We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So much character, so convenient.”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Main Bed Dining to kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Main Bed
Dining to kitchen
Bathroom
Verandah
Office & Bunks
Kitchen to dining
Lounge Chairs
Main Bed 1
Kitchen 2
Lounge & Jen's Piano
Kitchen 1
Main Bed 2
Relax
Study and bunk room
Bunk Beds
Main Bed 3
Piano to dining
Loo
Dining 1
Coffee
Bikepath and walk beside the Brisbane River
Restaurants
Bikepath and walk beside the Brisbane River
Park Road Restaurant and Coffee precinct
Brisbane River
Swim at Southbank
Regatta Hotel
River bikepath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brisbane, Brisbane Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“So much character, so convenient.”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I brought my daughter and her friend down to dance at the Queensland Ballet school in West End....it was so close I could zip across to drop them off and collect them. And while they were dancing I went for a bike ride along the river, which is just a few 100 meters away.
It was a a heat wave so we swum at South Bank, once again so close.
And when we wanted to leave we just popped onto the inner city bypass and so avoided traffic.
Most importantly the place had a lot of character and Ian and Jenny looked after us tremendously.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
It was just great having Jen and her beautiful girls to stay and great too that everything was close and easy for them. They took such care of our little pad and we'd love to have them back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Recently stayed at Green Gables for a Friend’s wedding in Brisbane. The house itself is fantastic. Exactly as seen the photos. Very clean all everything required is provided.
Location is great, it's just outside the city but loads of local shops / bars / cafes all very close. Transport into the city is easy and quick, bus or train stops close by. We got the ferry into the city which was a nice way to travel.
Jen and Ian was excellent hosts, anything we needed was dealt with quickly and great to deal with.
Highly recommend this house to anybody wanting to stay in Brisbane

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
It was a literal joy to have Keith and his lovely party of friends mark and mel to stay at our unit. These people were just the most warm open lovely communicative folk and delightful to host. They left the property so immaculately and truly appreciated and respected it. We would truly welcome them back with absolute open arms people of this calbre are a rare treat to cross paths with and we wish them well for sure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and...
Maleny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A restful heaven in the city”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Green Gables is a cosy, traditional semi-detached Queenslander cottage, that comes with a fully equipped kitchen and a grand piano. It is located in a quiet inner Brisbane suburb with lovely & helpful neighbours, close to Brisbane city, Suncorp Stadium, Wesley Hospital and the Southbank cultural hub. Off street parking.

Descriptions and instructions for guests are accurate and the hosts are happy to respond to queries. Will definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
It was really lovely to have John and Waltraud stay at our little city pad. They totally respected our place and were just delightful to deal with.
We truly look forward to having them stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emadch B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place close to everything”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for my daughter's rock climbing competition as it was within walking distance from the venue and it was perfect! Jen and Ian were great with communication, even though they were in Europe at the time, and everything was just as described. The bed was extremely comfy, and the separate little room off the verandah was a novelty for my 2 girls (aged 5 and 7). We found the place to be clean and comfortable, and exceeded our expectations, especially for the price. We would definitely recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great value
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
It was great to have Ema, Coco and India stay at our little city pad.
They were so wonderfully warm and easy to communicate with. So lovely dealing with someone so clearheaded as Ema who treated the property with such respect.
A delightful family and we'd welcome them back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A welcome change from apartments and hotels”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were made to feel very welcome from the minute we booked. There was homemade cake and muesli for us to try and Ian phoned during our visit to check all was OK.
The spacious living/kitchen area was welcome (we were a family of 4) although there wasn't a sofa and the TV is in the bedroom. The teenagers were very pleased with their accommodation - the number of pillows and softness of the blankets surpassing their previous experiences of holiday rentals!
Green Gables very much has a "lived in" feel. Some of the owner's personal effects are in evidence, although the details do say to expect this and it does contribute to the "at home" feel.
It's an interesting 40 minute walk into the city along the river, away from the road, or the ferry terminal is less than 10 minutes away; beware it's quite a hill back!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
It was such a treat to have Catherine and Alex stay at our little city pad with their two dear children. They were always wonderful communicators and were totally respectful of our home and left everything in immaculate order. We would truly love the opportunity to have them stay with us again and wish them well on their return journey back to the States.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dotew
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Haven close to everything”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Jenny and Ian's little cottage is a home away from home in a very convenient position, just minutes to the city or Toowong.
It was wonderful to be there and have that lovely space to myself so I could get on with my own things.
The cottage was clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Everything you need is supplied, and the little welcome pack was much appreciated.
Very appreciative also of the easy and attentive communication during the organising phase.
Highly recommended! Will definitely book again on my next trip to Brisbane.
Thank you!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely atmosphere and position
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Many thanks Dorothy,
We just loved having you there and thanks also for being so easy and leaving our little pad so clean and tidy.
Please come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GopalKaua...
Anahola, Hawaii, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly Recommended, very comfortable”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Aloha Jen and Ian,
Thank you so much for such a comfortable stay at your lovely little cottage Green Gables. You are beautiful people and your kindness and overflowing generosity made us feel so welcome and at home during our stay in Brisbane! We truly fell in love with Green Gables, it was an amazing blessing to have had the pleasure to stay in your peaceful sanctuary. We also throughly enjoyed getting to know the little town of Auchenflower -where we walked every morning and evening as a family together! it really is such a pleasant and safe neighborhood - Being all the way from Hawaii we are just so happy that by Divine intervention we somehow or other found each other and found our way to stay with you - at Green Gables truly the very best place we could have ended up!
We look forward to coming back to stay again next year!
Thanking you from the bottom of our hearts for everything !
Radha & Gopal H

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
It was the greatest joy to host Radha and Gopal and their dear family . These people were absolutely the most respectful tenants and always kept communication so clear and warm and professional. They were so grateful for any pointers regarding the many immediate amenities, facilities, sites and in general the multi attractions of the surrounds
They fully looked after our unit and were just delightful to work with in every way - we would recommend them so highly to absolutely any property owner anywhere in the world! Our only regret is that their visit ended! We so await their return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing