We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 66 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

... Served in a lovely tropical garden. The attention to detail with the breakfast (smoked salmon omelette & pancakes just some of the hot options; also quality fruits, breads, cold meats and cheeses, cereals) is evident in everything - stylish rooms, super comfy beds, helpful and happy hosts. Great find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    58
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
174
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have briefly spent a night in Brisbane and opted for this place during the stay. The accommodation is very cosy, nicely decorated and near to the city center. The owners were lovely and warm-hearted welcoming. They both love chatting and open to us. Breakfast is another big bonus prepared by the owners. Very satisfied. Would come back for sure in the next time visiting Brisbane.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nmduy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Wish we had more time to stay more nights. Lovely hosts. Very welcoming and we really enjoyed chatting to both of them. Look forward to staying with them again. Forget the big chains and stay where the hospitality is provided.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cortinatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when doing a training course in the CBD which was easy to walk to after a delicious breakfast and we could leave a car there whilst we attended it. Very comfortable with all the facilities we needed and great service from the owners.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at One Thornbury recently with a female friend when we went to a show in Brisbane. Geoff's greeting was friendly and his help with directions and parking was very welcome. We stayed in the top room, a comfortable well decorated two bedroom suite with plenty of room to relax. We were sorry not to have more time to enjoy the garden sitting area and delicious breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I really felt at home at this bed and breakfast. This was the last leg of our trip in Australia and we stayed at the Park Hyatt in Sydney and the Hilton in Cairns. Both were lovely, but here at One Thornbury I felt like I was staying with relatives. The rooms are very nice with top quality linens and towels that you won't get from a chain hotel. The owners are lovely and cook you a homemade breakfast each morning! This was my first bed and breakfast stay and I'm sure I will return if ever I'm in Brisbane again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casuarina, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Couldn't be happier with my stay, after eye surgery at a nearby hospital I was picked up by Geoff the B&B owner and taken back to the hotel to recuperate. Wonderful service and fully recommend this place for anybody looking for a peaceful place only a few minutes walk from central station. Beautifully fitted out rooms as well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hapsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
0.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#3 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Brisbane Fortitude Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Thornbury St | Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Thornbury is an affordable boutique Bed & Breakfast less than 1 km from the Brisbane City Centre. The property is a quaint (circa 1886) heritage "Queenslander" cottage with loads of style and character. We offer a casual alfresco Garden Lounge and ideal spot to relax/unwind and enjoy complimentary drinks/snacks, free WiFi and large screen TV. Shuttle bus (con-x-ion shuttle services) and Train services are available to/from the airport. Contact us for details. We offer daily/weekly B&B as well as a whole-of-house rental package, ideal for that special City gathering of friends/family or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing