We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dakbla Vietnam House by DPH”
Review of Dakbla - CLOSED

Dakbla
Price range: US$9 - US$13
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Dakbla Vietnam House by DPH”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Drove all the way from Surfers Paradise to Brisbane just to have dinner at Dakbla Restaurant (Vietnamese) along Hardgrave St, West End. This dish is called Canh Chua. It's like Thai Tom Yum Gung (but not spicy) ... and also like Filipino Sinigang (but not too sour). Canh Chua never used to be on the menu. Back in 2007 when we used to live in the "bohemian West End" , my husby told the wife of the owner that he wanted to eat something "home cooked, preferably fish in nice broth". The wife said, "I know what to cook for you but you have to come back another day for that." And so a date was set for us to come back to try her dish. This is the dish - so yummy ... silver perch in tamarind base soup, pineapple, tomatoes, bean sprouts, celery, okra (my favourite), and herbs with fish sauce and chillis on the side. Perfect for wintry evenings. From then on, they've included this dish on their menu ... currently #94.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Satisfying”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Ten out of ten for efficiency! The service was friendly and fast. I ordered take away an my pho was packaged very well for soup so nothing spilled! Although stuck between 2 other busy well known asian restaurants i was lured in by the friendly smiles and excellent menu range. The food was decent, not fantastic but edible and full of vietnamese flavours. I'd definitely consider going back one day to dine in

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisX1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Laksa, Three Colours and PHO”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This place looks not very busy but the food was great, friendly service and reasonnable to cheap pricing. Seafood Laksa was great, PHO very ggod and Trhee Colours refreshing. We will go back for sure

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The service and atmosphere were lacking and the food was very ordinary - most of it tasted the same, even the 'signature' and recommended dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMG140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Laksa here is amazing!”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We first visited this place as Trang's up the road was booked solid and it has fast become our second favourite in West End for asian food. The Laksa is absolutely huge and you do not need any starters before it. Extremely tasty dish that is under-priced in my opinion. Excellent spring rolls. Tasty noodle soups. Great!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sassenach-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dakbla also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing