We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Party” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kim Thanh Restaurant

Kim Thanh Restaurant
Ranked #2,606 of 4,263 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Chinese, Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Birthday Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

This is a large restaurant compared with the others on the same strip, so it's better to go with a group. I have celebrated 3 birthdays here and every time the food (set menu) was excellent and very inexpensive. You can bring your own wine and they also let you bring your own birthday cake, which they'll bring in with candles, sparkles and singing. Recommended if you have something to celebrate with your friends.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AWCostless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Long time passing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Before I went away Kim Thanh used to be a very good Vietnamese restaurant. The food was of consistently good quality with that subtle blend of Vietnamese herbs and spices that made the restaurant something you could always rely on to spice up your evening. In January I paid my customary visit with the family in tow and was surprised that the standard of the food had fallen dramatically. The food even when ordered off the Vietnamese menu had a quite Chinese quality and taste.If you want Chinese food that's ok but the Vietnamese offering was of very poor standard. Now in their defence it was a Monday night and that may explain some of the story. However....
I've since found out that the restaurant has changed hands from the owners of the last twenty odd years. I'll give it another try in a month to see if the Vietnamese side of the menu has improved.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Oh dear - aweful, but cheap.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was a very disappointing meal. How can san choy bow be so bad that we can't even eat it. Overcooked wantons, warm young coconut drinks. The quail was dry and tasteless.
I remember enjoying meals here in the early 1990s, but those days are gone!
DON"T DO IT, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RustyStainless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service and yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We came here after getting peeved at a restaurant in Wooloongabba ... we were served instantly, given a bottle of water and then food was really good. Yay for service, it's not that hard people!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank REread1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Downhill slide makes for disappointing dining”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We used to dine very regularly at Kim Thanh many years ago before it was burnt to the ground but had not tried it since it's rise from the ashes. It was our favourite 'cheap and cheerful'. Last weeks nostalgic lunch visit was more than ordinary though. From the 'ping' of the microwave to the one-dish-at-a-time service (and we were the only 2 customers!) we realised it no longer offers the same value for money experience.

The Vegetarian Spring Rolls (4 for $4) were decent enough if a tad oily and the Salt and Pepper Squid ($12.50) was luckily set on a bed of chopped lettuce spiced up with some chilli, onion and capsicum, as the squid itself wasn't particularly salty or peppery and also somewhat tough. 'Kim Thanh Spicy Noodle' ($11.50) which used to be a must-order dish consisted of bland thin egg noodles with no hint of spice whatsoever, just an overwhelming sauce of near pure hoisin sauce with a few prawns and vegies for good measure.

Not enjoyable and didn't have more than a mouthful or two of this. Left $28 lighter and sorry, but won't be back.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank InQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kim Thanh Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Kim Thanh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing