We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot in Springhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 60 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top spot in Springhill”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a great find and a great rate thanks to Tripadvisor!!. Geof Harland is a top breakfast maker, especially his eggs!!! Kerrie is a wonderful PR person, front of house and coffee person. This is a quaint old timber cottage with many bedrooms close to Brisbane River and about $40 taxi ride from Bris airport. Some adjoining room noise filters through thanks to old timber walls but Kerrie says soundproofing is going in during Spring 2014... A very nice courtyard garden but if you are disabled... sorry but it's steep stairs down to breakfast. I'm sure Kerrie would still find a way to help! It's a long running guest house and highly recommended.

Room Tip: main bedrooms along hallway. If disabled, ask for breakfast in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefgreyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    58
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
185
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

From the minute I walked through the door, I was made most welcomed by Geoff and blown away with the wrm and friendly service provided. I was thrilled with the standard of accommodation and the homely yet professional approach - the hosts Geoff and Kerry were genuinely lovely people and the room felt like home away from home. I was travelling on my own for business and this was the perfect place to relax - so tranquil yet being so close to both CBD and The Valley managed to squeeze some shopping in also. The breakfast was brilliant - couldn't fault my stay at One Thornbury. Well recommend to others as a definite place to stay and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yeti99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohaupo, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed 9 days with Geoff and Kerry at their very stylish B&B. This is a must stay place in Brisbane Australia. The rooms are fantastic, the breakfast is brilliant and the hosts are truly lovely people. We will definately be returning next time we visit Brisbane. Heaps of good restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Really people... go stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the king suite.. its worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewartBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place is very impressive, lovely warm and welcoming hosts, clean and nicely decorated bedrooms, food tailored to your individual needs, amazing Bali style theme out the back for all guests. Only two downfalls - the lighting in the bedroom is fluorescent white (not great mood lighting) and the bar fridge makes a noise that goes off every hour (bit sleep deprived today) If these two thing could be fixed I would stay there again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekah1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Welcoming people, amazing experience! I would recommended it to everyone. The best place to stay in Brisbane! The room was perfect, comfortable, tv, AC..
The breakfast was very good, with a lot of different choices, and good quality. The set up in the garden makes it more enjoyable. My stay there was a delight!
Thank you :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaux H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I came across Thornbury B & B by accident when looking fro accommodation. What a great find! Geof and Kerry couldn't of been more helpful and looked after me really well. Looking forward to my return visit next month.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

... Served in a lovely tropical garden. The attention to detail with the breakfast (smoked salmon omelette & pancakes just some of the hot options; also quality fruits, breads, cold meats and cheeses, cereals) is evident in everything - stylish rooms, super comfy beds, helpful and happy hosts. Great find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 159 in Brisbane
613 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Thornbury St | Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Thornbury is an affordable boutique Bed & Breakfast less than 1 km from the Brisbane City Centre. The property is a quaint (circa 1886) heritage "Queenslander" cottage with loads of style and character. We offer a casual alfresco Garden Lounge and ideal spot to relax/unwind and enjoy complimentary drinks/snacks, free WiFi and large screen TV. Shuttle bus (con-x-ion shuttle services) and Train services are available to/from the airport. Contact us for details. We offer daily/weekly B&B as well as a whole-of-house rental package, ideal for that special City gathering of friends/family or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing