We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay @ Econo Lodge ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane
Ranked #132 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nites and served by very friendly staffs .... cozy and nice warm room . Firstly.. we were welcome by the front desk , they explained clearly on the room and recommended us good restaurant and sight seeing places around our vicinity. Great for short stay in Brisbane .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank victorsouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Victorsouw,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane and your lovely review.

We are happy to learn that you had have a pleasant stay and endorsed our property as a stop over in Brisbane. While we are trying our best to serve you and all other guests, we know we can do even better - this is our committment to you.

It's a pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here when seeing a concert in Southbank which was only a 20 minute pleasant walk away. Hotel was clean and facilities were fine. Appreciated the under cover secure car park at the hotel. I would definitely come back and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Joseph M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane and your subsequent lovely review.

It is extremely encouraging to learn that you had have a pleasant experience with us and have found that we offer everything you need for your trip.

We promise we shall continue to upkeep our high standard of service and look forward to the opportunity of welcojming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location for free ferry to city centre & extremely friendly staff, but the room was terrible very run-down and dated, bathroom was not clean. The pool was not pleasant, and there were people living there!! I know it is budget accommodation, but not good at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Charlie,

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay at our property recently.

Secondly, I apologise that you did not quite enjoy your stay. I would like to assure you that every one of us takes your comments seriously and will carry out retraining to ensure all our employees are following the procedures properly.

All our rooms, the swimming pool and courtyard have just completed renovation not long ago. Knowing that we have to gain the competitive edge, the next one is already on the pipeline. With your comments, we feel it may be necessary to expedite the schedule.

Thank you for your comments and I sincerely hope that you will have a pleasant stay next time when you return.

I apologise again for your unpleasant experience.

Yours sincerely,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel has a lot of plusses going for it: free wifi, secure parking, a swimming pool in a private courtyard setting and with it being in a good location at Kangaroo Point just off the main road, this means good transport links into the city too.

A few niggles meant that it lost a star or so along the way, some of which might be worth noting here:

Wifi relates to overall stay in hours for use by 1 device only.

The underground car park is only unlocked from 10pm through 6am so if you need access outside of these times, be sure to park on the private forecourt immediately outside and not within the gates.

Watch out for the bedside units which are not fixed onto the walls so when you pull the fantastically large and deep drawers out, the whole unit tips forward.

The rooms are spacious but the shower rooms are rather compact, with a sliding door that doesn’t quite offer the total discretion you might prefer when sharing a family room. The bathroom also seemed to suffer from an ant problem.

The staff were quick and efficient at attending to any problems whenever necessary though. Not only are they a mine of information but they couldn’t ‘be more polite, friendly and helpful either, day or night. How refreshing.

They definitely make this a hotel well worth choosing.

Foodie Tip: There is an all night supermarket across the road serving hot food right through to the early hours of the morning, but for some excellent pub grub with meal deals, try the ‘Piney’ just over the green across from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front of the hotel and weren't disturbed by traffic day or night althou...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viviko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Viviko,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property.

I would also like to thank you for the detailed, lovely review which has become part of the valuable market information when determining upgrades and renovation in the future.

It is encouraging to hear that you enjoyed all our facilities here and find them pleasing such as the wifi, swimming pool.

Just to let you know, car park gates can still be opened after hours with prior notice.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.

Your sincerely,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Customer service and cleanliness 5 ***** Cannot fault the staff or the presentation of the accommodation. The staff extremely friendly and the rooms were extremely clean. There were no toiletries' other than pump pack in the shower so make sure you pack what you need. Had a hot shower at night but tepid in the morning. The road noise was bad but the bed was extremely comfortable. I would stay again but ask for a room at the back of the building to reduce the road noise. But need to again say the customer service was at a 5 star level - could not believe that this level of service still existed in Australia. Also good value

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the road as it is very noisy
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Tarong,

Thank you for choosing Econo Lodge City Star as your accommodation in Brisbane.

It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of our customer service. We promise we shall continue to do our utmost to upkeep the reputation.

Thank you again for your lovely review and I look forward to the welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A short distance from the city was just what we wanted, this was perfect.
Comfy, spacious and quiet, what more could we ask for.
Onsite parking easy and plentiful, as well as being secure overnight.
The pool and outside seating area was a pleasant surprize, which we used on 2 afternoons.
The staff could not do enough for us and are a tribute to the hotel, being its greatest asset.
Would recommend :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Rich850,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am delighted to learn that you found our property has everything you needed while staying in Brisbane. It is undoubtedly the combination of several good attributes we have on offer, such as: good location, spacious and clean rooms, free Foxtel channels, complimentary car park, free Wifi, and a well maintained swimming pool for our guests to relax with a glass of wine watching the sunset till the end of the day.

Being a closely knitted service team, we are determined to provide our guests with personalised service which hopefully enhances your experience on our property.

I am truly grateful that you recommend our property and hope that I shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the not-too-distant-future.

Yours in Service,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Read someone else's review about staff being "overly friendly and helpful" and laughed because I didn't think that type of customer service still existed. Well it does exist still at this hotel.

Had a room by the pool which was nice and clean. Room looked like it had recently been redone. New bathroom fixtures.

Close to South Bank and shopping recreation.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property and your subsequent review.

As the Operations Manager, I am delighted to hear that we have lived up to your expectation and most importantly, your pleasant experience has served as a great encouragement to our team. We promise you that we will continue to do our best to serve our respectable customers.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#70 of 168 in Brisbane
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#102 of 168 in Brisbane
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sebel South Brisbane
The Sebel South Brisbane
#106 of 168 in Brisbane
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 168 in Brisbane
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
#41 of 168 in Brisbane
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane

Address: 650 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £65 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane is conveniently located at Kangaroo Point in Brisbane. It's close to the CBD, with buses right outside the motel to the CBD. You can also take a 15 minute walk to the ferries to go to the CBD. We're situated opposite to a pleasant park and we're just 5 minutes walk away from the Gabba (Brisbane Cricket Ground), the Kangaroo Point Cliffs, Southbank, Shaftson University, and the Story Bridge climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing