We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury and charm amazed us!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Main Bed Dining to kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Main Bed
Dining to kitchen
Bathroom
Verandah
Office & Bunks
Kitchen to dining
Lounge Chairs
Main Bed 1
Kitchen 2
Lounge & Jen's Piano
Kitchen 1
Main Bed 2
Relax
Study and bunk room
Bunk Beds
Main Bed 3
Piano to dining
Loo
Dining 1
Coffee
Bikepath and walk beside the Brisbane River
Restaurants
Bikepath and walk beside the Brisbane River
Park Road Restaurant and Coffee precinct
Brisbane River
Swim at Southbank
Regatta Hotel
River bikepath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brisbane, Brisbane Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rob746
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Luxury and charm amazed us!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed being in this luxurious facility and so close to everything that matters. The quality of the furniture, the charm of the building and the comfort afforded at every turn amazed us at any price and, given the affordability of this accommodation, even became more amazing. We would recommend this to any and all for city outings, proximity to hospitals and other facilities, It is situated in a quite, serene neighbourhood. The landscaping only adds to the sense of indulgence. We can’t wait for our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and charm.
Liked least: We liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jadeylil
Mandurah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts! Fab location! Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at Green Gables with our two daughters! Green Gables is the front apartment of a lovely renovated Queenslander. It has always been a dream of mine to stay in one and I wasn't disappointed! The apartment itself is completely gorgeous and the hosts Jen and Ian are so friendly and welcoming! They are the warmest most loving people you could ever meet!! We felt like we were staying with old friends! Much better than a hotel. Set in the beautiful suburb of Auchenflower we enjoyed beautiful evening walks and during the day we would often walk pushing our stroller to the Toowong Village to go the library and shops (15mins) or down to catch the city cat which takes you on the river over to South Bank (wow!) or the city. It's a peaceful spot and we had the best nights sleep tucked in our comfy beds! We were so sad to leave and look forward to our next trip to Green Gables! Thanks so much to Jen and Ian for everything they did to welcome us. Could not recommend higher!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellehug
Maleny, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central Location and lots of Charm”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in August 2014

My friend and I enjoyed the lovely space at Green Gables and central location in Auchenflower. It is just a stroll (or morning run) to the river & lots of cafes and great bookshop close-by to relax the day away. Train station is also just at the end of the street! Thanks so much Jen and Ian for having us.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmcnaught...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in March 2014

I have been impressed by the “Green Gables » cottage nestled amongst trees and shrubs and centrally located near the heart of Brisbane. It is a lovely little house close to the river with all the amenities you might need: buses and trains, restaurants and shops, in particular the near-by Park Road restaurants and coffee precinct. In this area, so close to the city centre, the cottage has the notable advantage of providing your own car parking space.
Inside the rooms are very clean, smart, spacious and uncluttered with beautiful polished floors. You can do your own cooking and washing or take a rest reading a book on the front veranda.
You will find that the hosts Jenny and Ian are always ready to help and advise you and you will enjoy your stay in their really pleasant and convenient cottage.
Françoise McNaughton

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony56782...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Terrific!”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in February 2014

This was a great place. Close to public transport and river ferry it was easy to get into the CBD.
Great Park Rd restaurants easy walk away and lovely walks along river. It's clean, cosy and comfortable and Jen and Ian are relaxed but have a great attention to detail. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Fantastc”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in April 2014

We loved our stay at Green Gables. The apartment has a lovely feel to it, is well equipped and was spotless, close to shops and convenient for public transport and lovely river walks, so loved zipping about on the city cat. I stayed with 2 teenagers and my son and there was ample room. It is in a beautiful leafy street lined with old trees and the apartment was full of character with everything we needed. We didn't want to go home and would love to stay again. The hosts were amazing helpful and friendly people who couldn't do enough for us. Thanks so much Jen and Ian.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMT1819
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet spot”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A gorgeous cottage which is very close to the Wesley hospital and Park Rd cafés. Jen and I didn't meet but spoke regularly during the stay. Jen is very accommodating and caring. The description is very accurate and I would certainly recommend the cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and peaceful
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing