We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but room smelt ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Festival Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oaks Festival Towers
Ranked #53 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, but room smelt ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Was pretty dissaponted when we were greeted with a moldy smell & damp floor when entering our room. I called downstairs & they quickly rectified the problem & moved us to a new room but unfortunately it smelt like cigarette smoke & the TV in the bedroom just wouldn't turn on, we decided to stay as we were so tired & thankfully the smell was gone the next day, which is when I started to enjoy my stay at the hotel.

Positives - The hotel is in a great location & the rooms are huge but if I'm to be honest I would probably not stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mariko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us at Oaks Festival Towers. We are happy to receive you feedback regarding the spacious apartments and central location however disappointed to receive your comments regarding the moldy smell and damp floors. Your comments regarding your stay have since been passed onto our Housekeeping and Maintenance departments for further investigation. We do welcome you feedback as this helps us to improve our service standards and we do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Oaks Festival Towers again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    261
    114
    42
    35
See reviews for
145
161
40
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at Oaks Festival Towers last week on a business trip. Arriving early Sunday evening there were a large number of guests checking out and the lobby was quite crowded, however the staff were very efficient and I was checked in within 3 minutes. Room access via the lifts requires using a security swipe, as does accessing the hotel/lobby after hours. The hotel location is close to numerous restaurants, convenience stores, a major shopping centre and the Brisbane CBD/River.

I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. It was quite spacious and clean. The only minor issue I found was I couldn't access Foxtel on the TV - I checked and found that the leads from the Foxtel box had been connected to the wrong TV inputs - I changed them to the corrext ones and all was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. Yes it was a very busy day due to a large conference departing, however we are glad to hear that our front desk team were able to accommodate you as quick as possible. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience regarding the Foxtel system and advise that this has now been passed onto our maintenance department. Again we thank you for posting you comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My friends and I stayed in a two bedroom apartment last weekend. From the moment we arrived the staff were amazing. Friendly, helpful, completely professional, despite it being hectically busy. We had to wait for our room to be ready and the staff happily took our bags so we could go have a look around town while we waited. The room itself was very clean and well appointed and the views from the 21st floor were absolutely amazing. The hotel is bang, smack in the middle of everything. A quick walk takes you to the Queen Street mall, more restaurants than you can poke a stick at, the casino or the bridge over to South Bank/South Brisbane.

My girlfriends and I get together a couple of times a year and stay in the city (we live far afield and it's nice and central). We're already decided we're staying again next time in Festival Towers. Next time we plan to take advantage of the sauna and pool!

Room Tip: Corner rooms come with a fully glass enclosed sunroom providing views in two directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amazoncowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us over the busy weekend and we will be passing your comments onto all staff who will be very pleased to receive your positive feedback. Again we would like to thank you for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next weekend away with the girls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Entrance, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The lounge was a little old, and the blanket had stains but the location/ facilities made this hotel one I would stay again (just roll the dice for a newer lounge and blanket).
The sauna was nice to relax in.
Nando's is right underneath- if you're a fan than you will be pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 888JustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. We are glad to hear that your have enjoyed the hotel location and facilities we have to offer. Currently we are updating some of the furniture in our apartments and we hope that this did not tarnish your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Festival Towers in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great for business in town, parking provided free, close to Movies, casino and all food places.
Great history of building in foyer. Ideal for business and plenty of room inside apartment and love the balcony.

Room Tip: Get a room on river side for some views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and had a chance to walk through the ‘hall of fame’ displaying the various artists that had the opportunity to play at the old Festival Hall. We would like to advise guests that our car parking is $25 per night and must be pre-booked to secure a space. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel advantages that provides apartment room with large spaces and its located in the city center which means that some times I can't sleep becouse of noise from the street traffics. The hotel doesn't provide luggage upon check in and check out. complicated security systems for using elevator for examlpe if you are staying at 36 floor and your friends are staying at 8th floor in this case you have to go back to ground floor which is reception located there and use another elevator. Finally the hotel doesn't provide any safety box in the rooms which is very strange.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AlMarzooqi_Mohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. We are pleased to hear that you found our apartments spacious and enjoyed our central location. We do apologise that it was not communicated to you that we can in fact store luggage while you wait for your room to become available and also after you depart. As we are a secure building, your room key can only be programmed to give access to your floor. However, if you inform us prior to arrival that you will be travelling with another guest we are more than happy to try and allocate your apartments on the same floor to minimize any inconvenience. Please note that this is subject to availability. We do appreciate your feedback as this is a valuable source of information to continually improve and exceed our guest services. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you to Oaks Festival Towers again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Very close to Queen Street Mall, plenty restaurants, convenient stores and supermarkets nearby. Taxi stand is located across the street. The 24 hours reception is convenient for late arrival visitors. It would be great if free wifi is provided.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our central location and have been able to take advantage of the many restaurants and shops that are only minutes from our front door. As part of our service commitment, earlier this year we introduced 30 minutes of free Internet per day per apartment for our guest’s. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#59 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#57 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#21 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#69 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#10 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Festival Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Festival Towers

Property: Oaks Festival Towers
Address: 108 Albert Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#50 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Festival Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime position and providing spacious modern design, first class technology and facilities, is Oaks Festival Towers. Guests can sample top restaurants and late-night bars, irresistible shopping, galleries, theatres, movies and museums which are all nearby. Oaks Festival Towers comprises of one and two bedroom contemporary, self-contained apartments each with a private balcony and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oaks Festival Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Festival Towers Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Festival Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing