We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ahmet's on Oxford - CLOSED

Ahmet's on Oxford
Price range: US$18 - US$22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was fairly empty at 2pm on a Friday and the yet service was slow.
We have visited before for dinner and loved it.

Couldn't fault the food and would probably return.

Helpful?
Thank Perth26_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Have cooked better at home!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Although this was a lovely atmosphere and surrounds the actual food was not fabulous but the prices are! They really need to improve the quality of the food or lower the prices to match.....
socially a great time!
Oh and also they overcharged us by $1,000 which we didn't notice till later (when our credit card bill arrived)....and this took some time to sort with a sorry but no offer of recompense....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food great service none existent”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived as a small group and waited as no one greeted us and made our way to our table. 15 minutes past and we had to ask for a drinks order to be taken a further 10 minutes before the drinks arrived. We again had to ask if we could have some one take our order. The waitstaff looked stressed but it did not seem busy, I had to call the waitress back before she literally ran off from the food order to order another drink ( this never came). Food is great at this restaurant but the service on this night was very below standard, staff seemed to be more focused on grouping around the coffee machine than paying attention to their tables. The plates were cleared without asking how they were. Very disappointing the only save was that the food is good for those that like Turkish food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eerwah Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Popular but must like Turkish”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Having been to Ahmet's on Southbank we tried Ahmet's on Oxford Street, Bulimba. The menu is entirely Turkish so unless you enjoy this cuisine it offers no alternatives for those who prefer lighter, less spicy food or those on a diet. However its popularity was shown by the fully booked out tables with groups who all seemed to be celebrating some occasion or another. I am not sure how young children would enjoy the food. Our teenager couldn't eat his order and nothing else appealed on the menu nor our offers to swap with him.The wine list is expensive and meal prices were also rather high. However with Entertainment Book gold cards it became quite good value.
Yes, the regulatory belly dancers were there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EileenW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Relaxation as a restaurant.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our lunch on Saturday was an exercise in delight at Ahmets on Oxford.
The staff were outstanding, attentive and totally cool with the variety of kids playing. I should state that the young ones (not mine) never interfered with guests, and kept themselves amused and out from underfoot. One lovely staff member even found a belonging of one of the kids and put it out of the way till she had realised.
The food was brilliant! The dips – DELISH! Even if you think you don’t want them, you do!!! Trust me! The beetroot dip is like nothing on this earth! Don’t forget to ask for extra bread when you run out.
The $15 lunch menu was amazing. Really large serves. The wrap was huge! Imagine a regular café wrap, then triple it! Oh and warm lamb salad is a MUST order. Period.
The whole feeling of the restaurant was one of relaxed enjoyment. There was no pressure, no stressed staff members etc, nothing but good food, the time to enjoy good company and staff that really cared that you enjoyed your experience. I can’t wait to return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taezar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ahmet's on Oxford also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing