We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane
Ranked #133 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Customer service and cleanliness 5 ***** Cannot fault the staff or the presentation of the accommodation. The staff extremely friendly and the rooms were extremely clean. There were no toiletries' other than pump pack in the shower so make sure you pack what you need. Had a hot shower at night but tepid in the morning. The road noise was bad but the bed was extremely comfortable. I would stay again but ask for a room at the back of the building to reduce the road noise. But need to again say the customer service was at a 5 star level - could not believe that this level of service still existed in Australia. Also good value

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the road as it is very noisy
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Tarong,

Thank you for choosing Econo Lodge City Star as your accommodation in Brisbane.

It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of our customer service. We promise we shall continue to do our utmost to upkeep the reputation.

Thank you again for your lovely review and I look forward to the welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

A short distance from the city was just what we wanted, this was perfect.
Comfy, spacious and quiet, what more could we ask for.
Onsite parking easy and plentiful, as well as being secure overnight.
The pool and outside seating area was a pleasant surprize, which we used on 2 afternoons.
The staff could not do enough for us and are a tribute to the hotel, being its greatest asset.
Would recommend :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Rich850,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am delighted to learn that you found our property has everything you needed while staying in Brisbane. It is undoubtedly the combination of several good attributes we have on offer, such as: good location, spacious and clean rooms, free Foxtel channels, complimentary car park, free Wifi, and a well maintained swimming pool for our guests to relax with a glass of wine watching the sunset till the end of the day.

Being a closely knitted service team, we are determined to provide our guests with personalised service which hopefully enhances your experience on our property.

I am truly grateful that you recommend our property and hope that I shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the not-too-distant-future.

Yours in Service,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Read someone else's review about staff being "overly friendly and helpful" and laughed because I didn't think that type of customer service still existed. Well it does exist still at this hotel.

Had a room by the pool which was nice and clean. Room looked like it had recently been redone. New bathroom fixtures.

Close to South Bank and shopping recreation.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property and your subsequent review.

As the Operations Manager, I am delighted to hear that we have lived up to your expectation and most importantly, your pleasant experience has served as a great encouragement to our team. We promise you that we will continue to do our best to serve our respectable customers.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in this motel for a hospital appointment (Princess Alexandra) which is just up the road. The staff were overly friendly and helpful. The unit was large, clean and comfortable. Air conditioned, tea and coffee, good size TV with clean carpet and window drapes. The bathroom was small but serviceable.The grounds and pool were very well maintained. The breakfast menu look great but I was fasting so couldn't have breakfast. Across the road is a 24/7 IGA. Thai restaurant across the road from the Pineapple Hotel on the same side. Further up is a Chinese restaurant and KFC near by. The Gabba is very close and walking distance for the fit.
The unit is just 30mts from The Pineapple Hotel where we had lunch in the Steakhouse. Expensive but great food. Drinks are a little pricey but you are in a pub so you expect it.
We would stay in this motel style unit again. The rates were very good. It is on a major road (Main Street) but had a comfortable sleep.
Thank you Econo Lodge City Star for a comfortable night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie4jewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It's just great to be greeted at reception by friendly, courteous staff members and find your room to be clean & with all the necessary hotel supplements and up to your expectations. Parking on site at no extra charge and even a pool, plenty of eateries around and walking distance to the Gabba - Bris

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fLASH-Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here one night before a flight because it was affordable. Also, We had a car so we needed a place with parking which is somewhat difficult to find in Brisbane. The location isn't very accessible without a car. Our room was huge, with three beds, but the bathroom was tiny. My main complaint was the strong, smoke smell in the supposedly non-smoking room. The smell was terrible and it did not go away when we tried to air it out. They need to enforce their non-smoking policy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbrew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We recently stayed for several nights at the Econo Lodge as part of a sports team competing in Brisbane. The Lodge had everything we needed to make our trip comfortable and easy. Our room (27) had a double and single bed for myself and my 11 year old son. There were very large windows that let lots of natural light into the room- but also excellent black out curtains for a sleep in. Part of the windows could be opened to allow a nice breeze into the room. The beds were very new and comfortable. The linen fresh and crisp. Whilst the lodge has a somewhat tired exterior the important things were great- bright airy large room with clean comfy beds. The bathroom was an odd skinny shape but also was spotless.
Our team of 40 people- parents and children arrived staggered from mid morning to late afternoon- all of us were warmly and promptly welcomed with early check up smoothly facilitated with smiles and assistance. The outstanding service was maintained across our stay. When a team bbq for the teams' parents and kids was planned we asked if this was possible. Wow. Pool side seating for 40 and bbq facilities, use of the Lodge's refrigerator and kitchen was all too easy for the staff at Econolodge.
Our team was most appreciative. We had a super time. Thankyou to the staff at Econolodge

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#70 of 168 in Brisbane
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#104 of 168 in Brisbane
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sebel South Brisbane
The Sebel South Brisbane
#108 of 168 in Brisbane
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 168 in Brisbane
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
#41 of 168 in Brisbane
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane

Address: 650 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £65 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane is conveniently located at Kangaroo Point in Brisbane. It's close to the CBD, with buses right outside the motel to the CBD. You can also take a 15 minute walk to the ferries to go to the CBD. We're situated opposite to a pleasant park and we're just 5 minutes walk away from the Gabba (Brisbane Cricket Ground), the Kangaroo Point Cliffs, Southbank, Shaftson University, and the Story Bridge climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing