. This whole process was ludicrous and I feel that other families need to be aware of this hotels flaw. Whilst all the staff we dealt with were professional and friendly I could not fathom why we could not just order some dinner? We definitely were not the only family staying here and the hotel is not unwelcoming to families? We ended up ordering take away pizza which was on the average side.

The other downfall is the entrance to the interconeccting rooms. The hotel interconnecting rooms have opaque glass double doors leading to a small entry and the two hotel room doors off this entry. There is a gap in the double glass doors which allows people to see and hear clearly straight into both of our rooms. There was also the issue of a light that you cannot switch off in our suite entry area as confirmed by reception. It was incredibly noisy as the door is not sealed so we heard every coming and going morning and night on the floor. If you are booking a two room suite or interconnecting rooms and need total darkness/silence to sleep this will be hard to achieve.

Overall an ok stay but with some fundermental flaws that a good hotel GM should look at. Adding some kids alternatives/portions to a menu is not a costly excercise nor is it taxing on even the most basic hotel kitchen. Ensuring staff complete an enquiry until the guest is satisfied is a simple staff traing initiative that probably needs to be looked at. No hotel guest in a full service hotel should be left wondering how to get a food delivery. Please note the childern were paying guests at the same rate as an adult in this establishment. If childeren are not welcome or catered for perhaps guests should be told this before arrival at the hotel. The design flaws of the double glass entry door/light/noise may be a little harder to sort out.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporiumManagement, Business Development Manager at Emporium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2010

I would like to thank you for your very constructive feedback as we aspire to improve our guest experience when any physical or service issues are brought to our attention. The Emporium Hotel aims to ensure all who come into contact with the hotel and its staff receive our utmost attention, however on this occasion, it would seem this has not been achieved.

The feedback regarding your families experience highlights the need for our staff to continually be more sympathetic to the needs of children and their parents. Our staff should always remain flexible to assist a guests needs wherever possible and for a childs meal not to be made available on this occasion is not to the standard we aim to achieve.

Children’s meals are available within the hotels in-suite dining service. Alternatively several of the Emporium Precincts nine restaurants also have a dedicated menu for children.

It is imperative to receive feedback and it is for this reason I sincerely thank you once again for taking the time to provide details of your experience. Should the author like to contact myself directly I would be delighted to further discuss their experience and also advise of the actions undertaken as a result of this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Fabulous decor. Nice friendly staff. Hubby thought it was a bit snobby that there was a dress code. I was cool with it though. Honeymoon hotel and all we got was a card. We are still on our honeymoon and most places have made more of a fuss. Can't complain, just an observation. Lovely room. Didn't get the upgrage we paid for though. Only realised after check out!!! Nice and clean. Probably would be better to stay actually in Brisbane though. Nice bath too in the spa suites.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adeleandgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Wow! What an amazing hotel. If you've stayed at a Malmaison hotel in the UK...you will absolutely love this place (and feel very sorry for Mal! this is how they should do it!).
The greeting we received was very warm, staff on hand to open the car door, take our bags and show us straight to our room. THE ROOM! Oh my goodness, what a room! large, with amazing superking sized bed. Very modern decour, large flat screen TV and sitting area. To our amazement we discovered, behind a screen, a dishwasher, kettle, sink and plates/cutlery etc to enable you to bring take out to your room, should you wish. The mini bar was very extensive, as was the room service menu. We had room service one night and the portions were very generous and it was as nice as any meal we could have had in a restaurant. The roof top pool is lovely, with comfortable sun loungers. I'd recommend heading up there at night (open until 10pm) when it's nice and quiet and you can see the whole city illuminated before you.
There are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.
In summary -I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superwrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

My husband and I stayed her for our wedding night. We wanted to be spoiled, and since we would only be staying the one night, we splashed out on a king spa suite with the "enchanted evening" package. It was well worth it!
We arrived at around 11pm, and had our first experience of someone ELSE taking our luggage up to our room, which was lovely after such a long day.
The room was very sumptuous - not large, but the space was used well, and did not feel cluttered at all. There were a few hidden touches in cupboards which I took pleasure in discovering.
The bed was MASSIVE, with about 6 pillows. The bathroom was stylish and a pleasure to use.
Our package included rose petals scattered on the bed in a love heart formation, room service breakfast the next morning at the time of our choice, a bottle of premium wine and a late checkout, the most useful part of all, given how exhausted we were.
The room was pristinely clean. Service was professional and polished, which is all well and good, but we're used to staying in smaller establishments with more personable management, and we prefer the latter. Staff were helpful and willing to assist us, even though I had to go back up to our room about 3 times, as I'd left things behind (including my bridal bouquet in the fridge!).
I believe the hotel has good facilities including a pool and a gym but we did not get to use these so cannot comment on them.
Our breakfast was delivered bang on time, with a smile, and was delicious. The heavy blackout curtains were also very helpful in our sleep-in.
Definitely recommended for romantic evenings.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbit1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
1.4 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 169 in Brisbane
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 169 in Brisbane
1,155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
1.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Hotel

Address: 1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £100 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Emporium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Australia's Leading Boutique Hotel - World Travel Awards 2017, 2016, 2015. Emporium Hotel is Australia's most awarded boutique luxury hotel, presenting a tangible vision of contemporary elegance and highly personalised service. The hotel has 102 beautifully appointed studio suites, rooftop lap pool, sauna, gymnasium, conference centre, 24-hour in-suite dining, Concierge, spectacular award-winning Cocktail Bar and Belle Epoque Patisserie. All suites feature a state-of-the-art entertainment system, Bose stereo, movies-on-demand and 10 free cable TV channels. Guests will find a marble kitchenette and private laundry facilities in every suite. Each private bathroom has a glass-enclosed marble shower with luxury Molton Brown or Etro toiletries. Some suites include a spa bath and balcony. The hotel is located in the Emporium lifestyle precinct in Fortitude Valley –a haven for lovers of fashion and food – just minutes from Brisbane's city centre and chic Valley nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emporium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing